We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel puts its guests first.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

On arrival: A complimentary drink at the piano bar whilst our bags were taken to the room. The reception was excellent and as an international hotel they are very helpful.
Restaurant: has 2 sittings so that everyone is allocated their own table and you can then just walk in between your allocated time and you don’t have to cue as with some hotels. There is no problem in changing your time either.
Buses are cheap and a stop just outside the hotel, plus you can tour all over the island for very little. You also have a Saturday market just up the road, so dont worry about travelling to Los Cristianos market.
The hotel itself is beautiful and kept extremely clean. Staff are polite and helpful. The room was what we expected and I did like the sun loungers on the balcony. I had emailed the hotel and asked for a sea view (I understand you have to pay more for this though) but they did give us a side sea view room on the 7th floor. It was very nice as we got the sunset and lets face it, I dont spend my day in the room anyway!
By the pool, even with a lot of people, there is a serene feeling (maybe because its not full of kids) and sun beds are plenty. There is a sister hotel to share with though.
Beware, pricing was inconsistent, so check before ordering as guest have no way to check. Some waiters had to guess the price as they couldnt find it, once we had to pay nearly 10 euro for 2 soft drinks.
Through the private gate you have the sea and a very short walk to a sandy beach. There is not much to do in this area and the shops are expensive so be prepared to travel if you want to explore but for a relaxing and quiet holiday this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CM0rgan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived to be greeted by friendly staff who offered us champagne whilst our passports were processed. We were then shown to a room on the 6th floor, which was clean and well presented. Our bags were brought 5mins later.
Every single member of staff were super friendly, polite and helpful. We stayed half board and thought the choice of food, presentation etc was fab.we enjoyed having breakfast on the sun terrace overlooking the sea. The tables are very close together in the restaurant and this was the same as the sun beds around the pool, but we never had a problem finding two together after breakfast. Even though there are signs around the pool saying beds can not be reserved they were daily, on one occasion 6 beds together by the edge of the pool were reserved for 5 hrs 30 mins before the occupants appeared!

The pool area is lovely clean and well maintained, with regular waiter service. We ate in the pool bars for lunch and again the food, service etc was great.

We wanted a relaxing week in the sun and that is what we had. The evening entertainment was ok, mainly easy listening music whilst we sampled cocktails or the varieties of coffees on the terrace. Even though the hotel was full it didn't feel so, a handful of young children, mainly full of couples of various ages.

We did find the bed uncomfortable and the room warm, even with air con and fan on. We would also like to see Internet /wifi in all areas of the hotel not just the lobby.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view email the hotel as well as your tour operator.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gpmum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On arrival at the Riu Palace we were warmly welcomed and offered champagne or orange juice whilst our passports were checked and room keys sorted. Within 10 -15 mins our rooms were ready, 1 double and 1 twin for our sons on floor 4. Both rooms were clean and spacious, ours had a wonderful sea view and our sons a side sea view, and both had late afternoon sun on the balcony.

There are 2 sittings for evening meal 6pm & 8pm. We were given 8pm which suited us fine, and were shown to a table which we kept for the full 2 weeks. One word of warning men are required to wear long trousers for the evening meal, and i did see some guests who came in shorts politely being asked to change. At breakfast you could sit anywhere even on the terrace, staff were very prompt in serving tea and coffee, and the buffet had a huge variety, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, cheese, cooked breakfast, pancakes, also you could have an omelette made of your choice.

The evening buffet was fantastic, an enormous choice of meat, fish, vegetarian plus local cuisine as well as pizza and pasta. All food was hot and topped up regularly, my family and i could not fault the food in any way. The best part of the meal for me was the fantastic service we received. I have never experienced a hotel with such friendly, helpful staff who really seemed happy to be doing their jobs.

The Riu Palace has 2 great pools, one for adults and kids where lilos and balls are allowed, and other purely for swimming. The pool areas are kept very clean and there are plenty of beds. The hotel gives you pool towels from 8am when you can put them on the beds and yes there are people queuing to do this. We could usually get 4 beds together if we were there for 8.30, but some people always seem to want the same place each day (boring). There are plenty of staff by the pool to serve drinks and snacks, there is also a pool restaurant where we usually ate, the food was all very good.

Each evening there was some entertainment, usually music on the terrace. We also watched the juggling show, chinese acrobats and i think there was also a flamenco show. For us the entertainment was fine, nice music to listen to whist we played cards and had a drink in the lovely evening sunshine.

The hotel is set in a lovely peaceful location. There is a small, dark sand/pebbly beach just outside the hotel gate, and a lovely sandy beach at Playa el duque about 10 mins walk from the hotel. 1 Parasol and 2 sun loungers were expensive though at 19 euros! we were happy to spend most days by the pool. If you wanted lots of bars and shops then a 10 minute taxi will get you to Playa las americas. One of our favourite places was La Caleta just 5 mins away, a lovely village where we had a great lunch overlooking the sea.

We (myself, husband and 2 boys 12 & 18) all had a fantastic relaxing holiday. Lovely weather, great service at a hotel in a lovely location, and will definitely return.
Many thanks to all the staff who helped make our holiday extra special, Pedro, Yave and Christian to name a few, but to be honest i could name every member of staff from maids, gardeners waiters and front desk, as they were all so polite and friendly. This is the first Riu hotel we have stayed in, and i am now keen to stay at other Riu hotels to see if they can be as good as this one.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on Level 4 which had great views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sunshine384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my girlfriend just stayed here and we had good and bad things to say. First of all the location of this hotel could not be any worse. If you think of Tenerife as a big beach and the night life and shops are at the top. Well the hotel is at the bottom. It's basically the last hotel at the end of the beach and it takes about 1 hour 30 min to walk righ to the top. However along the way you have amazing beaches to laze on during the day. But please be WARNED this is still a long walk excpecialy when your legs are wet and you have sand stuck in places it should never go. Half way through the holiday me and my girlfriend seriously considered admitting outsells into the local hospital because we had 3rd degree chafe burns inbetween the privates from all the walking. So make sure you apply some cream to them sensitive areas or you will regret it badly. As you can imagine we had to stay around the hotel pool some days which was really nice. The pool is spot on I must say. The only problem is if you want a bed around the pool you need to get up at 6am because of all the Germans. There like a pack of wild animals on the morning running for the beds. You have been warned. This is why we went the beach so much and nearly ended up in hospital because of the chafing. The food in the hotel is ok. The breakfast was not that good because the sausage and bacon is crap but the evening meal was always lovely. The prices if you go half board in the hotel are scandless. Very expensive. You really do have to look about but you an find cheap places to eat and drink along the beach. But we found on a hole most places rip you off ad charge you a fortune for everything. The entertainment in the hotel is very bad. All you get is one singer on a nigh which isn't very good and a few tables and chairs. Is wouldn't be so bad is we had some good company but most are very boring and NOT English. So if you want some fun and entertainment pick another hotel even if its a 2 or 3 star because it would have been better than staying at this place. It's more for old people not young couples. Another thing I was disgusted at was the fact we could not take our own bags to our room on arrival. This poor old lady nearly insisted that she took our baggage to our rooms for us and snapped her back doing so. It took her 1 hour so we where just sat waiting for them when we could have just took them outsells. I could say more bad things but ill just leave you with this. The rooms for a riu are very small. I asked to get moved to a larger room on the ground floor but they wanted an extra £600 from me. After looking at the larger rooms I diclined the offer because it was not much better. I would have been paying £600 for an extra table in the room and that's it. If you want my advice pick a hotel in the middle of the beach or the top near las Americas. Enjoy Tenerife it was really good apart from this hotel. Or and make sure you get the big white double sun beds on the beach. But don't buy there high price food and drink go to the Loch Ness over the walk way. Very cheap and only £0.50 a pint. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 1000perday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We like to choose Riu hotels because of the service offered by the staff. This was our second stay at this specific hotel - the first during the summer season.The Riu Palace Tenerife is a very good beach hotel with a breathtaking view of the sea and if weather permits of the Island la Gomera. There are two beaches: one with imported white sands a few hundred meters to the left of the hotel and a small one with black sand to the right. For our morning swim we tried both and preferred the one the the left – never crowded and preferred by the locals.
We like to jog in the morning. There is a good track along the sea to the village la Caleta (offers many good restaurants by the way) and back via the higher road.
The hotel has two large pools that you may enjoy. We did not enjoy however that it was tolerated that the guests lined up in the morning at 7.30 waiting to but there towels on the sun beds – I even took a photograph of guest waiting behind the reed line at 07.15 – but I must say that we always found sun beds when we needed it after 5 pm.
The room we had this time had a full sea view as described above. Plenty of room for storing your clothes and a cloth line in the terrace to take care of drying you swim wear. Bathroom is nice but it still is a compromise between a bath tub and a shower – so you have to step in and out of the tub when showering. And you get entangled in the shower curtain due to the laws of physics.
The hotel still has no internet access except when you are in the lobby. This is now outdated and it is rather funny to see all the guests either skyping or just sitting with their I pads during the drink hour before diner. This should take place in the rooms and I trust that the Riu is now about to do something about internet access. After all it doesn’t cost that must to install and it nowadays is a must for many guests myself included.
The food was of the normal Riu standard – that means that you can always find something you like and need by choosing. The breakfast has improved in the sense that we this time didn’t have to wait to be served coffee – the staff were more attending. Breakfast still has a very good variety – only we missed the tortilla espanol – a former trademark of the Riu for breakfast. We had one visit to the Krystal – where you dine in a more formal way – but we were not impressed with the food so we went back to the traditional buffet style that we like.
I would have liked to add the hotel is quiet – however this summer here were outdoor music every evening – so we listened to a lot of Michael Jacksons and Whitney Houston’s until 11 pm. We would have preferred a quiets place on the terrace with a drink or two watching the stars or even a small sample of chamber music for one of the nights – but that’s was not to happen.
The win list has improved by adding hose wines to it – but the local wines from the Island has disappeared – which was a shame as some are very good.
We will certainly return to the Riu chain – looking for the view the service, a more quiet evening and a working wifi solution.

Room Tip: Sea view upper floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jannik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel and rightly deserves the highest accolades. On our arrival we were seated in the lounge area and given lovely cold drinks while the hotel processed our passports. We were then shown to our room by the excellent Christian (how many languages can you speak?!!!) who arranged for our bags to be brought up. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The food was absolutely excellent, and so fresh - no chance of an upset tummy here! The waiting staff were so efficient and attentive so there was never any need to "catch their eye" for service, whether in the restaurant or in the pool area. We liked the seating arrangements at the evening meal where you had an allocated table. Of course you could ask to change but we enjoyed sitting next to a lovely Dutch couple. Don't be worried about booking here, you will have a lovely time. We would return tomorrow if we could!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side get the sun in the evening, which is very pleasant.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second visit to the Riu Palace hotel, and we only have superlatives to say about the staff, the rooms, food and cleanliness. On arrival it was good to be offered champagne or a soft drink in the bar area while passports were being copied and people checked in. We had e-mailed the hotel requesting the same, or similar, room to that we had occupied on our previous visit and were delighted to be given the same room and also the same table in the dining room. There are two sittings for the evening meal – 6.00 and 8.00 – and tables are allocated for the entire visit. We preferred the later sitting as we stayed by the pool until around 6.00. Our chosen table was on the raised dais just inside the dining room as it seemed quieter than the main dining area.

We ate in the Krystal Restaurant one evening and could have done so again, but as the menu does not change we decided once was enough – although the food was excellent and beautifully presented. (The appetisers were interesting!).

All the employees are friendly, always greeting the guests in any situation, efficient and good at their jobs.

The rooms are very clean, comfortable and have adequate space for clothes storage. The food is excellent, with great variety and superb quality. Everywhere from the gardens, pathways and swimming pools to the indoor areas are kept meticulously clean. We could not fault it on any of these criteria.

We shall definitely return for a further stay as in our opinion this is the best TUI hotel we have stayed at. The only suggestions we have for improvement are (a) reduce their prices for the room safe,(b) get in a better wi-fi system as it was often difficult to get any signal and (c) get the management (suits) to also greet the guests when they are in contact with them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BFL1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#14 of 81 in Adeje
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#5 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,583 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 59 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Playa del Duque, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range: $264 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 9 storey building* Located on the seafront * 21,000 garden * 150 m from Playa del Duque beach * Entertainments and shopping centre are within 1,8 km distance in La Caleta * 22 km from Internacional Airport Reina Sofía Tenerife Sur (TFS) * 150 m from a bus stop * The hotel has been completely refurbished in spring/summer 2015 * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing