We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent first time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Principe Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent first time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is great.
I would recommend if you like nice food, it's the first all inclusive me and my partner have been on where we aren't dreading the food at each meal time and ended up eating out.
It is in the middle of no where but that's what I wanted to just lay round the pool all day, although my partner likes to go for a walk and see some sights, you can't really do that there as it is extremely hilly.
My 2yr old son loved it, the pool was a bit cold for him but once u were in it was fine. He also loved the kids entertainment on a night.
My only bad sides to this holiday was when we went to book the resteraunts for the evening the bookings opened at 10.30am and the rude woman who we booked them through would not even make eye contact with me while I waited, at 10.40am I politely asked when she would be ready to take my booking and she put her hand up as if to say shut up then carried on doing whatever she was doing still not looking at me, after waiting for 15 mins she finally looked at me and took my booking. My advise don't go at 10.30 to book as they open whenever they want!!!!
Apart from this I was very happy and would advise anyone to go here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmaf1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for having chosen once again Bahía Príncipe Tenerife to spend your holidays.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you would recommend it to others.

We would like to apologise on behalf of the Public Relations officer if she could not take your bookings straight away and if you did not like her manners, but she did not mean to be rude at all, so she is very sorry if you had this feeling. We agree that most guests accept waiting for a few minutes if it is asked with big a smile and this is the way we always do in Bahía Príncipe.

Hoping to welcome you many more times.


Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,873
    1,011
    303
    84
    53
See reviews for
1,394
1,319
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from our third visit to the Bahia Principe Tenerife. If you want a relaxing, peaceful holiday this is your place. The location is quite remote but this is part of its appeal to many people who return year after year. There are places to walk - a lovely little cove 20 minutes to the left of the hotel as you look out to sea and quite a longer, pleasant walk to the right passing a couple of nice bars before reaching the promenade. The food is excellent - the Italian and Mexican restaurants have greatly improved since last year. The staff are very helpful especially Kenneth (waiter) who was most helpful, cheerful and entertained young and old alike ~(he also has a lovely dog called Keira)! If it's a busy energetic hotel you're after this may not be for you but for many of us who return time and again it is nearly perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patkennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review about Bahía Príncipe Tenerife and for giving us your feedback, which we really appreciate.

It is a pleasure to know that even the location of the hotel has an appeal for you and that you have found nice walks on the hotel surroundings.

We are excited to know that you have noticed some improvements in the Italian and Mexican restaurants. In Bahía Príncipe we are constantly thinking of new ways to achieve higher levels of satisfaction of our guests and it is very important for us to know that you appreciate those changes.

Hoping you will return for a fourth visit.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

we have just returned from a week at this hotel and on the whole found it very good the food was very good in buffett and others . every where was clean rooms huge staff great cant realy fault it apaert from a couple of very small points 1/ air conditioning not good enough in rooms espesialy the bathrooms as no windows or public areas so you do tend to sweat a lot . 2/ umbrelas around the pool just not enough . 3/ more buses to las americas even pay ones as you do need to get out of the hotel as it is so remote there is nothing out side the complex at all .

Room Tip: some rooms such as ours had large belconies so ask if you want on e
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Bahía Príncipe Tenerife.

We are glad to know that you had a great holiday in our hotel and that you enjoyed the food, the cleanliness and friendliness of our staff.

We are sorry to know that you did not find the hotel location suitable for you. Apart from the hotel shuttle buses and the taxis, there is a public bus running every half an hour to Las Américas and Los Cristianos from the top of the hotel an it is very cheap.

We have passed your comments on the air conditioning to the Technical Supervisor to check the temperature in the rooms and the public areas. Thank you for your feedback.

Hoping to welcome you in the future.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just got back from a one week stay. we cannot fault the hotel we stayed on the tenerife side.

We had room 11303 which was perfect we had a great sea and pool view i had requested a mid floor and thats what we got. the room was very clean and spacious and the maid made a elephant and a bird from the towels which my 10 year old daughter loved.

We never had a problem getting a sunbed and umbrella even when we went later after going on a trip. we went on the submarine safaris which was brilliant.

Yes it is remote with no beach but if you research before you book you will know this.the location is just beautiful with stunning sea views. we took a taxi into costa adeje it was 15euro each way.

The food was excellant in the buffet restaurant plenty of choice i had meat veg and gravy most nights top quality. There is also plenty of salad pizza rice pasta breads. i had cheese and crackers after my main most nights but the puddings are plentiful. we only visited the mexican which was great i had the veal which was cooked to perfection medium rare my husband and daughter had fajitas which were great too.

All in all the room food service everything was great the staff were very good and do a great job and work hard to make sure you have a great holiday. i cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzaex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your review about your recent family holiday in our hotel. Thank you very much.

We are happy to hear that you we could meet your room requests and that you found your room to be perfect. It is also great to know that your daughter loved the animals that your maid made with the towels. We have passed your kind words to all the maids because they are real artists.

It is fantastic to know that you did not have any difficulty to find sunbeds or umbrellas and that you enjoyed the food in the different restaurants.

We hope to welcome you once again.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

First of all we stayed in the Bahia Principe Tenerife which is not the same complex as the Bahia Principe Cost Adeje however they are linked together and you are able (and do use) facilities on both sites. Just to be clear, the Tenerife is slightly higher up the hill and the Tenerife has the infinity pool at its end, next to the sea. However there is no sandy beach here on this stretch of the coast. Some express a concern about its remote location from the centre of Las Americas and Christianos however there is free courtesy bus running 12 and back at 6pm or take the local bus service which stops 100m from the hotel Costa Adeje. Also for 5eu the pay bus runs from the hotel also.
This hotel has an excellent modern interior with a nice breakfast terrace. The food was really excellent and the service in the bars and restaurants was top class as well. There is a main pool and kids pool on the Adeje complex with further pools (inc infinity) on the Cost Adeje site. as is the spa.
Free drinks are placed on a table next to the main bar to help your self –wine, sangria, sprite etc. or visit the bar as well. Also tea and coffee available from the machine in the main bar.
We stayed for 7 days which entitles you to 3 bookings at specialty restaurants and we did Italian, Mexican and Oriental (mainly Chinese). These were all really good with a self-service starter buffet and one main course served.
We had a top floor room with a really good view of the sea and the Adeje complex. A basic room has a good balcony with 2 chairs and table. There is limited UK TV with slightly snowy reception on some channels. Also the sports bar on the Adeje site shows al the football and key TV e.g. X Factor and they have 3 sets for different matches etc. However this is a pay bar and not included but pretty much everything else is included.
Personally the issues I have with my stay are:
1) Not enough umbrellas to go around.
2) If a wind blows a man comes around and puts the umbrellas down with no explanation.If you put the umbrella back up he returns with a security guard! Quite pathetic. Especially for families with young children or older guests.
3) Uncomfortable sun loungers – certainly I couldn’t relax on them. Some broke whilst people adjusted them. Also the Adeje complex loungers are filthy i.e. black with dirt.
4) The beds in the rooms are no better than the sun loungers.
5) We found the reception staff rude and unhelpful.
6) A safe will cost you 35 euros to use i.e. not a deposit but a charge.
7) Check in is rushed and unhelpful.
8) You only get one towel and there is a deposit.
9) From 8pm till 11pm the Adeje complex hosts entertainment and disco that can only be compared to an AC/DC concert. If you wish to relax on your balcony it’s out of the question during these times.
10) We tried to watch TV in the sports bar – which is a pay bar i.e. 2eu for a pint of Carling and the noise was so loud we left, along with everyone else after one drink. Even the staff complained that the animation team appeared to run the hotel rather than the management. One night I tried to watch TV but the disco still drowned it out.
11) The Jacuzzi next to the pool is cold. Does anyone want a cold jacuzzi?

Unfortunately these issues arise from lazy ineffective management.

I would not return to this hotel which is a shame as the food is top class and most of the staff are very friendly and the interior public areas are excellent.

Room Tip: On the basis that the bed was so bad I can't offer advise as to hot to obtain a better one. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your review about Bahía Príncipe Tenerife and for giving us your feedback, which we really appreciate and take it into account.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed many aspects of your holidays such as our excellent facilities, the quality of the food & beverage in the different bars and restaurants and the lovely views from your room.

We would like to apologise for those other areas where we have not met your expectations. We understand that you can be a little bit upset, but we would like to point out that the Management has a very active role in this hotel in order to give the best possible service to all our guests. We have different action plans taking place at the moment, for example renewing the mattresses, the umbrellas and the sunbeds.

On the other side, the reason why the umbrellas were removed on that day was due to a wind alert situation. We are very sorry if you were annoyed, but we were only thinking of our guests security, as we had been warned that it could get very dangerous.

We would really like you to give us one more opportunity to welcome you in our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact us for further information about the hotel and / or our current action plans.


Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just returned home after a family holiday at the Bahia in Playa Paraiso. This was our third vist to this Bahia resort and out fourth visit to a Bahia hotel.The staff were very friendly,helpful and obliging especially Jose in the Italian restaurant who made our evening extra special by his excellent service and friendly demeanour.
With our previous visits we had expectations of the hotel and we were not disappointed with several aspects having improved since our last visit. The animation team and evening entertainments had vastly improved. These improvements were also reflected in the Italian restaurant which had a better menu and ambience.
The food at this hotel is excellent which ever restaurant you chose to dine in. There was plenty of choice to cater for every taste.
The hotel, the gardens and the pool side are very clean and immaculately presented.
This hotel is well worth a visit and we have already booked our next stay at this hotel for next year.
This view is also shared by other family members who now alsio regularly use this hotel also. Linda and Craig Stackhouse. Lancashire.UK

Room Tip: This resort is split into two hotels with the top hotel consisting of rooms which are mainly junior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Linda and Graig,

Thank you for your time in writing about Bahía Príncipe Tenerife.

We are delighted to hear that your experience in your third visit to our hotel has been even better than the previous ones. It is very encouraging for the hotel Management and for All the Staff to know that you have valued our daily effort to improve the level of satisfaction of our guests. We are glad that you have enjoyed the new activities and shows of our Entertainment program and the changes in the Italian restaurant.

It would be a pleasure to see you again in Bahía Príncipe.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just arrived back home from one weeks holiday at the Bahia. Myself, Husband, brother, sister in law and Mum and Dad. This was our 6th stay at the Bahia Principe, but our 1st in the Tenerife side. We decided on this side as it is smaller and much flatter for myself and my dad to get around. On arrival we were greeted and checked in quickly, and our luggage was taken to our rooms. We had our requests for ground floor rooms fulfilled, and was even upgraded to junior suites, which was really nice. Our air conditioning was not working, but it was fixed very quickly. The food was great and the a la carte restaurants were very good, our favourite was the Asian. There were plenty of sunbeds, we never struggled for a seat anywhere. Towels were supplied for a 10 euro deposit, and you can swap them for clean ones each day. Our rooms were cleaned daily, and the maid was lovely. The gardens are pristine, as was the hotel itself. The whole place was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a special mention to Petra and Kuba who worked hard to keep the entertainment going, and made us laugh. It's fair to say the hotel is in a slightly isolated location, but there is a free bus to las americas, and cheap local transport. We just go for a chill out week, so it doesn't matter so much to us. We are booking to go next September, and we will be going back to the Tenerife side again. Thanks Bahia, we had a lovely time and you delivered once again !!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have more of a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blueang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nélida P, Customer Service Manager at Bahia Principe Tenerife, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review about your lovely 6th holiday in our hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that the whole family has enjoyed it and that you found Bahía Príncipe Tenerife hotel a better option for this visit. After all, you can also use the facilities of Bahía Príncipe Costa Adeje....

We are glad that the Reception has quickly sorted your problems with the air conditioning in your room and that you were upgraded to a Junior Suite room.

We will pass your comments to Petra and Kuba from the Entertainment Team. They really make an effort to amuse everybody in the hotel.

Hoping to welcome you next September.

Best Regards,
Nélida Palacios de Luis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adeje
2.8 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
6.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#25 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
#2 of 2 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
2.9 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Principe Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe Tenerife

Property: Bahia Principe Tenerife
Address: Calle Idafe s/n, 38678, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Adeje
#12 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#13 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#18 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools and outdoor Jacuzzi pool Jacuzzi (at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel) Sun terrace Sauna (additional charge) Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym and squash court (at the Bahia Principe Costa Adeje hotel), sports courts Restaurants Bars Wifi (no additional charge) Meeting and convention room Pueblo Principe: live music, shows, sports bar, karaoke, cabaret and disco Rooms 215 rooms including 3 types: Standard, Junior Suite with sea views and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 single beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub, shower, 2 wash basins, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Safe (additional charge) Mini bar Wifi (no additional charge) Junior Suite: Hydromassage bath tub, telephone in bathroom, sofa, sitting area Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required Mini Golf. Other services 24 hour medical service (additional service) Laundry (additional service) Shuttle bus to Playa de las Americas (one trip per day included in the booking fee) Incentive and convention service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Bahia Principe Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing