We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at a moderate price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rural Victoria
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel at a moderate price”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed in the suite (room 201) for 4 days and found it very large and comfortable. There's a lovely wooden balcony from the living room overlooking the street. The wifi internet access is fast and reliable. Dinner down in the restaurant was excellent, rivaling any standalone restaurant and far beyond what we would expect from a typical hotel restaurant. We had grilled salmon and a scallop salad that were moist and tasty. Reservations are required as there are only 7-8 tables total. There is street parking outside, but it was almost always full so you might have to park further away. We walked from the Orotava bus station, it was a bit of a hike if you're bringing lots of luggage, but definitely possible. The included breakfast buffet was larger than what I'd expected for a small hotel, but similar to a US 3 star hotel. Eggs, breakfast meat, cereal, yogurt, pastries, and fresh fruit. The buffet is open 7:30-10:30 in theory, but get there early as it was empty and closed at 10a for us.
Roof access on the third floor provides a scenic view of the town down to the coast and back up towards El Teide peak. Even though the roof access is for everyone, we haven't seen anyone else up there.
There's a computer and printer available for free on the first floor.
118EUR a night, and Lonely Planet recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    74
    19
    12
    2
See reviews for
17
157
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This is a lovely hotel in the historic part of La Orotava, built round a beautiful courtyard. The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable, and the restaurant food is superb. The rooftop terrace has wonderful views and is perfect for sunbathing. There's free internet access, although if you're holidaying here, I'm not sure why you'd want any reminders that the outside world exists.

I'm also not sure why other reviewers have down-rated the hotel on parking. It's in the middle of the historic area of a town, for goodness' sake. Flatten and concrete-over the lovely nearby botanical garden, perhaps? The furthest we had to park from the hotel was three streets away, and it's free everywhere. Ignore them, learn to drive properly if you aren't already able to steer on narrow streets and parallel park, and do stay at this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveInKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The hotel is in an elegant, traditional style, built around a covered courtyard, and situated close to the centre of the charming town of La Orotava.
We stayed in a spacious suite with rather grand décor and a splendid wooden balcony overlooking the street at the front of the hotel. (There was inevitably a bit of street noise, but not too bad.) The only minor negatives were that the bathroom was on the small side, and the daily towel provision was a bit variable.
This is a small hotel and the reception/bar/breakfast service usually seemd to be entirely run by just one member of staff on duty each day! However, this did not cause any problems. Staff were helpful, and spoke good English.
We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant on two of the three nights of our stay, and this was excellent. (The kitchen area is open to the restaurant area, so that is quite interesting in itself!)
The breakfast buffet was adequate - for a hotel of this size - in choice and quality. Service (coffee/tea to table, and clearing plates) was usually very good, apart from one morning when service was poor.
We were very lucky in always being able to find a space for our hire-car in the on-street parking area right outside the hotel. (But I’m not sure where we’d have gone if those parking spaces had already been taken! The area has rather narrow streets and is not the easiest place to drive or park!)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The hotel is very beautiful. The rooms are clean and nice.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbird073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel is a very nice one and we were welcomed in a nice manner. They also have a restaurant that we didn't try but the breakfast is completely fine specially for the price (55€ night + breakfast)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coline_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Central, at the heart of the ancient part of this lovely little town. Right next to a beautiful botanical garden. Classy yet cozy interior. Excellent cuisine! Must be one of the best places to have dinner in town.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LutzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Hotel itself is fine and I agree with the other reviews. However parking at present (and probably always) is a nightmare. Currently there are roadworks in the street and it is impossible topark anywhere near. We ended up about 300m away up and down a big hill. This would be no joke for anyone less able.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Orotava
1.8 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,592 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#3 of 6 in La Orotava
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
792 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
755 reviews
12.9 mi away
Parador de Canadas del Teide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Victoria

Property: Hotel Rural Victoria
Address: Calle Hermano Apolinar 8, 38300 La Orotava, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > La Orotava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rural Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Victoria Hotel
Hotel Rural Victoria Tenerife/La Orotava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing