We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel but heavy traffic outside”
Review of Hotel de la Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Rose
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Reviewed February 14, 2014

BW Hotel de la Rose is a lovely old hotel in the old town of Fribourg. Ideal for walking around the best part of this extremely nice historic city - one of the most interesting places I've been to. The staff is very nice and helpful. Good value for money but the breakfast is typical "French" - good but not much to choose from. The traffic outside kept us awake at times so use the earplugs in the room to have a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Terje S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 180 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I was visiting Switzerland and this hotel was really great. Excelent location, you can walk to the Cathedral and to a couple of pretty places. The staff was just the best, super friendly!! Ready to support!! In all instances, even with technical issues that I had (problems with my charger)

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Jesanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed one night in this beautiful heritage property. People are very friendly and give a good service.
The location is perfect.

I was coming a long way from India via Paris and Geneva in one day, and this hotel was an ideal place to rest.

I just had breakfast there (very good). For dinner I went out to nearby Casa Juan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShikaraWalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I can't fault this place even though it's right opposite the cathedral. The bells weren't too bad!

The buffet style breakfast was good. There's no restaurant but just across the square is the Cafe de Gothard which does very good traditional Swiss food. [Try the fondue]

Free Wifi and car park.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Franglais12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This Hotel is in a great location for Fribourg if your a tourist.
I stayed for 2 work visits of 13days each.
Car parking can be difficult, expect to wait up to 30-40mins to find a park at around 6-6:30pm. (Cost me 165 CHF to park during St Nicholas weekend as the town council/Police shut down all parking in the area) that's when I found the hotel can give you a garage park for 15/nt but it's not well advertised.
I found the beds hard, the rooms clean and tidy and the shower was pretty good most days.
Breakfast is just Ok and could take a few pointers from the Ibis out of town.
The staff are All wonderful and really make the hotel a nice place to stay.
Restaurants, Cafés and sights are very close by and as everyone comments this is a top stay based on location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RICHOSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I used La Rose as a base for a couple of days to explore Fribourg. Excellent location to wander around the town and discover its many museums and sights. The staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient; the room comfortable, clean and with all necessary amenities (dressing gown, slippers, etc available on request). I particularly appreciated the fact that, unlike many other hotels, I could use my computer/access WiFi in my room free of charge. Only disappointment was that I couldn't access English speaking TV channels and had to do quite some juggling with a rather spartan shower curtain. Other practical info: parking spot just outside for which I paid CHF10 per day was good value; only breakfast is provided (optional) but there are so many restaurants nearby that this is not an issue.

One possible downside if you are a light sleeper and, as I do, like to have your window open at night - the hum of traffic is fairly constant and the church bells chime every 15 minutes (including throughout the night). Perhaps worth asking if there are quieter rooms in the hotel; otherwise take some ear plugs!

Overall though, I highly recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Perfect location to visit the city, the staff was very helpful and nice. Because we didn't have a room with a nice view, they had left a note in the room apologizing along with a very nice fruit basket. At the breakfast they made soft boiled eggs specially for us. I would stay here again. If you are driving, recommend buying the parking card from them so you don't have to feed the parking meter every few hours.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank jj6870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Faucon
Hotel du Faucon
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#2 of 13 in Fribourg
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Fribourg
NH Fribourg
#8 of 13 in Fribourg
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Au Sauvage
Hotel Au Sauvage
#6 of 13 in Fribourg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Rose

Address: Rue de Morat 1, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Rose)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range: $110 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de la Rose is situated in a 17th-century building in the heart of Fribourg, a 2-minute walk from Saint Nicholas Cathedral. The rooms are equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a safe, and a bathroom with shower or a bath and a hairdryer. Free WiFi is available in all areas. The sculpture park Espace Jean Tinguely-Niki de Saint-Phalle is just 50 metres away from Hôtel de la Rose. Fribourg Train Station is a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fribourg
Best Western Hotel Fribourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing