We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for stopover !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Membury M4
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for a night en route from London to the West. This is a good option if you want to break your travel - the rooms are clean,basic and functional. The staff are pleasant and polite, it is excellent value for money. as far as budget hotel chains go in the UK - Days Inn are definitely one of the better ones. However you should not expect 5 star luxury, it is what it is - but fantastic value for under forty quid !.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 291 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having read kirstyskennelmate from Bath's review, which was the most recent, I was not expecting much. Maybe the hotel in question has been refurbished since her stay.

I was pleased to discover that my hotel room was nicely decorated and functional, clean, quiet, with a nice view, with a decent bed, with free wifi inside the room, within walking distance of a national coffee bar chain which opens at 06:00 am and overall so much better (not to mention slightly cheaper) than the other hotel/motel chains I've stayed in so far around the UK.

The kettle was new and clean, the TV remote control was present and worked, the channel selection was reasonable for the 21st century, the two free biscuits weren't junk, there weren't any crane flies flying around in the bathroom, and so on...all nice touches which don't cost an arm and a leg but make a good impression. (You may have guessed I experienced all of those issues in other places over the last few days)

On the down side, I arrived on the wrong side of the M4 motorway and while it is possible to take a side-road to take you over to the other side, the single signpost with "hotel this way" pointed in no particular direction and didn't prevent me from getting back on to the motorway by mistake and having to do several miles to find an exit, turn around and come back the other way.

Room Tip: There are ads for 29 pound rooms, but I did not actually find that rate online nor was I offered it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have been in this hotel last week for the RIAT 2012. The hotel is cheap and personnel nice and professional, but it needs to be renewed as everything in the rooms is very old.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank struzzovolante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here lat June. I broke my journey on the M4 and it was the only place with room to stay.
It needs a refurb and the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable.

I highly recommend Ibis as an alternative.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyskennelmate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stopped here over the Easter holiday hoping to travel to Bath and the surrounding areas. In spite of it being at a motorway services, it was very quiet. There was a good welcome from the staff and everyone was very helpful. We had a lightbulb that needed changing and they did it straight away. The room was very clean and comfortable as well as being spacious - something you don't always get in a budget hotel. We were VERY pleased with it and wouldn't hesitate to stay at a Days Inn again on the motorway as access and parking is so easy. Waitrose next door at the services was good as we could buy sandwiches for lunch, a light meal and cold drinks to take out for picnics.

Room Tip: All rooms are shielded from the motorway service station by landscaping so no recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights in Feb. Good clean quiet modern well equipped room. Helpful reception staff .Would have described as excellent but for hot water not being piping hot and initial email inquiries being ignored ,therefore not qualifying for online tariff .Still good value though !

Room Tip: Opt for a non smoking pet free room unless you need it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

After reading some poor reviews of this place i wasn't expecting much but it more than met my expectations. Nice friendly welcome at check in & even though i booked on a very special £10 per night deal was still able to check in 30 minutes early. Room was clean as was the bed linen & towels & tea & coffee jar was well stocked. No noise overnight so a good nights sleep was had. Some people have said the hotel is difficult to find but surely we all do some homework before we set out & knowing beforehand it was located at Welcome Break service area made it dead easy to find.

Only slight annoyance is that there is no ' service road ' meaning if you want to travel east after leaving the hotel you have to drive several miles west to the Swindon turn off ( M4 J 15 ) & double back on yourself.

Room Tip: As the car park is about 100 yards from the hotel all rooms should be pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darrentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
4.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
319 reviews
4.9 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
45 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
3.3 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#1 of 1 in East Garston
153 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Membury M4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Membury M4

Address: Welcome Break Membury Service Area | J14/15, M4, Lambourne, Hungerford RG17 7TZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Price Range: $44 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Membury M4 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between junction 14 and 15 of the M4, close to Swindon and Newbury, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi, free parking, great-value rates and comfortable, modern en suite rooms. Just off the M4 westbound and with access from the M4 eastbound, the Days Inn Hotel Membury has great access to the region’s major roads. The Days Inn has a 24-hour reception desk and spacious rooms, including executive and family rooms.All of the rooms have an en-suite bathroom with a bath and shower. Each room has a trouser press, hairdryer and tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn Membury M4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hungerford
Hungerford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing