We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Memory!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear Hotel Hungerford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Royston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Memory!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We first went into this hotel in May ...they were fully booked at the time but we stayed for lunch.
The very helpful man on Reception (Joe Bennett) recommended another hotel in nearby Marlborough and checked availability for us.
As we were in the area again last weekend we pre booked a night at the Bear....a Superior room ,which was very large and spacious. Excellent bathroom .
The service in the dining room on both visits was good and friendly.
To our amazement the gentleman who had helped us on our first visit remembered us ....and what had happened ! When you think 2 months had gone by and he didn't know us, I think this is remarkable..... An asset to the Bear I would say....Well done!
.

Room Tip: Although our room was at the front overlooking the main road the traffic at night did not disturb us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate you on this occasion and that you received friendly service in our Restaurant.

We have also shared your review with Joe who is very grateful for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    102
    53
    22
    15
See reviews for
43
138
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just had a great two days at the Bear. Nice People, good value, great rooms for the Price.

Sinnita and Caroline made our party's stay very efficient and fun.

The Location is great and well recommended for those fishing the Kennet

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobybroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great two days with is and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived late after being at the Chelsea Flower Show all day. The welcome was excellent, reception staff really warm friendly and helpful.
Only one negative which was our room. It was very small, which would have been fine but the wardrobe was just a boarded off section in the corner of the room and very short so no where to hang my outfit ( long dress) for the Wedding we were attending.Also, no soap or toiletries in the shower room and no towel rail or hooks or anything to hang towels or clothes or robes so everything had to be put on the floor !!
I would have thought a small bar of soap for hand washing would be considered a hygiene essential in an establishment that serves food. Hungerford is a beautiful little town and the Bear is a gem, if the bedrooms could have a little attention.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardiffbluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to hear that you found the team to be friendly and that you had a warm welcome.

With regards to the bedroom that you were in, then we do take your comments on board and are looking at how we expand the wardrobe space for when guests do have long outfits.

We are sorry to hear that the liquid soap /shower gel which is in the bathroom was missed and have passed your comments onto our Brand Manager that a bar soap would be appreciated rather than the liquid soap.

Should you be in the area again then we do hope that you will visit us.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whalley Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed overnight in a very comfortable and immaculately clean room overlooking the pretty chalk stream. From the very moment of our arrival, every member of staff we encountered, proved excellent ambassadors for the hotel. Particular mention should be made of the manager and his excellent restaurant help - Stacey. Nothing was too much for them and the help was provided with a genuine warmth.
The restaurant fare proved excellent value for money and was very promptly served. Superbly placed for visiting the myriad of local antique shops (all within very easy walking distance of the High Street), my wife and I shall definitely return. Well done ALL at The Bear!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollick95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay and have passed your comments on to the team who were thrilled to hear your compliments.

Hungerford does indeed have many antiques shops which we are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Bear is one of many throughout the country owned by Old English Inns. The standard of rooms, food and service is good without being exceptional but they are all really good value. The Bear is situated on the banks of the Kennet in a quiet street of the main drag and provided a restful and comfortable break.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoggySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a peaceful getaway and that it was a restful and comfortable break.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear or another Old English Inn soon.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulingen, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Bear. Cosy, small, great and ordinary. Very different thoughts I have about this place!

I stayed there a night on a business trip. It looks like nothing special from the outside. The rooms are cosy, small, old fashioned and it is time for a renovation. However, the main buildings bar and restaurant has a certain charme. The barkeeper is friendly and the Ale is tasty. So what am I complaining about? Burgers are home made and the fries are better than I had expected.

The breakfast was of good taste and all wishes were fulfilled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you found the Bear cosy when you stayed in September 2013.

Since your stay The Bear has undergone a refurbishment and we hope that you will visit again soon so that you can see the changes.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night only as we were heading to Newbury. The lady in the reception was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome, also very helpful in telling us what to do and where to go around town. The restaurant and bar area is most modern with nice decor,The outside has a court yard looking over the other buildings with plant pots and trees, also a beautiful view looking over the streams and gardens, really beautiful and give you a peaceful feel to it. The bedroom we stayed was nice with French door that opens to the garden and stream at the back, nice to sit outside in the garden and have a nice cup tea and listen to the birds and the sound of the water, if your lucky enough you may see some fish swimming down the stream. The only down side was the housekeeping in the room ! needs more attention to detail ! was some very large coffee or tea stains on the carpet at the side of the bed that had not been cleaned, entrance carpets quite dirty also !
the carpets are the wrong colour to cope with the volume of guests ! small table top in the room with marks, the kettle need a bit descaling, in the bathroom need more attention to the sink, brown lime scale around the plug hole and plastic cups was not washed or changed as they still had tooth paste marks left from the last guests. But overall the room was good. Definitely recommend for a short stay or break.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a nice tranquil retreat; Bear Island really does have a peaceful feel to it.

With regards to the carpets in the bedrooms then we do regularly clean these but they do stain very easily and do hope to change the carpets at some point.

We also take on board everything you have said with regards to attention to detail and have spoken to our Head Housekeeper who is ensuring that thorough checks are completed on each room.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
0.2 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Hungerford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Hungerford

Property: The Bear Hotel Hungerford
Address: 41 Charnham Street, Hungerford RG17 0EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Hungerford 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbsihed in November 2013 The Bear is one of the oldest coaching inns with parts dating from the 13th century, situated 1 mile from Hungerford train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, SpeedyBooker.com, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bear Hotel Hungerford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Hungerford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing