We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice authentic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a nice authentic hotel, centrally located. As of the check in up to check out, all went smooth.
The service is good. The rooms are nicely decorated and are spacious enough. Bathrooms are up to date and all was very clean.
Breakfast was great, sufficient variety at the buffet (cold food) and warm breakfast can be chosen à la carte.
The only minor points for me were that, despite the place is very nice and charming, that the rooms can be a bit noisy and that there was no wifi in the room. (they do offer complimentary internet in the room via a cable, but that's not of use with mobiles/iPads; wifi was available in the public places). If I have the chance, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l1eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,960 - 1,966 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent 1 night with husband at the Compleat Angler. Very nice room overlooking the river and gardens in the new wing (room number 74). Very peaceful spot with just the waves of the waterfall to hear from the room. Thoroughly recommend the hotel as it is in a fab location for Marlow High street and the shops and restaurants. I had booked the break direct with the hotel 1 week before asking for the dinner, feature room and breakfast package. Unfortunately the restaurant (Aubergine) was fully booked so we changed the booking to just bed and breakfast and went out for the saturday evening meal instead. The hotel called within a couple of days to inform me that the restaurant was full and offered Bowaters instead, but I decided not to eat there and we booked a table at Villa D'Este (very good).

Staff were friendly and courteous. Only issue was at breakfast when the waiter tried to serve us a jug of coffee and toast when we had just been served our tea and toast 2 minutes before. When we pointed to the table and said that the coffee and toast was not for us - he looked totally baffled and was unable to understand a single word we were saying. Perhaps he was having a bad morning.... Even when a colleague of his came over to assist him, the 2nd waiter seemed confused also. We got there in the end and it didn't spoil the breakfast which was in a perfect spot overlooking the river and the sunday morning canoe class we watched.

Oh and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Perfectly firm and no back ache in the morning! Wanted to take the mattress home with me!

Would definitely return for a relaxing night away in a gorgeous spot in the UK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertsFamily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The plus point for this hotel is its situation on the Thames. After that it's downhill all the way! I get the impression this place is living off its reputation from the past and there is rather too much complacency. Some staff were excellent but the service generally was slow, very slow or even slower e.g. it took us getting on for 15 mins to get 2 glasses of champagne! (The excuse was that they had run out of clean flutes!) Although breakfast (£19.50 pp) was in our room rate and included the buffet, there was a supplement of £2.50 for anything that was not the standard English breakfast of bacon and eggs, so effectively if you want kippers this would set you back £22, which is outrageous by any standards... and of course getting even the standard is a long wait and a 'special order' breakfast means an even longer wait for it to be finally delivered to your table, because they don't do fast (or even 'normal') speed here, although there are lots of staff. The riverside restaurant for brekkers is nice but crowded and congested: if we'd had to pay nearly £40 for the two of us on the 2nd morning we would have cut our losses, crossed the Bridge and gone to the Premier Inn for their breakfast deal and got some change from £20. The room itself was OK and well equipped but the corridors looked as if they hadn't seen a lick of paint for 20 years or more and the bed was one of the most uncomfortable we've had to suffer for some time. We will go back to Marlow as it is lovely place but doubt we would choose to stay again at the Compleat Angler

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

A charming and lovely place with, for once with a Macdonald hotel, an excellent decoration of the bed rooms. The river view from balcony is breathtaking specifically at dusk!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVendryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Over the years I have been a frequent visitor to The Compleat Angler both for business and pleasure and it NEVER fails to impress me!
This time we came to celebrate my wife's birthday - on arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who were courteous and professional - they could not do enough for us and even remembered us from previous visits! Our bags were taken up to our beautiful room overlooking the river - what a fantastic view!
We have a young daughter so its such a treat to get a night away from the norm and totally relax and unwind, eating some great food and sampling some lovely wine!
Thank you once again to all the staff for making our stay so special and we look forward to staying again very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Although we only live in Henley we decided to stay at the Compleat Angler as we were eating there. It was a great experience, from the upgrade to a 4 poster room, to the friendly staff, great cocktails, lovely breakfast with views over the weir. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank throwingmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have just come back from a three night stay at this hotel and I feel really relaxed and refreshed. The rooms we had were fairly small, but had river views and really had everything you could want.....iron and ironing board, safe, Molton Brown toiletries, fresh milk for tea ( I hate that packeted stuff), comfy pillows, nice decor.
The breakfast was also great...a really good selection and the cooked option was freshly made and delicious. We didn't eat at the hotel apart from that ( have to say, the proces are steep!) but there are some good places in Marlow a short walk away and the town itself is very pleasant to stroll around. All the staff we encountered we're delightful and very helpful. We had a couple of minor problems ...including a kettle that burst into flames!!..but they were put right quickly and courteously. We even got a bottle of Prosecco to make amends for the kettle incident!
All in all, a really enjoyable stay in a well run hotel in a lovely location with professional and friendly staff...what more could you ask?

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the older part of the hotel are up narrow and steep staircases so check this fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozlynn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
2.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,094 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Compleat Angler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
Price Range: $166 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing