We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2013 - But standards showing signs of slipping (Just)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Still overall excellent hotel and a great place for a family holiday. This was out tenth time and I arrived back in the early hours of Saturday morning and went straight down to the travel agents to book it for next year, so I am a huge fan. Feel a bit critical saying signs of slipping, but more cutbacks I suppose in the current economic climate. Maybe less staff and not quite as much choice of food, but still more than enough. The beer taps used to be self service but now have been turned around in the pool bar which takes ages to be served as only 1 member of staff on. The entertainment is still the same old in the evening with fewer professional acts. Have just stopped going down to the 'Square' to look at now. The 'La Fiesta' only opens at 11.30pm now and I used to like to sit out at the side of La Fiesta and have a relaxing drink and let the children enjoy the show in the square whilst we enjoyed the peacefulness which normally offered a slight breeze. I think I missed this the most. However, pay David a visit at the Sports Bar which is a pay bar and not all inclusive, but offers all the main sports and doesnt put the arm in for his drinks which are of a high quality. If you are a family and are happy not to go out walking around shops or a promenade in the evening and want a sae environment for your kids, this is definetly the place to go. I love it and cant wait to return again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel and for being a fan.

Having visited the hotel for 10 times, your experience is especially valuable for us, as you can give us feedback along the time.

We have carefully read your remarks and they will be taken into account by the General Manager.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year,

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,933 - 1,939 of 3,638 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Having just returned from the Hotel, would like to let anyone who is thinking of travelling there......DEFINATELY GO!! This is my 2nd visit, first time I stayed in The Gran Bahia Principe Adeje and on my 2nd visit the Tenerife. Myself and partner debated which one was better..........still cannot decide, the Tenerife have larger rooms and is less hilly and not so far a walk to get to the Restaurants, if you have any sort of walking difficulties I would suggest the Tenerife.....The Adeje has a fabulous snack bar and Infinity Pool..... other than that it is pretty much of a muchness!!! The hotel is immaculately clean, the food is probably one of the best All Inclusive's I have been too in Europe...and I have been to a few.........the Food is fantastic and the 5 A La Carte restaurant makes you feel as if you are eating in a different restaurant every second night...please book these as soon as you arrive. My favourite was the Mexican & Asian but the 3 others were also good and you get 6 visits per 2 week stay. The drinks are also good.......don't like the plastic glasses in the Square and think they need a bar which serves drinks there as you have to carry them from the hotel then swap your drinks into plastic glasses.....frosted slim ones... but can understand the reason due to loads of young children running about. The hotel has everything covered, very very busy areas which suits families with young kids and quieter adult areas that you can escape from the children. The hotel is very isolated but buses run from the top of the road and can connect you with the whole island, there is also a sandy beach which is a 25 min walk or 4 euros in a taxi, called El Portito which is idyllic and the luxury cruisers, catamarans etc all come into the beach so fabulous to watch and rock pools to explore for the kids.......a Bar/Restaurant as well if you fancy a cold drink. Most people that I spoke to were on at least their 2nd visit and planning to book again for next year when they come home. We are seriously considering doing this too.

All in all, an excellent, well run Hotel, with extremely helpful reception staff who will try their best to answer any question you may have.

Room Tip: choose a low floor as sometimes you need to take 2 lifts or 2 sets of stairs to get to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leeski21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing a review about Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel recommending it to other travellers.

We appreciate your positive comments on the hotel facilities, the themed restaurants and the helpful staff.

It will be a pleasure to see you again,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Tenerife.

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel before and was not disappointed at the continued excellent service/surroundings etc provided here. Quality of rooms excellent -slightly disappointed at not getting poolside room particularly as a returning customer but on the plus side, the balcony was completely private and quiet. Quality and variety of food was excellent and all the staff worked tirelessly round the clock to make everyone's holiday special.
Early in our stay there was a horrible incident with a hound child who almost drowned in the pool. The lifeguard reacted immediately and saved the child's life - I cannot commend him highly enough on his bravery and commitment. My confidence in the hotel was actually further increased as a result of this.

Room Tip: 2 hotel sites based across the road from each other - 1 bigger than the other. I've been in smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneBroughtyFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Lynne,

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience in Bahia Principe Tenerife with all Tripadvisor users.

We are happy to know that our hotel has met your expectations once again because of well-maintained facilities and the great service given by our hard-working staff.

We have passed on the lifeguard your congratulations for his brave performance at saving the little boy’s life. We appreciate your recognition, as this will really encourage him to keep on doing his great job.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all inclusive hotels in Tenerife.

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Visited 28.6 - 9.7.13 with a party of 9. 4 of us stayed at the adeje hotel though. We were returning for the 3rd time so expected the same very high standards as before.

The staff has been more than halved! The restaurant was abit of a disaster at times with us having 3 courses of dishes sitting on our table which resulted in 15 dishes! Not one person made an effort to move these despite passing by us to fill up Spanish holiday makers wine glasses. One night had to report the head waiter for his attitude as he wasn't happy as we moved tables due to person not moving enough behind us to let us in and out. He totally denied shaking his head and questioning our move....what can you do? Food great as usual although my husband swears less choice but I gained 6lbs.

Spotless clean yet again and not a beastie in sight in our rooms etc, well done cleaning staff yet again.

The poor lady at the pool bar at the Tenerife bar was under pressure to serve all day and it was terrible for her. There should have been 2 serving there. At the costa adeje pool bar the food was abit dire at times, chicken cold inside etc and the fat needing changed when cooking things, fell they were getting a bit complacent and attitude abit 'who cares', which was never the case before.

Our friends stayed in the costa adeje hotel and had to put up with 11 nites of sewerage smell which was overwhelming to be honest. They complained 3 times and were never moved and they paid nearly £4000 for this holiday for 2 rooms (2 adults, 2 kids). It was awful and not expected at this hotel. Staff in the whole were not as happy nor as attentive as before but this is obviously down to the whole politics of the staff cuts which is understandable but we are still paying top whack to go here and the hotel was completely full on our arrival so don't understand cut backs as they are not suffering in this way. This hotel never drops in price at anytime of the year as been in October twice and in June.

We missed Abel for his happy go lucky attitude and was shocked to see stag and hen parties in this family hotel now. They didn't cause any harm but language etc was being raised and it wasn't for young kids to hear as they drank more and more in all inclusive. Its beyond us why parties of this kind would want to go to a hotel MILES from anywhere?? It did give the impression of drink yourself silly and shout as loud as you can. This was never done when we were here before. Staff just seemed to have given up really, yeh they do their jobs but personality, atmosphere or discipline either as there were incidents we saw that should have been taken into hand by staff and were not.

Still find it disgraceful that men have to wear long trousers to dinner when women can wear shorts showing butt cheeks and chests hanging out all over the joint and they get in. Even if dress 3/4 lengths permitted as it was really hot when we were there it would make meal times more enjoyable as they were not putting on air conditioning in the main restaurant either! The sweat was running down our backs some nights and they never opened all the doors that they could??? Crazy even staff were wiping their browes.

Had a great holiday but we wont return to here unless for a lazy week outwith peak times as the Hotel NEEDS TO GET A BIG GRIP on the sunbed carry on!!!!!!!! I had to set my alarm for 7am every morning!! I am not even up for work a this time!!!! It was a total disgrace, if you were later than say 7.30am there were not beds and certainly not an umbrella which was needed due to the intense heat at peak times of the day. We heard that staff would remove towels unguarded before 8am but during my 11 days there never saw this once and I was sitting there from 7am every morning! Its not a relaxing break when you have to get p to do this and end up sleeping half the day beside the pool to catch up with sleep and try to rewind after working hard all year.

We visited the spa for a full body massage 55euro each and enjoyed this. Went into Las Americas on the free bus and got the standard bus back but that took over an hour so try and wait for the returning hotel bus.

The shows were much better this time as they are buying more shows in and animation has been contracted out too (it was okay but just okay) could interact with kids more at the Tenerife side as we sat out in the adeje hotel a few days and it was much more entertainment based for kids etc, better atmosphere at the poolside etc but tiles were very dangerous when wet!! What makes a hotel put tiles all around a poolside??? We saw many people slip.

Hope you have a great holiday. It is a exceedingly clean hotel, good food and drink etc but just lacking now. Think they have taken the eye off the ball alittle and poor staff levels effecting existing staff way too much. This should be looked at Bahia! Along with the ignorant restaurant (older guy at the door). A smile costs nothing, clear the tables and create a good atmosphere again.

Oh, our friends went mad on the last day re sewerage smell etc and they have been promised gold bands and superior room upgrades on their next visit! This should have been done whilst there as they already have next years holiday planned. We have recommended this hotel loads of times which I don't like doing as not everyone has the same tastes etc but no-one ever came back disappointed, except us this time as we could compare to the past visits. Enjoyed it but we need a change next year.
Linda x

Room Tip: We have had the smallest room we ever had here, don't know if its because we boked through trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kava6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments about your recent holiday in Bahia Principe Tenerife.

We are very sorry to hear that this last experience has not been as positive as your previous ones. We have carefully read your review and have forwarded it to the different departments and to the General Manager for supervision, as the opinion of our guests always helps us to improve.

Hoping you will give us one more chance to welcome you at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

didnt stay on dates given.stayed twice one in 2006 and again in 2010. All I can say is no other hotel has met our experience here. Food was okay but im fussy. Entertainment cleanliness and over all entertainment is outstanding. Hope to b here in 2014. Thanks for the great memories we have taken and see u next year

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gareth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Gareth,

Thanks a lot for posting on TripAdvisor your positive experience at Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

It is a great pride to read that you keep great memories of your holidays after each visit to the hotel and that no other hotel has exceeded your experience here.

Hoping to welcome you many more times.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Tenerife.

Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here from 21st June for 2 weeks AI - I travelled with my husband and two young children. It is a lovely hotel , very clean , fantastic food in buffet restaurant and in all of the 5 al a carte restaurants also. The staff were friendly and helpful too BUT you need to set your alarm to get up for a sunbed with a parasol. I didnt feel there was a shortage of sunbeds but definately a shortage of parasols which is essential with 2 young children. On one occaision I went to pool at 8.05am and there were no parasols available - hardly anyone at pool but they had all been reserved . I noted from a previous tripadvisor review that the management had stated there are usually some set aside for those who need them but when I reported this to reception this was not the case . Also there is no bar in the entertainment square until 10pm (after the entertainment finishes) unless you want to use the pay sports bar or head back to the hotel for a drink. However havng said that i was still very impressed by this hotel and we did have a fantastic family holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hastiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you for your time in writing about your lovely experience at Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

It is a great honour for all the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Team to hear that you were very impressed with the hotel and you had a fantastic time.

We would like to apologise if you had some difficulties to find umbrellas. The hotel is fully booked at the moment so we do not keep any aside, but we have them all available at the swimming-pool area. We will also get a new load of umbrellas very soon, as we are constantly renewing them.

It would be a pleasure to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have just returned having spent 2 weeks at the Bahia Principe Tenerife. My comments are:

1. Great selection of food and quality was good, however we did find that on many occasions the warm cooked foods soon lost their heat and ended up cold dishes as soon as they were put on your plate. The themed nights gave variety which was needed otherwise it would have become quite repetitive and bland. The al a carte restaurants - Italian was our favorite - staff very pleasant and eager to please assist. The Spanish was good but the food was not the best but service was above average again. We tried the canarian one but it did not suit - cold buffet and meals much revolving around fish did not suit our palate - plus seeing the sparrows chomping at the buffet put us all off eating it!!!
Food around the pool ect... is ok if you like burgers/crisps ect... but beware as many just delve in with their grubby hands even though there are serving utensils. My only other gripe is why does nowhere serve anything else other than diet coke - how about sprite light please.

2. Cleanliness - I will say that apart from the mysterious hairs in the bath on arrival the maids did a great job and the towel sculptures were quite amazing. Maybe giving the floor a good mopping once a week would be beneficial! Saw no bugs or creepy crawlies throughout the stay.

3. Sunbeds - if you cannot beat them join them is what I was told. It frustrated and annoyed me that in a 5 star establishment this practice goes on. I had to be up at 06:45hrs to claim a space every day of my 2 weeks - so much for a lay in. Sunbeds by the pool are so close together it can feel that you are sleeping with a complete stranger - this did not trouble us as we ensures that we moved away from this area as it was quieter on the peripheries. Parasols, again up early to get one and why people tie things around to stake a claim that they own them is beyond me - but you need one as the temperature in the afternoon and be quite unbearable. The management knew all about this and do little to nothing to sort it out - I even saw 5 sunbeds with towels on from 07:00 - 17:00hrs whereby they were never used yet the management never removed them.

4. Location - isolated and nothing to do - no beach as such - nearest one used primarily by the locals so did not venture to it. My failing here is I should have researched it before going - hold my hands up to that. There is a free bus service to Playa but book early, busus do run from the top of the road and a taxi will cost you 20 - 25 euros each way. So if laying and chilling on a sunbed is what you are after then hey presto this would suit.

5. Extra hidden costs - WiFi is available but at 25 euros a week - a complete rip off in this day and age. Towels and safe key an extra 10 euro deposit.

All in all a nice hotel but for me personally due to issues not really a 5 star establishment. Would I go back - No - but that is my personal view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28NickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for review about your recent stay at Bahia Principe Tenerife hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments on the great selection of food and the high levels of cleanliness.

We are very sorry if we have not achieved your expectations on other aspects of your holidays, as getting the best satisfaction of our guests is always our main goal. We have sent your remark on the sunbeds situation to the General Manager for his consideration.

We would like to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Bahia Principe Tenerife Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adeje
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
2.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#22 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,175 reviews
3.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#13 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,759 reviews
24.8 mi away
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Bahia Principe San Felipe
#6 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Principe Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe Tenerife

Address: Calle Idafe s/n, 38678, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Adeje
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#12 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#17 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#24 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
Price Range: $185 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools and outdoor Jacuzzi pool Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel) Sun terrace Sauna (additional charge) Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym and squash court (at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel), sports courts Restaurants Bars Wifi (lobby) Meeting and convention room Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 215 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Junior Suite with sea views and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub, shower, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini bar Wifi (additional charge) Junior Suite: Hydromassage bath tub, telephone in bathroom, sofa, sitting area Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required Mini Golf. Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Laundry (additional service) Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Incentive and convention service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Bahia Principe Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing