We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

The Chequers, Marlow
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chequers, Marlow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 75 Restaurants in Marlow
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in the historic town of Marlow on the River Thames and surrounded by beautiful countryside, The Chequers is a stunning pub, designed to make you feel welcome from the moment you step through the door.
Marlow
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After visiting last Tuesday night with my fiancee, we have found a new favorite restaurant in Marlow. The waitress we had was one of the friendliest waitresses we've ever had. She was just wonderful. The food was delicious. I had the rib eye steak and blackcurrent sorbet for dessert. both were perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    149
    81
    44
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
staines
2 reviews
“dissapointing venue”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

having visited the chequers previously we booked atable for 12peiple to celebrate a 60th birthday we confirmed our booking and were told everything ok.when we arrived our table was occupied by another party when we questiond the .nicemanager he was totaly arrogant and unapologetic no other table was prepared the very helpful staff quickly set up atable and we reluctantly ordered our food.at no time did the manager offer any words of apology for spoiling our bday party.very nice waiting staff shame about te management

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericofstaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“PUB OR RESTAURANT”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved Chequers to have a drink but felt that the Restaurant lacked atmosphere. The food was pretty good, especially the Sea Bass. It was cooked to perfection and the flavour spot on. However, The Surf and Turf was let down because the "Surf" was well overcooked and that was disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Two strikes”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had lunch here and supper. Had the burger for lunch. It was fine. Some special seasoning that kept coming back on me the rest of the day. Then had supper there one other night. My steak was good but I think that was just luck. Two people in our party ordered medium rare and they came out completely cooked through. Second go around was better but still over done for what medium rare should be.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesSchroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal out for husbands birthday, service was okay but the quality of the sirlion and rib-eye made up for what was slow serivce to start which did improve as the night went on. Bannoffe pie -great, chocolate cake -poor.

Helpful?
Thank Beverley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers, Marlow also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Chequers, Marlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing