We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in the centre of Hungerford ,a warm welcome on a cold November evening.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Swans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Swans Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Tintagel, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem in the centre of Hungerford ,a warm welcome on a cold November evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Having arrived in Hungerford later than expected I was really glad to be warmly greeted by Stacey the receptionist.She was so kind and customer friendly and nothing was too much trouble.I didn't,t know what my room would be like but I was confident it would be of a high standard.I wasn't,t disappointed it was huge.The bed was enormous,nicely made up with a huge mirror on the wall.The bathroom was spotless,I had a bath/shower with lovely toiletries.I ate in the bar with a really cosy fire.Food was good quality pub food.Spent the evening in my room reading.Slept really well despite the clock over the road striking the hour ,I didn't,t hear a thing.
Breakfast was lovely a good selection of continental style food.This is a 3 star hotel with 5 star quality I shall be back in 2013.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel directly and if possible speak to Stacey she is fantastic.If you don,t wish to face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    81
    52
    24
    21
See reviews for
49
94
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I went in for lunch and had a set two courses, soup and fish and chips. The meal was fine, the service was good and the price of the food was fine also. The only problem was the wine. I ordered a small glass of wine. By law a small must mean a 125ml glass. Instead I was brought a 175ml glass and charged £6.70 which I think is a bit much even for a medium glass.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnhs, Owner at Three Swans Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are baffled by this comment. Our house wine is £4.00 for a 175mm glass and our most expensive glass of wine is £4.90. In common with virtually all establishments and in line with customer demand we offer 175 and 250 glasses but 125 is available on request.
If a genuine mistake was made by our staff we will be happy to refund the cost of your drink if you send us the receipt - or bring it in for a free glass :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel itself is nice and it was easy to find and park. The only critisms were that the bed was very very hard and the road outside is quite noisy. Also the bathroom smelt of mould which originated from behind and around a soap dish above the bath and it was not pleasant to sit in the bath because of it. The food was top quality and top end price (£48 for two). Would we stay again - probably not and certainly not for longer than one night. The clock tower opposite strikes every hour on the hour so light sleepers beware.

Room Tip: If you do stay ask for a room at the back of the hotel not overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lateroom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friday, 2nd November 2012 - I normally confine my reviews to the quality of food and service served up by restaurants, but today simply want to congratulate The Three Swans on the quality of their front hall/bar staff; their training and selection is exemplary.
We visited the Antique Emporium in Hungerford on a buying trip and as usual popped into the hotel opposite for a snack and glass of wine. The staff who served us were so personable, so attentive, so interested that we felt a special mention was necessary.
The bar snack was ordinary, not at all special.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

One night stay in Hungerford for a family celebration in the town. Hotel room very comfortable, stayed in the new block, lovely clean sheets and bed very comfortable. Hotel in good location in the High Street.
Just had continental breakfast which was more than adequate, cereals, fruit juice, croissant, toast and jams, cake and fruit, not cheese and meat for those who might expect it. Very good service, more toast and tea if required.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surreyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Tried the Three Swans for the first time last night. Bar meals prices were expensive. I ordered lasagna partner fish and chips. Luckily I ordered a side of garlic bread as the lasagna portion size was smaller than a microwave meal and not very well reheated. Garlic bread was just toast with garlic butter spread on it. The staff never spoke, didn't even say thank you when we paid. Also get some heating..... Won't be back anytime soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hungerford hotels

Alpujarras
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had a great stay here - very welcoming and the lady at breakfast went the extra mile - when we said the night before our family of 5 were joining us for breakfast and were vegetarians she bought veggie sausages at 11pm!!! Rooms very comfortable, situation great but most of all the service was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanjalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
0.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
7.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
6.4 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Swans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Swans Hotel

Property: Three Swans Hotel
Address: 117 High Street, Hungerford RG17 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Swans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Three Swans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Swans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing