We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant location, but poor management”
Review of Sigtunastiftelsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sigtunastiftelsen
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sigtuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The management did not respond to my emails about the possibility of extending my stay for a day. Then, when I arrived, they simply relegated me to another hotel because they were overbooked for a conference. In the middle of the night I had to drive to another hotel even though I paid for this one and no one ever contacted me with any information. Next morning on my insistence I was driven back. The beds are very uncomfortable, with very hard pillows. But the place is in a very nice, woody location overlooking a lake. The rooms are clean and nice. Pity they do not have competent management.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelreluctant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 66 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been there for a conference and I found it a relaxing and pleasant place.
Food is good and well cooked (also for the excellent coffee breaks).
The place has a particular atmosphere both warm and relaxing while being concentration-friendly.
Conference facilities were definitely good.
Rooms were clean and confortable with some very "scandinavian" solution.
A strange and unconfortable thing was the absolute absence of drawers in the room, just a place for jackets and pants was present.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alebflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed here in September for a conference and had a dreadful experience. We were over-charged by a large amount and despite two months spent writing to the hotel setting out our case, we received no recompense. We ended up being charged some £260 per night because they messed up a booking made by my wife and insisted on charging me a separate booking fee. All this for a room that is simply awful - basically it's a student dormitory. This place is arguably the most avaricious mean-spirited place I have stayed at in recent years. It hides behind its foundation status and yet charges far more than the Stockholm Radisson Blu Waterfront (where we moved on to) for very spartan accommodation. Altogether an upsetting experience - avoid!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wandering_Taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Sigtuna Foundation is a beautiful place, The surrounding village is full of historic buildings. It's a nice walk along the shore of the lake, peaceful and quiet. We had a conference here and enjoyed the excellent food and the nice meeting rooms. My room was a bit old fashioned, but very clean. The internet was excellent. We took a taxi from the airport, but returned to Stockholm by bus and train ( keep your busticket for discount at the trainstation). The foundation is well organized , people are friendly and helpfull. We had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strandman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Sigtuna Stiftelsen or Sigtuna Foundation is a truly fascinating place. It feels more like a monastery than a hotel, complete with a chapel — serene and beautiful. The rooms are very nice, somewhat spartan and there are no televisions. The public spaces are warm and cozy -- the conference rooms are state-of-the-art and exceptionally well-designed -- the food is fantastic -- and "downtown" Sigtuna is less than a 10 minute walk away.

Be sure to ask the front desk to show you the Writer's Room at the top of the hotel -- it has fantastic views of the lake and even a glimpse of ruins of an ancient church.

Overall, a great place for our conference --

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NCWorldTraveler704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I stayed here for a conference; I could not fault this establishment one bit. Delicious food in the restaurant and a spotlessly clean bedroom.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 241turist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin A, Manager at Sigtunastiftelsen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigtuna
0.4 mi away
Sigtuna Stadshotell
Sigtuna Stadshotell
#3 of 6 in Sigtuna
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotell Kristina
Hotell Kristina
#1 of 6 in Sigtuna
103 reviews
12.8 mi away
Gorvalns Slott
Gorvalns Slott
#1 of 2 in Jarfalla
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sigtunahojden Hotell & Konferens
0.3 mi away
Stora Brannbo Konferens & Hotell
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
STF Sigtuna Vandrarhem
#1 of 2 in Sigtuna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigtunastiftelsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigtunastiftelsen

Address: 2-4 Manfred Bjoerkquists Alle, Sigtuna 193 31, Sweden (Formerly Sigtuna Foundation)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Sigtuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sigtuna
Price Range: $139 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sigtunastiftelsen 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sigtunastiftelsen opened its doors in 1917 and have since then welcomed guests from all over the world. Located in beautiful Sigtuna and only 15 minutes from Stockholm-Arlanda airport makes it a perfect place wether you are in the area for for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sigtunastiftelsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing