We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly fantastic resort & hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Truly fantastic resort & hotel.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have to admit from the moment the travel agent mentioned Tenerife, we were somewhat put off by the idea as its known for being rather tacky and very Benidorm. But I have to say how wrong we were about the resort (Costa Adeje & surrounding areas)
From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we were made to feel very welcome by the ever so polite, friendly and efficient staff. The hotel was very clean and certainly one of the nicest in the area. The bedrooms were spacious and clean, and the maids done an outstanding job in cleaning our room.
I guess the highlight to the hotel would have to be the restaurant. The food was outstanding and plentiful. Freshly prepared and constantly being rolled out. Freshness was the key.
You would have to be naive if you were to say there was no selection. There was everything for everyone, from freshly cooked fish and meat to an abundance of salad and desserts.
There was pizza to pasta, fresh fruit to ice cream. We were totally spoilt for choice.
The staff throughout were very attentive and very polite. Nothing was ever too much, so a big thank you to them.
Some people on here have complained about the birds in the outside terrace, I assure you this was never a problem.
There was a short queue to get seated outside, but that died down very quickly as turnaround was fast.
I also have to say a big thank you to Gemma (Our Thomson rep) who heavily pregnant done a fantastic job in making our holiday a pleasurable one. Her advice on restaurants was second to none. (especially Jamon Jamon in San Juan) There was no hard sell and her knowledge of the island was outstanding.
The pool area was clean and accommodating. Plenty of sun beds, although you still have the odd few whom have to claim their bed with a towel at 6am....why I don't know.
My only gripe (well not mine but my girlfriends) would be.....ladies, take your own hairdryer, as the ones in the room have hardly any power and was quicker to dry your hair on the sun on the balcony.
A short 5 min walk from the back the hotel is La Calete (not 100% of spelling) where the restaurants and bars are very cosmopolitan and the beach golden, unlike the rest of the island. A nice place to spend the day and night.

Other than that, a fantastic hotel, wonderful staff and lovely resort. Would recommend to anyone, whatever their standards.

Thank you Hotel Riu Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside view, although limited. Also it might also be worth reserving your seating times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    314
    87
    20
    9
See reviews for
294
898
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels and this is by far the worst. The hotel manager is a rude pig and he humiliated us in front of the whole restaurant regarding there silly dress code where it's ok for women to wear vest tops and not men. When I asked why I was told because of hair. How many German women do use know that don't shave there armpits its one big joke they tell you when you arrive you will have the same table all week we never did by the time we were seated our food was stone cold and it was bad enough when it was warm. The food is very poor and the restaurant is very badly organised. The hotel itself is very nice apart from it being in the middle of nowhere and if you want to go anywhere where there's life it will cost you ten euros in a taxi each way. If your below retirement age you will hate it the worst holiday ever thanks to riu palace and Thomson

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Riu Palace and couldnt fault it from start to finish.
On arrival we received a welcome drink whilst reception filled out the paperwork. We were given room 428 which had a fantastic pool and seaview.
This place is spotless and full of the most helpful staff in Tenerife. Everybody wanted to help, everybody smiled and acknowledged you and everybody looked as if they really enjoyed their work.
The restaurant runs on 2 sittings (6.00 and 8.00) for evening meal and an open sitting for breakfast.
The food is exceptional and varied. It is cooked fresh right in front of you by really helpful and friendly chefs.
Sunbeds were never an issue. Although they were reserved by many you could always get one whatever time you went down. There were always loads on the hotels own "beach".
Access onto the promenade is via a key operated gate allowing easy access to places like Caletta and El Douqe.
Its in a nice quiet area and in my opinion you would find it very difficult to find somewhere better to holiday in Tenerife

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel before travelling and asked for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SLLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London united kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel just after mid day,and the reception staff were very welcoming, we were given a welcome drink,while our bags were taken to our room, when we entered our room, we were amazed at the view from our balcony.This was the way the holiday started and continued throughout,our stay,,, What a great Hotel We will definitely be back.
Special Thanks to all the staff for making our stay as happy as they did well done.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Breakfast is extremely poor. Resturant Buffet is extremely orderly fashioned, expect to be ordered to your seat and que for the same table next to rude and obnoxcious people. Entertainment is excellent if you are over 75 going on 101.

Staff at dinner very politely rude, Reception helpful and excellent cleaning service. If you are looking for a spa treatment expect to pay €45 per half hour, Gym is state of the art 1980's and excursions are usually fully booked (ie, run once a week).

This place is excellent if you are retired and waiting to drop off (we have seen old folks dance till they drop). Excursions are between 50 and 100 euro for max of 4hrs depending on theme, hobby, sport.

Food is always sea food, fish, beef and pork. Sometimes even duck. Vegeterians expect to eat cold pasta or dry chips every night. Not much choice for the 'fussy eater` (as your thomson rep will call the english - anyone who expects to have a burger or steak for dinner).

Breakfast is a combination of fruit, juice, a range of delicious breads, runny eggs, no sausage, runny omlets and uncooked bacon. The pancakes and toasted ham cheese bites are a safe option. You will find the location of the lobby toilet w/c to be very handy as constipation is never an issue here.

The views are amazing, you can see the whole island from the outdoor terrace at night and in the day. Expect to spend all day drinking wine by the pool, using the internet wifi in the lobby or walking along a hot and sandy beach looking for something other than food shops and knock off electrical gadgets.

Wouldnt visit this hotel again as the target audience were not within our expectations. A lot of people would turn their nose up at others forgetting that we can afford RIU hotels too, nothing special.

Rooms are really humid at night, water is not for drinking in taps and no kettle or iron in room.

Room Tip: Hotel is build upside down floor 6 is reception and floor 5 is top floor views. Try and get on sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie-Luke ﭢ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My partner and I have just arrived back from our wonderful holiday in Costa Adeje. Riu Palace is superb and we could not have wished for a better hotel. The staff are incredible, so attentive, but not interfering. They are very friendly, professional, polite, efficient and they really look after you. We felt at home at this hotel and did not want to leave. Every single member of staff is a credit to Riu Palace, but we have to give special mentions to Ralf and Lahcen.

First impressions do count and when we arrived at midnight, Ralf greeted us with a warm welcome. He said that we are not only a guest, we are part of the family. What a lovely thing to say and that is how we felt throughout our stay. A meal was waiting for us in the restaurant, consisting of smoked salmon, cold meats, cheese, fruit, bread and water. We spoke to Ralf every night and he was always so friendly and welcoming. It was my birthday on Saturday and Ralf and Lahcen went out of their way to make it a very special weekend. Housekeeping had also decorated our room, which was a lovely touch.

Our room, 504, was on the side of the hotel, but we still had a sea view, due to the way the hotel is designed. The room was cleaned daily and had a minibar. The bed is very firm and after a couple of nights, I found it uncomfortable. I approached Ralf late one evening and the next morning, a mattress topper was added, during the daily clean. This made such a difference.

The hotel and pool areas etc were spotless. We visited the pools a few times, normally late afternoon after our days out. There was no trouble getting a sunbed then, but on the last day, when we visited at 11am after check out, it was very busy and no sunbeds were available by the pool. They have a "beach" area with sunbeds though and plenty of these were available. We ate lunch outside, by the "beach" area and also in the restaurant by one of the pools. We had the mixed fried fish and grilled octopus, which were delicious. It was very quiet and relaxing, with chance of a good swim in both pools. There were signs to say no balls or airbeds etc allowed in the pools, but this wasn't enforced. However, we only saw this on the last day, when we visited the pool earlier and it didn't seem to be disruptive. There were only a few children staying at the hotel.

We dined half board and the food was excellent. Breakfast was in the main restaurant, with a buffet on offer (breads, cold meats, cheese, fruit, cereal, yogurt etc), but also chefs freshly preparing omlettes, bacon, fried eggs etc. Bubbly was available, if you fancy a glass of fizz in the morning, but there was also a range of juices, water, milk and the waiting on staff bring you fresh tea, coffee or hot chocolate to your table. The evening meals were also buffet style, with chefs cooking grilled meats/fish etc. There was a huge selection to choose from, so something for everyone and each night varies. Waiter/waitress service is available upon request, according to the menu. You are allocated a time slot, which stays the same for each night in the buffet restaurant, either 6pm or 8pm. We were allocated 6pm, but asked Ralf, when we arrived, if we could change to 8pm, as we like to be out during the day and this was no problem.

There was also another restaurant on site, Krystal, which was a la carte and waiter/waitress service at no extra charge to our package. We visited twice and three tables were empty each time, which surprised us, as the restaurant is only small and the food was excellent. There was a set menu, which stayed the same - three appetisers, followed by a choice of four starters, four mains and three desserts. Carlos was the main host/head waiter and was very efficient, as were the other waiting on staff. We would recommend the foie gras, salmon, veal, apple crumble and three chocolate savarin.

Entertainment was available every evening. There were acts in the showbar, but we didn't see much of these. There was a house band playing on the terrace from 7.30pm - 11pm with breaks, which we enjoyed whilst sipping our cocktails and sangria. It was very relaxing and a few couples danced too. We had read reviews saying that the entertainment is an acquired taste and that the average age of visitors is 60+. We are in our early 30s, but we enjoyed it, although it did become a bit repetitive after a few nights, as the same songs were often played.

Overall, we could not fault the Riu Palace. The holiday was very relaxing, peaceful and we felt chilled out. The location is ideal, in a classy area, overlooking the sea, with easy access to walk along the prom towards La Caleta or Los Cristianos. The hotel is away from the commercialised areas, so no cheap "Rolex" watches, sunglasses or handbags on offer!! There is a hair salon, fitness centre, tennis court, spa centre etc available, but we didn't try these. It has been less than 24 hours since we left, but we are missing the staff and the hotel already. We would definitely return!!

P. S. If you want to book excursions, head to the harbour at Puerto Colon. We booked several trips through Boardwalk (behind Fosters Irish bar) and had great days out, at a much cheaper rate than Thomson! Visit Mikee who is often just in front on the street, wearing a flat cap, or he will be in the office. We found it, during our walk along the prom to Los Cristianos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ai1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff are friendly and always approachable, the food excellent and hotel itself is spotless, the entertainment at night is an acquired taste..it is difficult to fault this hotel. Having visited other hotels nearby the Palace is appears small inside but this is to its advantage.Service first class.
Returned from recent stay in June 2013 after 3rd visit.

Room Tip: rooms that are west facing will receive more sunlight in the afternoon and will not be near the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkAnnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#13 of 80 in Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Playa del Duque, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#3 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 9 storey building* Located on the seafront * 21,000 garden * 150 m from Playa del Duque beach * Entertainments and shopping centre are within 1,8 km distance in La Caleta * 22 km from Internacional Airport Reina Sofía Tenerife Sur (TFS) * 150 m from a bus stop * The hotel has been completely refurbished in spring/summer 2015 * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing