We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Hotel Au Sauvage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Au Sauvage
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I have stayed several times in Fribourg. As hotel availability was low and hence prices rather high, I selected this hotel based on the positive reviews. The room type I booked online, although confirmed, was not available and I had to choose between a Suite and a small single room. I chose the Suite because I had plans to return with my companion later.
To my surprise, when I arrived around 22:00, the room was cold! OK, not freezing cold but definitely the restaurant and the reception were warmer! I didn't mention that, because I had no more time to spend over changing rooms, rates etc. The rate was close to 280 CHF, breakfast included. The Suite -not sure what type one- was small. The Bathroom was OK, surprisingly kind-of warmer despite the heating that was off.
Staff are very friendly indeed. Breakfast was basic. Compared to other hotels I have been to in Fribourg, nothing spectacular.
Overall I think that this hotel is overpriced, unless you need indeed to spend time in the heart of this medieval city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Au Sauvage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2010

This hotel is situated in the lower part of the city right next to the river, i.e. in an amazingly beautiful part of the old town with a beautiful view on the city and the surrounding area. The stuff was just great. Very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and big too with a nice bathroom. The TV was pretty out of date however, there was free wifi. The breakfast buffet in the morning was perfect. Fresh bread, different spreads, eggs, ham, salami, cheese, fruits, musli, etc.
Although the hotel is not right in the center of the city, it is close to the cathedral (connected through a steep footpath). There is also a regular bus line right in front of the hotel, that connects it with the railway station.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bioko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This hotel was immediately pleasant and welcoming and it continued thus throughout our stay. The conversion of a sixteenth century house is skilful and there are many appealing touches. Provision is of a high standard and service outstanding. Our room was described as a "petite suite" which is a bit of a misnomer: it was in fact a fair sized double room in which space had been found for a sofa and two armchairs. None the less, the amenities of this nicely furnished area were considerable, given the relatively limited space. The bathroom was particularly good. We appreciated the free wireless internet, the tea-making facility and the free parking in a locked space around the corner. The setting, in the picturesque and ancient lower part of Fribourg, is remarkable. The hotel is on a historic square and at the end of an old stone bridge, in an environment which feels almost rural. 5 minutes walk up extremely steep stairs take you to the upper town and there's also a regular bus to the station.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank angmonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au_Sauvage, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Au Sauvage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alex U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au_Sauvage, Responsable réception at Hotel Au Sauvage, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: il faudrait impérativement une chambre côté place, en aucun cas côté route
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Béatrice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au_Sauvage, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Au Sauvage, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jean-pierre s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Rose
Hotel de la Rose
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Fribourg
NH Fribourg
#8 of 13 in Fribourg
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Faucon
Hotel du Faucon
#5 of 13 in Fribourg
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#2 of 13 in Fribourg
142 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Sauvage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Sauvage

Address: Planche-Superieure 12, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range: $284 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Au Sauvage 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the centre of the old city. Big parts of the original wall work form the 16th century still exists and it gives each of our rooms an individual touch. The hotel is close to different sightseeing places which you can reach in no time at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Au Sauvage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing