We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“D'este is the beste”
Review of Villa D'Este

Villa D'Este
Ranked #7 of 77 Restaurants in Marlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“D'este is the beste”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiancé and I recently revisited the area and were keen to see if the restaurant was still as good as we remembered. Not only was it as good but the staff remembered us and we felt very special over the course of the evening. If you are a fan of italian cuisine (the lobster spaghetti was a-ma-zing) and are in the area then make sure you don't miss Villa D'este...and save enough room for the dessert trolley.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank davidramsbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    105
    41
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Italian”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely meal, had a late lunch there and it was good. The Set Lunch was reasonable and the food choices were excellent. The wine was excellent and would go again, probably for the Dinner Menue.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Italian style in Bucks”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I dont no anything about Italian food, so I am not really in a position to say in sofar as authenticity goes whether or not the food was classic Italian. What I am in a position to say is that I no whether or not somewhere is good or bad.
So lets review. Starting with the obvious, the food, 10 out of 10. The service, 10 out of 10, value for money, you gets what you pay for and I thought that was 10 out of 10.
You may get the idea that I like this place and I have been several times. Last night was my wifes birthday, and we hadnt been for a while, so why not, it made a change from the norm.
Some how they make you feel special, as a collective table and as an individual. The food on each plate was cleared and speaking for my 2 dishes, before you got to the dessert, each melted in your mouth and talking of the dessert, it kept passing by on the moveable sweet trolly, each dessert teasing you as it went by, "eat me, no eat me, no eat me", you couldnt resist you just had to eat one of them.
I could bang on about Ville D'Este, but I dont need to. They have been around for years and you will understand why when you go there. Yes they may have a dip in form now and then, I am sure they do, but they no what there doing and they are very very very good at it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Eating”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Food flavoursome, well presented, well served. Ambience warm, locality good, car parking convenient. I went with a small crowd and were well looked after. The cappacio was great and the stinco agnelo was even better. My only problem was the noise of a full ristorante all talking louder with hard surfaces all round.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank verywiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had my 60th birthday party ten years ago at Villa D'Este and it's was fantastic, the food was superb, the staff was friendly which contributed to a great atmosphere, and I've been going to Villa D'Este with my Family and friends since. It still remains my favourite Italian restaurant with is authentic Italian cuisine, my favourite dish is Tagliatelle L'aragosta.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa D'Este also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Villa D'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing