We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Food in Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went to a Warners hotel to celebrate my husbands birthday because it is an adults only hotel. On the surface things looked fine but on closer inspection nyou could see the flaws. The soap in the bathroom was used soap, the heated towel rail had not seen a duster, this also appled to the bedside lights and a few other things, they also seem to hoover only the middle of carpets as you can see the dust standing on the carpets, particularly in the hallways. The food in the restaurant was very disappointing. I had salad for starter but the only choice on the salad bar was lettuce, cucumber, tomato, beetroot, peppers and cous cous. This is acceptable as an accompaniment to a meal but not as a starter, there is more option on Morrisons salad bar. I then opted for the carvery only to find there was only a choice of 3 veg and 2 different potatoes. We paid £25 extra the following night and ate in the al a carte restaurant where we had an excellent meal. Pity you have to pay extra to get a good meal

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor because the floors creak so when someone is walking about above you i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

956 - 962 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a lovely midweek break at Littlecote. Stayed in the Stuart Suite in the historic house. Very large room on the ground floor so good if you are not good with stairs. lovely large bathroom with shower only. and a dedicated carparking space just outside the house, only drawback was you have to go outside to get to the restaurant but they do supply umbrellas if required.. Entertainment was good, you never have to leave the hotel if you don't want to but we did go out and about most days, Noteably to Highclere Castle(Downton Abbey). Hopefully going back again but may visit another Warners for a change. Probably a good place if you are over 50.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were visiting as a party of 10 with an age range from 23 to 98 years old and everyone was thoroughly entertained from Friday through Monday, from morning to night time. We quizzed, we played boules, tennis, had archery and rifle shooting classes, used the gym, spa, pool, danced away the night and enjoyed very entertaining caberet.

The facilities are excellent and the entertainment of a good standard. The staff are all very approachable, professional and seem to enjoy their jobs!

We stayed on a half board basis and found the food to be hot, tasty and varied. Drinks, lunch and snacks were reasonably priced.

Littlecote House is charming and historic, the grounds extensive and extremely well maintained.

It was my first experience of Warner Leisure and one I'd really like to have again sometime soon.

Be prepared to walk down long corridors and outside between some of the venues.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky1adykim1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed three nights with my wife attending a class reunion event. Starting with the good news, the location is superb and the historical Littlecote House (rather than the hotel) quite fascinating. Warner Leisure's 'Just for Grownups' motto is coded way of saying 'don't expect to enjoy yourself unless you are at least 75'. The experience is targeted to an older age group, with evening entertainment consisting of 1950's and 1960's hits (but tending towards Connie Francis, Cliff Richard and Cilla Black rather that the Stones, Bob Dylan and Velvet Underground). Daytime activities included learning to dance, video quizzes and game shows. Our room was large but showing its age with - for example - a window that didn't close properly. The shower didn't work when we arrived from abroad, and the receptionist asked us to put up with it till tomorrow(!!) as the technician had gone home. We objected, and it was quickly repaired.
The food was uninspiring - though we were rather a large group so this was always going to be a risk - and the service was slapdash and inexperienced. One waitress emptied a bottle of wine over the table trying to open it, another one always had to ask again who had ordered what, a third had no idea if the fish was fresh or frozen and didn't offer to go and ask, and so on.
Despite all this we had a great time with our old university buddies!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here in room 413 until the 13/04/13.It was our 2nd Warner's break after having had 23 Shearing's breaks. Words can hardly express how much we were able to enjoy our stay. All the staff were keen to make our stay so relaxed and enjoyable.Especially Kris in the dinning room and our room House keeper whose name we forget.She actually ran after us with my stick which I'd left behind I was using my case as support. There is nowhere else you can get such fantastic entertainment with a group working so hard to make the show such a great experience different every night. We are already planning to have another break later this year if Mr Osborne leaves enough to make it possible.

Room Tip: After booking a telephone call to the hotel is all it takes to get a room to meet your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We decided to have a 4 day break at Littlecote House Hotel, which is one of a group of hotels run by Warners. We had previously visited other Hotels in this group and recently have had a few holidays at Thoresby Hall in Nottinghamshire. All the Warner hotels we have visited seem to be run on the same lines and they are all based in very nice properties.
We enjoyed Littlecote immensely, the organisation is brilliant and everything worked like a well-oiled machine. The staff were efficient and helpful, the entertainment was excellent and was carried out in a smart theatre, which had recently been equipped with superb lighting. The in house artists and musicians seemed very talented and altogether it was a very pleasant arena in which to enjoy a relaxing hour or two.
The Restaurant was extremely efficiently run and service was very good (we had the same person throughout - named Grzegorz, who was so very efficient and remembered everything).
The food was excellent - breakfast and dinner was included- and the menu was extensive.
The room we occupied was superb with plenty of space, comfortable and the cleaning was carried out to a high standard.
In fact I cannot find anything to criticise - except perhaps the parking facilities - but that is carping!
I conclude by saying - Well Done Warners!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 438Jammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our second trip to Littlecote; and we would go again, but the cost of some of the breaks appears to be getting very costly. The setting is beautiful, and the grounds are kept immaculate. We had a room with a patio, which in the summer would have been very useful, but we were on the shady side, so did not use it even when the sun was shinning.
There is plenty of opportunity to relax in the old house, away from the main hotel buildings. A previous review said there was no darts or pool. Darts are in the orangery and snooker in the old house too (pool is an American game after all)! and short-mat bowling in the Long Gallery. We used the pool and gym and neither were crowded, although the coffee shop does get busy after the yoga class.
The evening entertainment was good (tribute to Cliff and the Shadows) although I was disappointed that the 'in house' entertainment was the same format as August. Although Dan and the team gave an enthusiastic performance. The afternoon play was very good, which demonstrated the versatility of the whole team; well done.
We tried out the Line dancing class and I was a little disappointed. I realise it said beginners but 30 mins is a bit stingy and some accommodation could have been given to more experienced dancers, particularly as dancing seems to be high on the entertainment agenda. The age range of the clientele may determine the range and content, but I think Warners in general and Littlecote in particular, could, perhaps, think about the less mature visitor (under 60).
Overall a very enjoyable long weekend and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine2Salop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
8.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,853 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
319 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.3 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
46 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel

Address: Hungerford, Hungerford RG17 0SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Price Range: $183 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to explore in the setting of this fabulous Grade I listed Historic Hotel. Enjoy the sumptuous stately rooms and the beautiful landscaped gardens. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Littlecote Hotel Hungerford
Littlecote House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing