We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Had a great 2 week stay at this very lovely hotel. We had room 433 right at the centre of the hotel with great views out to sea and up and down the coast and over the very beautiful grounds. The room, food, service and staff were just excellent. Plent of sunbeds and parasols, two great pools, no poolside music! It is a about a 20 minute walk to get to the more lively area of Adeje but it is a pleasant and quite flat walk. If only staying for a week you would probably be happy with what the hotel has to offer but for 2 weeks you might well want to do the walk. If you want to relax in great surroundings this is the place for you. Drink is a little on the expensive side but so would any other hotel of this quality - pint of beer 3.6 euros, gin and tonic 6 euros - but a lovely place to sit and drink. We thought the nighttime entertainment was very good, there was no daytime entertainment. Nothing for children at this hotel so if travelling with children probably not for you. Whilst we were there the majority of the guests appeared to be German, although there was also French, Dutch, Russian, Swedish and Brits.
We used the Krystal Al La Carte restaurant one night (no extra charge) and it was just wonderful, if you visit this hotel do use the Krystal.
Lunchtimes we used to walk to one of three bars (2 spanish, 1 UK) two minutes from the hotel to get a pint (1.5 euros) and a toasted sandwich (2.5 euros) and to pick up water from the supermarket. With the amount of food on offer at the hotel a toasted sandwich is all you would probably need lunchtime. There is a great poolside bar and restaurant at the hotel but after lazing on the sunbeds for a couple of hours we quite liked a short walk.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raydenham725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    324
    89
    21
    9
See reviews for
314
944
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We paid extra for a bigger room and ended up in the basement with a brickwall as view. Aircon not working very well /at all and it´s not acceptable, we tried to change room with out result. Cell phones were not working in the /outide the room and neither internet. Never again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrinaferilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This is a good 4* hotel in a beautiful location in the south of Tenerife. The breakfast buffet and evening meal buffet are varied and generally of good quality. The only problem is the set times for dinner of 6pm. and 8pm. are inflexible and inconvenient when on holiday. All of their competitor hotels in the area have much wider times for dinner of between 6.30 and approx. 10pm. However, the Riu Palace's "secret" is The Krystal restaurant. For no extra charge-but only by pre-booking up to 48 hours in advance, one can dine in this restaurant where the ambiance and quality of food and service is of 5* + standard. The restaurant only has room for 26 covers and when we ate there 5 times during our 14 day stay, it was never full! Why?
Our main gripe about this hotel was the air conditioning-or lack thereof!. This Riu is a modern hotel built within the last 5-6 years but chooses to turn the aircon OFF from 2am until 2pm!! During our stay the temperature never fell below 26deg.C. and it was very uncomfortable during the 12 hours when this is switched off. When complaining to management we were told that this is Riu policy set by HO in Majorca and nothing could be done! We were told that this policy also operated during the much hotter summer months. We would not have liked to have been there then!
Overall, this hotel offered reasonably good value but could be so much better with some improvements to dining times and a sensible operation of the air-con system. Be warned; if you want to be cool at night and at mid-day, think twice about this hotel!
A final point was the comfort of the bed. It was exceedingly hard and was not comparable to other hotels we have stayed at in the same area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcheeseofwrittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My wife and I have just spent the 3rd week of October at this hotel, our first visit. We are very impressed with the whole atmosphere.
The staff are very efficient and friendly. The restaurant has one of the best buffets we have experienced at this 4 star level. Our first room was not satisfactory but after a polite request at reception we were relocated in about one minute with no fuss. If you want evening sun on your balcony, when booking request a room between 38 and 48. ie: 440 will give you room 40 on floor 4. The air con in our room was quiet and adequate. The bed was a tad hard but we slept well. There are no tea making facilities in any room and no lights on the balcony if you wish to have a late night read before retiring.
The public areas are spacious and clean. the lifts work well and the price of drinks at the various bars are about right for this grade of hotel. There are no ice machines in the hotel but if you require ice for your room just ask at any bar and you will get a generous amount to take up.
The gourmet Krystal restaurant is a roof top glazed small luxury room overlooking the bay. You are allowed one free upgrade into the Krystal per stay. Ask the head waiter for a booking asap because it is popular and only open 5 nights per week. The grounds are spacious also and there are plenty of loungers. The loungers around the pools are a bit too regimented for us but the people from GDR seem to like them! We always went for the hotel beach area with golden sand and much more room around the loungers.
The location of this hotel means there is only a pedestrian promenade between the hotel grounds and the beach.
If you want a lovely atmosphere, great food, superb service and a quiet location this should suit anyone. If you want lively bars and a noisy environment with sports on large screens then it's not for you.
We would not hesitate to go again as soon as we have saved enough pennies.
Jane and Phil

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LincolnshireGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks in September. Its a really nice hotel and the service was excellent. The staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. The food in the restaurant is excellent. There is also a gourmet restaurant called Krystal. It has a set menu with around three different choices. The food was again excellent and it was a change from the buffet. The buffet restaurant also had a menu so you could choose between the buffet or table service. The only complaint I have about this is the layout. The tables are very close together...having said that if you are unhappy with the table choice you can easily change tables. The evening entertainment is poor there were a couple of nights during our stay where the entertainment was brilliant (Joe the sould singer and the Opera man) but the rest of the time a german band called treasure play and they are really awful. The hotel rooms are spacious and well furnished. The bathroom is very dark though. The main problem with this hotel is the air conditioning or lack of it. It was really very nice and warm when we stayed and the rooms just would not stay cool. There was more benefit in leaving the door open at night than having the ac on. The ceiling fan helped a little but it was very poor and unexpected for a hotel of this standard. There is a mini bar in the room but no tea and coffee making facilities. There are plenty of tv channels. There are around 10 hangers in each side of the wardrobe and plenty of draw space. The room comes with a sofa bed and a couple of chairs so quite roomy. The safe is 28 euros for two weeks. The rooms and the hotel are kept very clean. The usual sun bed reserving went on at this hotel despite the signs saying otherwise. However there were always sunbeds availaible and we didn't find this an issue at any time of day. We travelled to Tenerife with Thomson and the rep at the hotel was great. The food around the pool is very good and well priced. The snacks are under the starters which is a little strange. At first glance it looks like the only do large meals until you see the starters where you can have a cheese and ham toastie for around 5 euros or small seafood noodles or spag bol etc. There is free wifi in the lobby bar but it is quite poor and only really works in that area. The drinks are a little expensive but not unexpected for a hotel of this standard.
To sum up this hotel is a typical Riu and is of a very high standard. Its in a good location. Excellent staff and service. Great Food. However it is starting to look a little tired and the air conditioning thoughout the hotel is awful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Hotel definitely tries to be something its not, a 5 star hotel , and the air conditioning is non existant,and the Germans (which is about 80%)are just so bad mannered and rude it has to be seen to be believed but thats the only negatives i can give.The grounds the staff and the food are fine.We definatly found that outside the hotel the spaniards were nowhere near as friendly and just viewed you as a walking euro sign.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starkey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a very relaxing holiday at this hotel. This was not our first time visiting Tenerife but was the first time at this hotel.
We would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to relax and enjoy the fantastic weather.
We were staying on a half board basis and although we did not arrive at the hotel until lat in the evening they provided a cold buffet dinner. The 2 glasses of chilled champagne on arrival was also a nice touch.
Although the room that we were allocated on arrival was not ideal the hotel moved and upgraded us the following morning.
The staff at the hotel are excellent and nothing was ever a problem and any questions that we had were answered quickly, it is also rather impressive that the majority of the staff speak more than one language therefore able to communicate with most guests - something which I have never seen in a UK hotel.
The hotel is also very clean and again the housekeeping staff are friendly - it is a nice touch that each day your bed is made differently and the towels folded in all shapes.
The restaurant offers an excellent choice for both breakfast and lunch catering for everyone's needs.
If anything was to let this hotel down it would be that there is not a food and beverage area that just offers light snacks, the restaurant at the poolside serves "proper lunches" which after a large breakfast can be a little heavy.
Overall we had a fantastic time and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starmix28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#15 of 81 in Adeje
1,412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Playa del Duque, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 9 storey building* Located on the seafront * 21,000 garden * 150 m from Playa del Duque beach * Entertainments and shopping centre are within 1,8 km distance in La Caleta * 22 km from Internacional Airport Reina Sofía Tenerife Sur (TFS) * 150 m from a bus stop * The hotel has been completely refurbished in spring/summer 2015 * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing