We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unbelievable rip-off”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sigtunastiftelsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sigtunastiftelsen
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sigtuna
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An unbelievable rip-off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed here in September for a conference and had a dreadful experience. We were over-charged by a large amount and despite two months spent writing to the hotel setting out our case, we received no recompense. We ended up being charged some £260 per night because they messed up a booking made by my wife and insisted on charging me a separate booking fee. All this for a room that is simply awful - basically it's a student dormitory. This place is arguably the most avaricious mean-spirited place I have stayed at in recent years. It hides behind its foundation status and yet charges far more than the Stockholm Radisson Blu Waterfront (where we moved on to) for very spartan accommodation. Altogether an upsetting experience - avoid!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wandering_Taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
21
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
335 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Sigtuna Foundation is a beautiful place, The surrounding village is full of historic buildings. It's a nice walk along the shore of the lake, peaceful and quiet. We had a conference here and enjoyed the excellent food and the nice meeting rooms. My room was a bit old fashioned, but very clean. The internet was excellent. We took a taxi from the airport, but returned to Stockholm by bus and train ( keep your busticket for discount at the trainstation). The foundation is well organized , people are friendly and helpfull. We had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strandman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Sigtuna Stiftelsen or Sigtuna Foundation is a truly fascinating place. It feels more like a monastery than a hotel, complete with a chapel — serene and beautiful. The rooms are very nice, somewhat spartan and there are no televisions. The public spaces are warm and cozy -- the conference rooms are state-of-the-art and exceptionally well-designed -- the food is fantastic -- and "downtown" Sigtuna is less than a 10 minute walk away.

Be sure to ask the front desk to show you the Writer's Room at the top of the hotel -- it has fantastic views of the lake and even a glimpse of ruins of an ancient church.

Overall, a great place for our conference --

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCWorldTraveler704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

I stayed here for a conference; I could not fault this establishment one bit. Delicious food in the restaurant and a spotlessly clean bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigtuna
Sigtuna Stadshotell
#3 of 6 in Sigtuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Hotell Kristina
#2 of 6 in Sigtuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Rosersbergs Slottshotell
Rosersbergs Slottshotell
#101 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Hotell Anstalten
#6 of 6 in Sigtuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigtunastiftelsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigtunastiftelsen

Property: Sigtunastiftelsen
Address: 2-4 Manfred Bjoerkquists Alle, Sigtuna 193 31, Sweden (Formerly Sigtuna Foundation)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Sigtuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sigtuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sigtunastiftelsen 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sigtunastiftelsen opened its doors in 1917 and have since then welcomed guests from all over the world. Located in beautiful Sigtuna and only 15 minutes from Stockholm-Arlanda airport makes it a perfect place wether you are in the area for for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sigtunastiftelsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing