We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Review of The Assembly Room - CLOSED

The Assembly Room
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: On the first floor above Steamer Trading,looking down the length of the high street.We have High ceilings and a minstrels gallery where we have live music every Fiday and Saturday nights as well as Sunday lunchtimes.The style of music is Jazz,easy listening and rat pack.Wooden floor in the dining room with clothed tables and a baby grand piano. We offer an all day menu from nine thirty to six pm Tuesday-Saturday ,with a dinner menu taking over at six pm and running until we close(last food orders are at nine thirty)Our Sunday opening hours are eleven thirty to six pm,Monday opening hours are nine thirty to six pm.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I went to the Assembly Rooms on a Saturday evening. There was live music a trio,which was very pleasant. The food was good and the service prompt and efficient, they coped well with a group of 10. I thought the place was quite atmospheric even before people arrived as I'm sure Jane Austen would have recognised it as an Assembly room and the buzz of people and candlelight just added to the ambience. The group I was with were all impressed with their main courses but there was some disappointment over the pudding, apparently the Eton Mess variation was mainly squirty cream, but as I had gone for the chocolate tart I was very happy with that. I'll be going there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alikasuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place for Tea&Coffee in the afternoon”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Loving the 40's feel from the assembly room. Good range of drinks and OK service, always been in mid afternoon during the week so never had seen more than 2 tables at the time. But that is why I go at that time. The food isn't the best and the scones where not wormed up properly. But the place as a lovely view over Marlow High street and is still nice for some catch up time with quiet friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and attentive service”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Ate here on a Friday evening with the sound of a live jazz duo in the background. We had fish&chips and linguine along with a selection of desserts - all was excellent.

It is a big room, but with a few people in the atmosphere was very pleasant.

The service was attentive and all staff were very polite.

A menu downstairs would be a nice addition and potentially boost trade (?). Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank andyismilesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice food but no atmosphere as completely dead”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Went here for lunch on a friday with a friend. The immense space could be fabulous if it was not to bare.... fabulous high vaulted ceilings and great for people watching the people in Marlow if you have a window seat. The food was ok..... my caesar salad was nice and the desert (sticky toffee pudding with home made ice cream) was really good but the place was empty. One other table with 2 diners in a space that probably holds 100 + covers. the service was good (well it couldn't not be with only one other table to look after) but at 1pm on a friday lunchtime it should be busier. My friend who lives in Marlow says they don't do any advertising which seems a shame. Price wise was average (for Marlow).... just shy of £40 for lunch, desert and a glass of mineral water each. Overall won't rush back as even though food was ok it was like sitting in a library............

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, pity about the rest”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Venue is excellent. Magnificent room.

Food was OK (had the burger), wife a salad.

Service was shocking. Waiter playing on his lap top.

Disappointing over all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FilletSteakandChips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Assembly Room also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing