We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not special.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Principe Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but not special.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our honeymoon and, having let them know, the management allocated us a lovely room (12304) with a gorgeous view to the sea overlooking the pool. Having some fizzy wine and fruit in the room on arrival was a nice touch. Thank you.
First the positives:
A good looking hotel with varied architecture and attractive multi-coloured paint scheme.
Good food with plenty of choice in the main all-inclusive restaurant, especially at breakfast.
Excellent choice of alternative dining in this and the sister hotel down the road.
Comfortable rooms kept spotless with excellent maid service.
Negatives (unfortunately there are a few)
Sun beds streaked with bird droppings. Birds are encouraged by one of the pool bar staff feeding them. Consequently the birds perch on the sun beds with a resulting mess. You can change your beach towels daily of course, and we did, but it is unsavory.
The main lobby bar closes at 11:00 p.m. (enough said). WHAT? Yes the bar closes at 11:00 p.m.!!! Oh dear.
VERY loud intrusive "music" during the activities at the poolside, making it impossible to relax.
The pools need some maintenance. There are tiles missing.
Overall though the positives outweighed the negative and we had a lovely holiday. Would we stay again? Probably not.

Room Tip: We were high on the third floor of block 12 which afforded us an excellent view over the pool to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lanky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in writing about your lovely honeymoon in Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the big variety and quality of food in the buffet restaurant and the excellent maid service during your hotel stay.

On the other side, we would like to apologise for those aspects like the bird droppings and the music at the pool that have not totally satisfied you. We would like to inform you that your comments have been passed to the housekeeping and the entertainment managers to supervise it.

We wish you all the best and it would be a pleasure to see you again in any of the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Anja Kruse
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,874
    1,011
    304
    84
    53
See reviews for
1,394
1,320
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Bahia's reception areas and grounds are absolutely lovely; the pools are landscaped so well and are beautiful to swim in. The food options are varied and well staffed, but if I'm honest I wasn't overly impressed with the majority of the offerings apart from the food at the 'Spanish' themed restaurant outside. Drinks and snacks however are varied and plentiful and of a reasonable quality. The room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds and facilities, and the staff are very polite and helpful - a real credit to the place. The location is too far out for us really; we like to go off walking and swimming in the sea, but access was limited and you can't walk down too far in either direction really along the coast - we should have considered this more when choosing the hotel. Evening entertainment in March was limited, and the seating areas feel a bit too 'open' like you're sat drinking in a shopping centre rather than a hotel lobby. I'd recommend this place for families and groups looking for a 'whole package', who are happy to make the most of the facilities on the beautiful relaxing grounds and get their money's worth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie_pangie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Angie,

Thank you for publishing this review about your relaxing holiday in Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you loved the grounds, the pools and the spacious and clean room.

We would like to see you again in any of the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts in Tenerife, Mexico, Dominican Republic or Jamaica.

Kind Regards,

Anja Kruse
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Bahia Principe Tenerife is where me, my husband and son choose to stay when we visit Tenerife for the October break. The hotel is perfect for children with pool activities during the day, a kids club and kids disco every evening in the court yard. The hotel restaurants are great, something for every one with choice of Asian, Canarian,& Italian restaurants as well as the usual buffets.

The hotel is quite isolated with not much going on outside the complex. A taxi to Costa Adeje takes about 10 minutes and costs approx. 15 euros - Id recommend going to Costa Adeje at least once during your visit, there are some lovely shops, bars and restaurants there.

You have to pay for WIFI within the hotel which is about the only negative I can think of.

Overall this is a great hotel and I would recommend to anyone considering it. We have stayed there twice and have booked to return again in October as my 7 year old son loves it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMS2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for posting on TripAdvisor your great experience at Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel and for recommending it to all the other travellers.

We are delighted to read that you and your son enjoyed the activities at the pool, the minidisco and the big variety of food in the buffet restaurant.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again for your third visit in October.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Anja Kruse
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just back from a week here, first time in Tenerife , intention being a chill out Holiday from work !!! This Hotel was fantastic, spotless everywhere, food fantastic and the staff always had a smile and a friendly greeting. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel xxx Will definitely be back xx Thank you Bahia for a great stay and also want to know if the Jewellery shop in your lobby had a website seen something I should have bought !!!!

Room Tip: In my opinion I don't think they would have bad rooms lol !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Linda,

Thank you for your time in writing about your great stay at Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

It is great to hear that you had a first class holiday in our hotel and that you would recommend it to others.

We are very glad that you liked the Joy Art jewellery shop in the hotel. They do have a web site and we can give it to you if you send an email to the hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Once again we have returned from the Bahia Principle Tenerife, and once again I can only say what a great hotel it is.

This was our sixth time we have visited this hotel and we have always been very pleased, both with the friendliness of the staff, to the professional way the place is run. The restaurants, of which there are also various theme restaurants, are all excellent, very clean with a range of choice and variation of food to cover every taste.

The drinks are very generous and nothing is to much trouble from the bar staff which always greet you with a smile, as do all the staff.

Room Tip: We only ever stay on the ground floor and there never are any problems. All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isisthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience in Bahia Principe Tenerife with all Tripadvisor users.

It is fantastic to know that we can still impress you after a few visits. Your recognition encourages us to go on working in order to achieve higher levels of satisfaction from our guests.

We hope to welcome you many more times.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Tenerife.

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have just returned home after a weeks holiday at Bahia Príncipe Tenerife. The hotel is truly amazing and offers exceptional food at very high standards. I honestly can not fault this hotel in any way. I will defiantly be returning again, later in the year with my family and so lucky to have stayed at such a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDormers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the report about your amazing holiday in Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

It is great satisfaction for all the Bahia Principe Management and all the Staff to hear that you can find no fault at all to this hotel and that you were very satisfied.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again this year.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Tenerife.

Anja Kruse
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel with our 3 year old child. Hotel facility, lunch buffet, pool areas near the ocean, well treated park areas, the child activities with Ving travels, friendly staaf and a hotel in the less noisy and tourist/hotel complex areas have resulted that we are overall satisfied and can recommend this hotel for other families.

There are improvements that could enhance the hotel experience even more which you should be aware of and I hope the hotel improve on these in a near future:

* Breakfast, lunch, dinner buffets are overall very good with enough variation throughout the week and the staaf are very friendly and quick to serve you. However the three "Al-carte" dinners was all a disappointment, not at least since previous guests have enjoyed these. The main course is served at the table and you look on the menu, however in reality it is a smaller a bit more unique buffet before main course, then a main course you choose but feels that it comes from a already prepared buffet in the kitchen and then dessert buffet. The idea to create variation and add themes as spanish, asian, canadian food is good. However the variation from the main buffet isn't really that big and the main courses was unsatisfactory of either poor meat quality or poorly cooked and most likely an combination which gives a grade 2- out of five. At one restaurant with open walls there also were a challenge that small birds were actually eating from the buffet and that does´t improve the overall impression of having a fresh buffet. Our conclusion was, okey the idea of creating variation is good, but we enjoyed the standard buffet meals a lot more.

* The snack bar at the pool had beverages, chips and some good sandwiches at time. However it was that much to eat and the hamburgers we were served were definitely the most untasty ever have eaten. So as it is, it works for beverages and "salt" but don´t expect anything extra which is unfortunate. If the hotel served better food here, people would eat less in the buffets so it would have become a win-win.

* We find it annoying that things that is expected to be included in a 4-5 star hotel is not included. That is you need to pay both a daily charge and a deposit for safe box, internet access, warm-water boilers, iron and so on. You pay also deposits for the pool towels. This is irritating since it takes time both from when you arrive and leave the hotel, in some cases you must pay in cash. We would have preferred a +5-7 euro cost per night and then that all is included to minimize this annoyance.

* If you come from the nordic european countries you will as always in these southern european countries will find that the beds are hard and not that comfortable and with small pillows. However we slept well enough anyway and I guess it is maybe our local preferences and some prefer these kind of beds.

* You will need to rent a car, take a bus, book a trip through the hotel or take a taxi to go out for trips, shopping and learn more about Teneriffa. For us this was all okey and expected, since we preferred to live not in the so touristic hotel complex areas.

* One individual preference. Everyday there are an animation team activating guests and many times elder persons in water work out. Since they are in the middle of the area and had loud music and 1-2 times per day for 20-30 minutes, we found it disturbing and would have enjoyed more a calmer area. Sometimes it also was a bit annoying with "photo staff" taking photos of families, but then of course for a charge to deliver the photos, salespersons who showed dresses and so on. We would have preferred that there were no "sales" activities at all in the area. If we want to shop something we go the lobby shops or outside the hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed rooms on higher levels for the beautiful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Björn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Björn,

Thank you for your time in writing about your holidays in Bahia Principe Tenerife and recommending it to other families.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the buffet restaurant with the great variation, the friendly staff, the children activities and the lovely grounds.

However, we would to apologize for not having achieved a high level of satisfaction in the a la carte restaurants, the snack bar and the entertainment in the pool areas. We have informed the heads of these areas to supervise it and take correctives measures if necessary.

We hope to welcome you once again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Anja Kruse
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adeje
2.8 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
6.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#25 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
#2 of 2 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
2.9 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Principe Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe Tenerife

Property: Bahia Principe Tenerife
Address: Calle Idafe s/n, 38678, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Adeje
#12 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#14 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#19 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools and outdoor Jacuzzi pool Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel) Sun terrace Sauna (additional charge) Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym and squash court (at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel), sports courts Restaurants Bars Wifi (no additional charge) Meeting and convention room Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 215 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Junior Suite with sea views and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub, shower, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini bar Wifi (no additional charge) Junior Suite: Hydromassage bath tub, telephone in bathroom, sofa, sitting area Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required Mini Golf. Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Laundry (additional service) Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Incentive and convention service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Bahia Principe Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing