We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than its reputation !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Fribourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Fribourg
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much better than its reputation !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

First I have to confess that I am biased since I grew up in this building in Fribourg, Switzerland from Age 10 to age 18. This is a - from the outside not so attractive - high rise building (17 floors) in Fribourg. The building is about 30 years old but solid. The hotel rooms reach from about floor 5 to 12 (even though in the elevator the floors are labeled from 2 to 9). The rooms are very large by Swiss standards with large windows that let in a lot of light and nice view of the city on the North side and the Pre-Alps on the South side. The rooms and bathrooms have been renovated and are modern and clean. Some of the criticisms of the hotel such as slow internet (WiFi, it is now free !) and not enough bedding (small pillows, only one per bed) and short blankets are justified. However, still the rooms are luxurious by Swiss standard. The lobby is nice and the breakfast buffet is definitely above average. One of the best things about the hotel is the fantastic location, 2 minutes from the train station and close to shops and the old town and university. The staff is very friendly but a but young and inexperienced and doesn't seen to know the city very well. The town was very full because a visit from the Dalai Lama the next day. Overall this hotel has earned my vote of confidence and I will be coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a South-facing room with view of the Pre-Alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OdW947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    117
    119
    71
    40
See reviews for
39
67
40
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
551 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited this hotel during a conference. It's a regular 4 star standard. The view to the alps is wonderful. The staff is ok, the rooms and facilities too, but not outstanding. Concerning Restaurants, there are better ones in Fribourg than within the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had quite good experience, but there were some things that I found somewhat odd.
Firstly, my room was very large. In fact, it felt almost somewhat empty.
Secondly, no air-conditiniong. Thus, in the morning, I felt a compelling need to open the window in order to get some fresh air (despite temperature being below 0C).
Thirdly, room was partly renovated, with some deco-touch in it, but at the same time, some things were quite worn-out, like the faucet.
Fourthly, promises of free Wi-fi were no good. It would have cost you some and even in the lobby it didn't work and there was 15 min limit for teh public computer with connection.

Breakfast was very nice, though. Plentiful and good selection, plus attentive staff.
So, if you respect good location, space and convenience over personality - this is your choice. But not what I usually search for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Location is excellent, just 3 min walking distance from the train station. Breakfast was really nice but only service until 10h00, we were on holidays and this was not suitable for us.
Rooms are clean but a bit old, bathroom was modern but missing places to put our toilet stuff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrquideaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is nicely located. it is in the heart of the city. The heating system is excellent. in temperature of -10 C the rooms are very comfortable. The Breakfast etc is very nice. they do serve some vegetarian dishes. I can't believe they still charge internet in the rooms while it's free at the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UllasgShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
227 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The first mistake on any sort of advertisement is calling this a hotel. It might have conference rooms and a small lobby but the rooms look more like student dorms to me. My single room was tiny, the carpet was dirty with stains, there was a dead bug on the wall, the bed had a really tiny pillow, the noise until the early morning was keeping me away from sleeping. And the noise comes from several bars downstairs which are a part of the building. So no matter on which floor you stay, you can hear either the music or people come and go. Fribourg doesn't have a lot of choices when it comes to hotels but none can be worse than this. And that also applies to the check-in which happens okay but in no way friendly. When I left, I wasn't asked if I liked my stay. It was written on my face anyway.

Room Tip: No room can be a good choice in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fribourg hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The problem with Fribourg is that there's not too many options for places to stay, especially if you're limited to public transportation. It seems the hotels know this, most of them have really poor reviews. The location of this hotel is excellent, only a 2-3 minute walk from the central station. That's about the only good thing about this hotel.

The walls are very thin, allowing you to hear just about everything going on in the rooms around you. If you book a single room, they are all directly in front of the elevators so you will be hearing things all night long, especially when they book an entire hockey team on your floor, who is awake and shouting at each other until well past 4am. The staff will do nothing about this.

They did offer to move me the next day, to another room also in front of an elevator. In the end, I ended up a standard room which are slightly better, although still with thin walls.

NH likes to promote their WiFree program where wireless internet is free in the room and the lobby in their hotels. However, if you click and drill down about 4 pages deep, you'll find this hotel doesn't participate (most, actually, don't). So, be prepared for Swisscom network with high prices (15 CHF for 3 hours).

This hotel should really be a last resort. If you can drive, there's hotels and guest houses outside of Fribourg. Or one could opt to commute from Bern.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room; they are near the elevators and loud all night long. Standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berlinflyer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Faucon
Hotel du Faucon
#5 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Rose
Hotel de la Rose
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#1 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Au Sauvage
Hotel Au Sauvage
#6 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Fribourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Fribourg

Property: NH Fribourg
Address: Grand-Places 14 | Perolles, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Fribourg 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Fribourg hotel offers a perfect location right next to Fribourg's historical city center. Our warm and welcoming service and excellent cuisine are only a few of the numerous advantages you will enjoy when you stay at this comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Fribourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Fribourg
Nh Hotel Fribourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing