We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the free "astronomic activity"!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Canadas del Teide
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were travelling to Canarias and we made an extra effort (as per logistics, time and money) to spend one night at this Parador, since we found out that on Fridays an astronomer "explains the sky".
We had a blast!
The sir was extra funny (I mean, who would have thought he'd mix science with Greek mythology and the cartoon The Lion King?) and gave us a very interesting and detailed explanation of what we were seeing. First he spoke in English for all the guests to understand and then he went into details in Spanish. Despite the cold, we enjoyed his exposition so much and the fantastic stars and planets we could see.
The hotel is nice, not fantastic but it was cozy enough, and the location is unbelievable.
The heating system was not working in our room and they offered to move us, but since they gave us extra blankets and said it was not so cold at night, we stayed in the same one and in the end we slept fine.
The staff was helpful: they even arranged transportation for us (getting there without a car is not the easiest) and always with a smile on their face.
What was extravagant was the price of the restaurant, cafeteria and bar: I suppose you pay for having the possibility of eating there, in the middle of nowhere. Anyway, the quality of the food and the service were excellent (we had dinner at the restaurant, breakfast in the breakfast room and lunch at the bar).
From the hotel, we could get to the Teide Volcano by bus and then came back walking (one hour walking in that lunar scenario was like being in a movie) and then visited the "God's finger" which is right in front of the hotel.
If you live in Spain, I suggest you apply for the "Tarjeta Amigos de Paradores", a fidelity card that gives you points, special offers and a welcome drink for your stays in Paradores Hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Canadas del Teide
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 680 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

This Parador is simple. It is for sure not the most elegant one, but.... The Teide National Park is THE top attraction of Tenerife! There is no other hotel here on 2100 meters above sea level. The Parador has a divine (!!!!) location, facing wonderful rock formations and the Pico del Teide! It is a place to dream, a place to laugh, a place to cry, a place to find or refind yourself! It is a MUST to come up and stay here, an experience which you will never forget in your life.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had 2 nights in this magnificent place - hotel and Teide National Park. A lot of the visitors to Teide are coming only for the cable car up the mountain - we came for 3 days and LOVED it. the park is amazing and there are 3-4 hiking routes that can be done from the hotel without a car (we came with busses. p.s. Bono card is not acceptable in the lines to Teide), one of them called "Rocks de Gracia" and is amazing and easy (1.5 hours) (The way to the cable car is a little far - 5km on the road, better to catch a ride). The hotel is very pretty, relaxing, clean and the staff were very nice and helpful. There is a small closed swimming pull with amazing view to Teide mountain. There is a cafeteria (until 18.00) and a restaurant (awful.. we waited 1:15 hours for rice and potatos! the next evening ate at the bar and asked for pasta (vegetarian) and sandwich, and it was much better and faster..), no supermarket, so its better to stok up a little groceries before. There is an info booth just outside the hotel (09.00-16.00) that provides maps and advices. On our last day all the walking routs got closed due to a fire hazard (signs all over and info woman told us) so it was impossible to walk. Our stay was wonderful and we recommend it very much!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is located in the Teide National Park, which is located on the World Heritage by UNESCO. What can I say, the hotel is the location and the specific characteristics of demand for tourists who are planning to make walking tours of the many hiking trails and visit the volcano Teide. Therefore, I think it would be incorrect to say that there is no shops and restaurants, but that the hotel itself is not worse. Because it really has everything you need: a cafe, a restaurant, swimming pool and sauna. We loved sitting area with fireplace, lit it at night because the street is cold enough to +5. Yes, yes! Bring warm clothes and a warm jacket. We all liked it. We had a wonderful time and had time to go everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vadimbykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location if you´d like to go hiking or cycling. Had we known how good it was we would have stayed for more than 4 nights. Its appearance reminded me of a simple hotel in the alps, a little dark, very comfortable and practical.
Highlights:
The beds are extremely comfortable.
You can hang out on the couches near the reception or on the first floor or on the hotel terrace (not the cafeteria one) to check your email or read - no need to stick to your room.
There is a lot of storage space for bicycles, in case you bring some (we got ours from bikepoint - can highly recommend both bikes and service).
Watching the stars; they have a telescope and on Fridays they have an astronomer who holds a one hour lecture outside, showing all the amazing things you can see once your eyes have adapted to the darkness (you´ll need to understand some Spanish to fully enjoy).
The restaurant: The food is very very very good and fresh and the portions are large (if you are not there to exercise excessively, you will probably only need a starter to feel full) and the service was perfect - all waiters were very friendly, very helpful, made "exceptions" and "extras" and "add-ons".We felt very pampered. Also the view from the restaurant (especially during sunset) is wonderful. Without the restaurant, the place would only be half as good as there is nothing anywhere near that would feed you (there is a restaurant about 13 km north which is frequented by tour busses during the day and closes at 7.30pm - they do nice and simple food, have a terrace (also on the roof) with great views but it takes ages when they are busy with a bus).
In general I found all staff very helpful - e.g. we had a room with a not-so-great view on the first day and asked to change as soon as they had a better room available - without any fuss, the next day we were offered to move (which we did).
The cafeteria makes very nice sandwiches - I was surprised as I had not expected fresh and tasty bread in this remote location.

The swimming pool is small and the showers etc. a little basic (nevertheless useable). The sauna will only work if you ask the reception to heat it up.

If you wish to walk up Teide: We took sendero 9 and it is amazing! (and you can take the funicular down). We found out later that it would have been possible to walk directly from the hotel (senders 3 and 23 - 23 is not shown on all maps).

Would come again for more walking and maybe mountain- instead of roadbiking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 20 days in a row, so you could say I had some time to check things out. The rooms are good, we stayed in the front of the hotel with views on the rock formations and beautiful sunsets. The room wasn't
Big, but beds were perfect and bathroom with a good shower are as expected. Dining in the restaurant was very good, open all day and with very friendly staff! Everything is possible! The area around the hotel is great for cycling, walking, running but take some time to get used to the elevation (2100mts) a must see is the cable car to the top of 'El Teide' 3550mts. Great views on bright days! Internet in the hotel is poor, but free. Router at the reception. There is a cafeteria in the front of the hotel, packed with tourists every day. Best time to be in this great area is in the early morning and late at night when everybody is gone! It's so quiet.... Do walk outside at a bright night to see the stars, no light pollution around here! Impressive!

A good hotel to stay as adults for a few days, great breakfast (do order espresso in stead of the regular coffee) Wouldn't go here with the kids.

Prefect for photography, nature, outdoor holidays, hiking trips, cyclists, athletes. (Altitude training)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIRODAANBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Rooms were very dark and dismal, but on the upside they were very clean and nice and warm with lots of hot water.
Our housekeeper was excellent ,friendly and always happy to oblige.
To all the world class cyclists who could hear and see the head waiter shouting at me this was not because I refused to pay the bill but because the first time the bill was produced it had not been taken into account we were on half board and a bill arrived for nearly 100 euro, the second time the bill came my husband who is vegetarian and had soup (nearly 15 euro if not on half board) followed by a plate of green beans with potatoes and nothing else may I add was then going to be charged something like 8 euro for the potatoes as an extra .
I refused to sign and asked the head waiter not to shout at me he left again only to return and shout "sign" he then walked away very angry and began to discuss my failure to sign with an older waitress who could not disguise her disgust at my refusal to pay for the potatoes.
I thank the new manager who had only just started and wish her well she was most polite and helpful, it was just a shame the head waiter was still very angry at my failure to sign and even on check out had another pop at me. Thank you also to the young lady receptionist who was on when we checked out she was most kind.
It is a special hotel in a special place but something really needs to change in the restaurant.
After talking to the manager I believe she is more than up to the job to make those changes for the better.
It is very sad our enjoyment of the trip was spoiled, I felt very embarrassed.
I had informed the hotel of our vegetarian request well before our visit.
The cyclists group also had special requests for their food.
On our first night we arrived well before the cyclists for dinner ,we then waited while they were served but did so in a polite relaxed way for over an hour and a half ,well Mr Wiggins did get us a medal!
My service score reflects the hotel as a whole but if it was based on the service in the restaurant it would be zero.

Room Tip: The room we received was not very special , we were shown a triple room overlooking the car park but...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TellatheTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Orotava
4.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
479 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,649 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Rural Victoria
Hotel Rural Victoria
#2 of 6 in La Orotava
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,823 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Roja
Hotel La Quinta Roja
#2 of 5 in Garachico
250 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Canadas del Teide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Canadas del Teide

Address: Las Canadas del Teide, 38300 La Orotava, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > La Orotava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Price Range: $113 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador de Canadas del Teide 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador de Canadas del Teide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Canadas Del Teide Hotel La Orotava
Parador De Canadas Del Teide Tenerife/La Orotava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing