We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Alhambra. Not only are Jordi and family wonderful hosts, but the hotel is beautiful, central, calm, elegant, and extremely comfortable. Our views to the sea and Teide volcano were excellent, and La Orotava is beautiful and quiet. Do enjoy the wine bar a few blocks away as well as the "Canada" restaurant. We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Alhambra.

Room Tip: We very much enjoyed the La Palma room which has the best bathroom imaginable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATCongress2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    24
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
64
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

A very unusual and special treat: the room was spacious and very nicely furnished, the bathroom was exceptionally large, with beautiful tiles. The view from the room featured both the mountains and the sea. The entire house is carefully and beautifully renovated, with a lovely mixture of antique and modern furnishing. The owner and his family extended a very warm welcome, and were always happy to recommend restaurants and trips in the area. I felt very much at home in this pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

This very elegant old townhouse has been converted into a small and very charming hotel, perfectly located to visit the sites of the old town.
Staff service ( the owner and relatives) was of a very high standard - highly courteous, attentive and personal. We were treated like old friends.
We had the La Palma room, spacious, airy, with superb views of the Teide and the sea.
Breakfast was cold cuts but generous and taken in a room with wonderful views.
Free Internet access is inclusive. On street parking only but the hotel has a few reserved spaces so no problems.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is a marvellous little hotel with only 5 bedrooms. Our room (Gran Canaria) was on the ground floor the others are on the first floor. Our room was well proportioned with two full length opening windows overlooking the town and the hotel's small swimming pool. The bathroom was huge with separate bath and shower, toilet and bidet.
The public areas a lavish with both traditional and contemporary artworks.
The hotel only serves breakfast no other meals but there are a number of good restaurants nearby.
There is parking outside the hotel.
In all a gem of a place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HamishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in Alhambra and everything was perfect. We were given the room La Palma which has view on both the ocean and the Teide. The arabian style bathroom was really beautiful and huge with a bath and separate shower and lights everywhere. The room was flawless. It had 2 big windows and was very bright. You can only feel comfortable there. The hotel itself is incredible, a bit like the Alhambra in Grenade, though of course slightly smaller...

Our hosts were very kind, always helpful and so polite. The combination of great hosts and great place makes this hotel undoubtedly excellent. If you are to stay in la Orotava, go for it and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jul3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Staff are an asset to this hotel with a good attitude and always helpful. We came here because of some friends recommendation so we knew what to expect. Location is great and rooms beautiful. Breakfast had more or less the usual items and fresh. Good hub for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWALSHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, a great room and a beautiful stylish hotel. The rooms are named after the islands, we stayed in Gran Canaria and were very happy, if you don't like the sound of church bells then this may not be for you. This did not bother us, the fact that you could wake up and lie in bed with a view of the hotel garden, the town, the mountains and the sea was just amazing. The hotel is quiet and peaceful, breakfast was lovely (continental only, no fried breakfast....), the classical music during breakfast was very relaxing.

I would stay there again and recommend the hotel to friends and family without hesitation. I have to mention the mini bar in the rooms as well, it was nice to be able to use it and not be charged completely ridiculous prices.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wheels233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Orotava
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Victoria
Hotel Rural Victoria
#2 of 6 in La Orotava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel San Roque
Hotel San Roque
#1 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
13.3 mi away
Parador de Canadas del Teide
13.2 mi away
Hotel Rural El Patio
Hotel Rural El Patio
#3 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Property: Hotel Alhambra
Address: Calle Nicandro Gonzalez Borges, 19, La Orotava, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > La Orotava
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alhambra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alhambra is located in the centre of the North of Tenerife, being in a strategic area in order to visit the whole island. The Eclectic style-like current appearance of the building of Hotel Alhambra is due to two consecutive refurbishments, projected by Mariano Estanga, for the Ascanio family, which were accomplished in 1925. He chose elements of classicist origin, as the curve pediments or the balcony balaustrades. He proposed the recreation of a "nazari" (Muslim) courtyard in the inside, by means of horseshoe arches, tiling zocles and ornamentation made with plaster. Hotel Alhambra has 5 bed-rooms: 3 double bed-rooms and 2 double superior bed-rooms, all of them with large beds. Every room has an exclusive bathroom, television set, telephone, safe and mini-bar. The atmosphere of the hotel is very comfortable and inviting, offering a personalised service, providing an alternative to the clients who run away from hustle and bustle. There are different types of communal rooms: living rooms, reading rooms and exhibition rooms with paintings and frescos of the Maestro Antonio Otazzo, among others. It also has a reserved area for parking outside. In the surrounding of Hotel Alhambra you will find an excellent gastronomic selection of restaurants, where you can taste the pleasure of the typical Canary cuisine and many of its local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel La Orotava
Hotel Alhambra Tenerife/La Orotava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing