We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Economic Luxury”
Review of NH Fribourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Fribourg
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is nicely located. it is in the heart of the city. The heating system is excellent. in temperature of -10 C the rooms are very comfortable. The Breakfast etc is very nice. they do serve some vegetarian dishes. I can't believe they still charge internet in the rooms while it's free at the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UllasgShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 465 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

The first mistake on any sort of advertisement is calling this a hotel. It might have conference rooms and a small lobby but the rooms look more like student dorms to me. My single room was tiny, the carpet was dirty with stains, there was a dead bug on the wall, the bed had a really tiny pillow, the noise until the early morning was keeping me away from sleeping. And the noise comes from several bars downstairs which are a part of the building. So no matter on which floor you stay, you can hear either the music or people come and go. Fribourg doesn't have a lot of choices when it comes to hotels but none can be worse than this. And that also applies to the check-in which happens okay but in no way friendly. When I left, I wasn't asked if I liked my stay. It was written on my face anyway.

Room Tip: No room can be a good choice in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The problem with Fribourg is that there's not too many options for places to stay, especially if you're limited to public transportation. It seems the hotels know this, most of them have really poor reviews. The location of this hotel is excellent, only a 2-3 minute walk from the central station. That's about the only good thing about this hotel.

The walls are very thin, allowing you to hear just about everything going on in the rooms around you. If you book a single room, they are all directly in front of the elevators so you will be hearing things all night long, especially when they book an entire hockey team on your floor, who is awake and shouting at each other until well past 4am. The staff will do nothing about this.

They did offer to move me the next day, to another room also in front of an elevator. In the end, I ended up a standard room which are slightly better, although still with thin walls.

NH likes to promote their WiFree program where wireless internet is free in the room and the lobby in their hotels. However, if you click and drill down about 4 pages deep, you'll find this hotel doesn't participate (most, actually, don't). So, be prepared for Swisscom network with high prices (15 CHF for 3 hours).

This hotel should really be a last resort. If you can drive, there's hotels and guest houses outside of Fribourg. Or one could opt to commute from Bern.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room; they are near the elevators and loud all night long. Standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berlinflyer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I can't believe there is nothing right in this hotel. Maybe the receptionist, who is out sometimes at night, is the best thing in this hotel.

1. In this day and age of internet, I can't believe they still charge internet in the rooms while it's free at the lobby. I don't get it.
2. The food was REALLY bad. I ordered a burger which was charred and hard. After eating a quarter and deciding it's not worth the chew, I asked for the bill, and the waitress went up to me and asked about the food. I showed how hard and how badly charred the burger is, and she just took the plate and gave me the bill.
3. I am in a non-smoking room, but the whole hallway smells of smoke.
4. The furniture is really bad with scratches on the cheap wood paneling. Windows are dirty for you to appreciate the view of the city.
5. They give you ONE pillow. That's it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vodkacran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

very bad quality of rooms needing a serious repair and quite noisy ....
most people have no choice and stay overnight there as there is not enough accommodation in Fribourg.
Better find a friend in town ...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_F1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Finding the hotel is not too hard, but getting to the car park is a big detour and must be difficult in winter. The rooms are large with a good bathroom. They are warm however, and do not have air-conditioning so it depends very much on the season when you go.

There is not too much choice of restaurants around the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAPStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After reading the reviews of the hotel before we left for our trip, many of us were concerned about what we were going to find. We found the staff to be very pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful. There was a group of about 35 of us staying here and the complaints were minimal and dealt with immediately. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were adequate (the single rooms were quite small), the breakfast was GREAT. It was quieter if you were away from the street side of the hotel; I was on floor 1 and didn't hear anything from the nightclub. The view from my room was quite nice. The location was great; we could easily walk anywhere. We were there the Monday before Easter until the Monday after Easter. The hotel made a special dinner for our group on Easter Sunday, including some who stayed at another hotel (total 90 people), and it was very well done and appreciated. Wi Fi is free in the hotel lobby and there is also a computer available to use there. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The single rooms are small; I would suggest a double or triple. Asking for a room away from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Rose
Hotel de la Rose
#5 of 13 in Fribourg
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Faucon
Hotel du Faucon
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#2 of 13 in Fribourg
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Au Parc Hotel Fribourg
Au Parc Hotel Fribourg
#8 of 13 in Fribourg
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Fribourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Fribourg

Address: Grand-Places 14 | Perolles, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range: $113 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Fribourg 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Fribourg hotel offers a perfect location right next to Fribourg's historical city center. Our warm and welcoming service and excellent cuisine are only a few of the numerous advantages you will enjoy when you stay at this comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Fribourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Fribourg
Nh Hotel Fribourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing