We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid New Year”
Review of Hotel Riu Arecas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Arecas
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spent New Year at this hotel and would just like to warn people of New Year noise. after a lovely dinner and evening in hotel returned to our room just after midnight to booming music from the square at La caleta. The noise could have easily equalled Glastonbury or any outdoor rock festival.It finally finished at 6.08am. Then the noise of people in the hotel started at 8am so we had in total 2hrs sleep. If the locals want to celebrate new year until 6am that is fine by me but to have it forced upon you is not acceptable.Not only did it affect all rooms overlooking the church at La Caleta but also the back of the Rui princess, the Sheraton and the Costa Adeje Palace. There seems to be lots of wasteland around that could have been used instead of ruining lots of peoples new years day.Everyone was complaining about it the next day. Perhaps management could have warned guests as it is an annual event. On a positive note we found the food good, staff friendly and location excellent. The animation despite being advertised was non existant.
I would also agree with other reviews that the hotel was full of older guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunSea001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We first visited this hotel in April 2013 and we came here for a week in December just before Christmas and I have to say that the food in the restaurant has improved greatly since April. The staff are fantastic and even though the hotel was full the reception staff always had time for everyone and very professional. All the staff make your stay lovely and it makes you want to go back again.

The surroundings of the hotel are kept immaculate and I even saw the pool cleaner in a wet suit examining the sides and bottom of the pool. This hotel was filled with people if all ages and as Christmas drew nearer a lot of families with children arrived. My only negative comment is the bathroom it could do with an upgrade, shower curtains are awful as they stick to you when showering and the bath looked quite old. The room was very nice and the beds really comfortable, we were on the lower floor overlooking the gardens and people complain about these rooms but there is nothing wrong with them, and we liked watching people doing aerobics in the morning.
Overall I would definitely stay in this hotel again and also the price if drinks is no dearer than outside in bars plus the measures are very generous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ceejay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

First visit to this hotel. Definitely wont be the last. Staff, food, facilities exceptional. Hotel needs a bit of decoration but that has already been planned so all to the good. I broke my right wrist just before travelling but whenever a member of staff saw me arrive in the restaurant they offered assistance in getting food or even cutting up my food if required. Amazing service. One member of staff, a gentleman named ANGEL was exceptional. We asked for a low floor and we were granted that so we had a lovely garden view. If we stood on a stool we could see the pool but that didnt matter. Both husband and myself would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a mattress topper as the beds are a bit hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Overall, this place was ok we found...but just 'ok'...think if you paid a few hundred pounds per person you'd be happy, but four times that (yes I know its for the time of year), we wanted and expected more.We too emailed the hotel ahead to request a specific location which was not granted, I dont think anyone takes it for certain they are going to get that room, its just that alot of trip advisor contributors recommend it and therefore its just to let you all know not to expect it to be granted. Found food ok, wasnt blown away and agree with review that it was lukewarm and have had better elsewhere with more variety, also previous reviews states that rooms have been upgraded to include flatscreens?? Ours wasnt! And we also had a balcony so tiny that there was no room for sunlounger, would have thought this was a requirement in a 4*, we do like to retire to our room late afternoon for me to have a nap away from the heat and my wife to carry on her sunbathing outside so was surprised not to have this as a basic feature. Location okay, agree with a previous reviewer thats its more the 'dead end' of town, ok for families and older generations but couples looking for peace and quiet in the day - great - but seeking a bit more 'life' at night, expect a trek! Bar Salon not great, entertainment boring...Yes the place is clean, its just very dated and has an almost old fashioned feel, which might appeal to some people just not our thing! Brussell sprouts were rolled out from evening menu to breakfast and back again...cava was only served for breakfast the day after New Years Gala meal....i.e leftover!! Staff generally seemed friendly but then didnt really have much dealings with them, the usual 'morning' when passing by reception and that was it. Have to say we wouldnt be bothered about staying again nor go out of our way to recommend and have definately stayed in better four star hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicknDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

On reading recommendations from other trip advisor contributors prior to our stay, we emailed the hotel requesting a high room - unfortunately this request was not granted, we were on the second floor, in room 2031 which was small, basic, set back on the roof of the floor below so little view & overlooked by the other rooms sharing our 'cul-de-sac' position. We couldve coped with this but a 2ft sticky mark on the carpet by the bed nearest the wardrobes & the late night/early morning thundering of trollies etc prompted us to speak to reception to request a room change - receptionist Nura was rude, acting shocked at our request & even commenting we had 'one of the best rooms' - scary thought! We said we appreciated the hotel was busy but for the price paid for one week half board, a sticky filthy carpet was far from acceptable & merely requested a room change when available...still appearing annoyed, she told us it would be a few days...however later that day we received word another room was available, 1055. The staff were great in moving our belongings for us. Room was no better noise wise, but a cleaner carpet. On talking to another couple round the pool, we discovered that far from our original room being 'one of the best', it appears that rooms on floor 3 had carpeted corridors for noise reduction, double sinks, robes, balconies with table chairs AND sunloungers, all luxuries we would expect from a 4* yet never encounted in either room.

Food wasnt great, breakfast was ok but evening meal was repetitive beyond belief, so much so that we could not face the same luke warm offerings for the last two nights & ate out. New Years Eve meal was nice enough although we noticed that the left over mussels & fresh salmon etc that only appeared at the gala meal were then rolled out for breakfast & dinner over the next two days!

Beds are awful, rock hard & paper thin pillows, two cushions provided which we used to try & bolster up the pillow height.

Waiters & waitresses all very friendly, pool area nice, pool not heated & v cold! Used gym at Riu Palace....about 6 peices of equipment at best...

We were both left hugely disappointed with the hotel and as a couple in our early 30's, we noticed it was far more popular with the older generation. Overall would not recommend, wont be staying again & has only served to make us appreciate how lucky we have been with other 4* hotels in the canaries in comparison to Riu Arecas!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShellnMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I have just retuned from the Arecas (26 Dec) and after our 4 the visit we had a fantastic holiday. The Arecas has many people who come back year after year, great location, staff and the food is excellent. We arrived just as major storms were finishing and some water had come through the ceiling, the Arecas is looking tired in the rooms with numerous cracks and scratches but this does the detract anyone. The food sculptures on Christmas Day were fantastic and all praise to the kitchen staff for their efforts. Christmas Day we had free wine, champagne and water, as well as a great meal.
We met fantastic people who hopefully will meet again. If you want a great holiday in a lovely quiet location the Riu Arecas has become one of the best hotels for older clients. We will hopefully book up for next Christmas and see old friends.

Room Tip: We always request a top floor in the main building facing the sea, fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rowie146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel and won't be our last. Friendly helpful staff, good location, very clean everywhere and a feeling of relaxation from the moment we arrived.

Lovely promenade to walk along and an excellent sandy beach with great sun-beds.

The only negatives we found were that the rooms need a re-vamp, the towels in the bathroom need replacing as very thin and the evening meal times are a bit hectic although the food was fantastic with an amazing choice.

We will be back soon! Thank you for a lovely stay and the sea view that we requested.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldcharity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adeje
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
20.2 mi away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#52 of 387 in Tenerife
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,226 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Arecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Arecas

Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Playa del Duque, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#41 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
Price Range: $168 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Arecas 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2015 and reopened as an Adults Only hotel. Located on Costa de Adeje. 250 M from Playa del Duque beach (several steps lead to the beach). 1.5 Km from various shops. 22 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Arecas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Arecas Adeje
Riu Arecas Hotel Adeje
Hotel Riu Arecas Tenerife/Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing