We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A protest”
Review of Hotel Alpha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alpha
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Well, I haven't really stayed in this hotel, so I can't tell you it's pros and cons.
The thing I would like to tell you is that me, my 14 year old sister and bothe of my parents were for no reason kicked off of the hotel at 10 p.m, before we even entered our rooms.
The hotel manager, decided he doesn't want us in his hotel because we aren't o.k. I don't know want he meant because his English isn't good. He said that my father "wasn't o.k with the young". All we could figure from it is that mabye he was mad because my father made deal with a younger guy who was in the reception when my father payed for the rooms, and by the deal the reception guy reduced the original price for us.
Is it a reason to throw away a family with they laguage to the street in the middle of the night?
My family thinks that he saw he are from Israel by my dad's credit card, and tis is why he didn't want us.
I'm very mad at this man for how he had talked to my father. It was brutal and unjustified- My father payed all he was asked for, he is a disent man and his homeland or religion shouldn't matter.

Osnat Friedman

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2005

Pros:
a)VERY comfortable beds - one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in in a hotel
b) friendly and helpful staff

Cons:
a) rooms reminded me of student residence halls - spartan, a bit tatty, old fashioned decor (artex walls), patterned worn carpets that didn't match the decoration, etc...
b) very limited breakfast buffet
c) next to the railway line and busy road so it was noisy
d) it had external blinds that didn't close properly, so it was impossible to block out the light

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The England Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

This hotel was listed in Frommer's as a great deal. It was nice and pretty clean, but even though it was on a side street, it was pretty loud. They do not have air conditioning and you have to keep the window open. But the location was great-about 10 minutes walk from the old town and extremely easy to find.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlrichWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bastet2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Tusoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Faucon
Hotel du Faucon
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Rose
Hotel de la Rose
#5 of 13 in Fribourg
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Fribourg
NH Fribourg
#7 of 13 in Fribourg
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#2 of 13 in Fribourg
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Au Sauvage
Hotel Au Sauvage
#6 of 13 in Fribourg
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha

Address: rue du Simplon 13, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range: $106 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpha 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel in the centre of Fribourg is only 400 metres from the train station. Hotel Alpha features an a la carte restaurant, parking garage and offers free Wi-Fi. The rooms at Hotel Alpha all have cable TV and a bathroom with hairdryer. You can request massages at the reception for surcharge. Fribourg's historic Old Town and the university campus are only a short walk away from the Alpha Hotel. The A12 motorway can be reached in a 5-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing