We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riu Palace just book it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Riu Palace just book it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is excellent, all staff outstanding, and most helpful.

I find it difficult to read comments like the one from Poppyb3, maybe she chose the wrong hotel and Dustyfog32 about grass banks say no more.

The hotel has many room types so if you are able pay a supplement to ensure you a better room.

Whilst I was there 03rd May 13 the food was excellent at dinner and breakfast, all waiting staff cannot do enough for you. The head waiter has a lovely character.

Just a note to say about breakfast, if you like the outside terrace wait to be seated as there is a queue after 08.30 and I witnessed people not realize that a queue had formed and went to a table to be turned back nicely from the staff but an embarrassment to them. Always be sitted on the terrace never fill your plates first.

The sunbeds are still a issue with the reserving, but this is everywhere, people pay their holiday and feel they have purchased a sunbed in a certain area everyday, this will never change, but the head man on the pool area did try, but not sure if he won or not. Maybe one day beware.

The entertainment at the hotel is a little hit and miss, the trio who play every night are not as good as before, but are still ok.

If you have mobility problems the area maybe a problem as there is a lot of up and downs, even the promenade by the sea front, if you have a mobility scooter no problem.

If you book this hotel you need to book early as people return year after year, and some book whilst they are there for their next stay. Say no more.

My ending words are I WANT TO GO TO RIU !

Room Tip: Pay a supplement to get a larger room and email the hotel with your requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jillscott1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    307
    86
    20
    9
See reviews for
281
866
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great hotel, beautiful grounds, clean, staff amazing! Couldn't do enough for you, food okay but bit greasy- breakfast eggs bacon etc fried in oil. Guests mixed ( mostly older but really nice, friendly & chatty) beware of the few grumpy ones who tended to look down their noses at people enjoying themselves. Life is way too short to be serious on holiday! Downside? ...the beds... Awful, hard, you could feel the springs but was advised by anther guest that had I mentioned at reception they would have added a mattress topper, ( wish I'd known).the entertainment wasn't that exciting and really needs an overhaul but you are fairly central for trips out of hotel if your looking to be entertained. All in all- would recommend.

Room Tip: It's a lottery as to where you're placed but we were on 4th floor with a side sea view. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steffaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well this must be our fifth visit to this hotel. 3rd May for 11 nights. Never disappointed; food very good, sleep heaven, staff-can't say enough good about them, they are brilliant. Room was kept spotless.
Only down side, a minor point-the entertainment wasn't as good this year, except for 2 acts-El Divo tribute and Motown type band.
It won't stop us going back for more.

Room Tip: High rooms have a good view, rooms on the ground floor have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owen4lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just got back from this beautiful hotel after a weeks holiday with family.
My son and his wife had been to this hotel before, about 7 years ago before they had children, reviews on TA were mainly good, so we knew that it came recommended.
First impressions were excellent as the friendly reception staff sent us to sit out on the terrace with a complimentary drink while our luggage was taken to our room and paper work was completed.
The view from the terrace, which is on the 6th floor, is breathtaking, looking out over the manicured lawns, brightly coloured flowers, palm trees, swimming pools and the turquoise sea beyond. The early morning start, 4+ hour flight and 1+ hour coach journey (described as 35 minutes by Thompson) were all forgotten as we sat there relaxing and sipping our drinks!
When we got to our rooms, on the 2nd floor, we were pleased to have been allocated side sea views overlooking the attractive gardens and apartments next door.
The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean as were the nice bathrooms. Other people have commented on the old fashioned decor, but we found the typically Spanish furniture and furnishings pleasant and pleasing. The rooms were cleaned every day and towels and bed linen changed when required. Thank you Fatima, you did a great job!
Dinner is in 2 sittings, the 1st at 6pm and the 2nd at 8pm, which we opted for as my 2 young grand daughters are both night owls! This was possibly a little too late, but 6pm would have been far too early. Tables for dinner are allocated on the 1st night and are retained during the holiday, but at breakfast you can sit anywhere and as the weather was very good, a lot of guests sat out on the terrace.
The quality of food at both meals was excellent with a wide variety of choices. The vegetarian options were excellent too. The coffee at breakfast was a bit strong sometimes but we just requested fresh pots, so it wasn't a big problem, although the hot drinks machine was kept covered and only used by the maitre d!
There is another restaurant but you have to book a table before hand and as the buffet restaurant was so good we didn't bother.
Also the staff were very good with the children, amusing them and keeping them entertained,
especially Carmen and Reuben. Formal dining with very young children can be stressful, but all the staff were so friendly and helpful, we really felt relaxed.
One small gripe - most the tables for 2 were very close together, this didn't affect us, but if you go as a couple and want an intimate meal for 2, I would suggest trying the Krystal restaurant. On the other hand if you like to socialise with fellow guests at meal times then there would be no problem, as it would hard to ignore them.
There are 2 large swimming pools, both with pool/snack bars, and a small children's pool by the children's playground.
Although reserving sun beds was forbidden we noticed that guests were putting their towels out before 7.30am! This meant that by the time we got out of breakfast, all the ones near the children's pool and playground were either occupied or reserved with towels, even though the guests (none of them with children!) sometimes didn't show up until late afternoon! There were more sun beds further away from the pools, which were set on a man made beach with lovely views of the sea, but were quite a walk back and forth with a baby and a toddler for us to use the children's facilities.
Towards the end of the week we decided as nobody was enforcing the 'no towels on the sunbed' policy to do the same, so 'if you can't beat them join them'!
Evening entertainment was the typical Spanish hotel variety, with a resident band and guest cabaret most evenings. It probably doesn't appeal to everyone but suited us.
The hotel is situated a short walk to a little supermarket and a bit further to a large commercial centre with designer shops and a big choice of restaurants, bu we stayed close to home most days.
To sum up - a thoroughly enjoyable holiday, at a beautiful hotel, in an excellent location and lovely surroundings, with friendly, polite staff and very good food. Would we go again, probably not, but only because we've been to Tenerife several times before and would like to try another RIU hotel elsewhere.

Room Tip: We were 2nd floor round the side facing some apartments with a side sea view and were very happy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbie249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Visited on 28th April for one week wanting a relaxing break and that is exactly what we got.
Upon arrival we were given a choice of drinks (I had champagne) while receptionist checked us in and then the bellboy took our cases to our room number 646, we had booked a standard double and I was happy with the size and amenities in the room,However, the bed was a little hard for my liking, there was a stocked mini bar but we put our own drinks in it, we overlooked the Sheraton hotel and had plenty of sun on our balcony in the afternoon/evening.
I emailed ahead and requested 2nd sitting for evening meal and this was fulfilled, breakfast choice was good and evening meal excellent there was at least 10+ choices and the waiting staff were friendly and efficient, we ate in the Krystal al a carte restaurant and got a table by the window, wow what fantastic views, you can not book a window table but arrive 15 minutes before your time and you should get one.
The grounds are very large and we never had a problem getting a comfy sunbed and there are plenty of parasols, there was waiters coming around taking your drink/food orders and some days they brought around complimentary fruit.
The entertainment room was spacious and the visiting acts performed at 8pm & 10pm so both dinner sittings could watch them.
I have visited other 5 star hotels but I have never come across so friendly and helpful staff, will defiantly return and would not hesitate to recommend.
We joined the Riu club before departure and received a bottle of champagne & fresh fruit in the room :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnieb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Arrived back today (sadly) 13/5/2013 having spent a week at the Riu Palace. The hotel is just lovely, clean, roomy with lots of little extras. I travelled with my husband and two friends and had a really relaxing week. The food was fantastic cooked to a high standard and very varied.

We chose to eat two nights in Krystel restaurant, a small intimate restaurant with beautiful al a carte food and lovely views overlooking the sea at no extra charge and no limit on the number of visits you can make.
We had breakfast on the terrace which was lovely and over looked the sea and spent many late evening relaxing in the open air.
The staff cannot do enough for you, from the moment you arrive Constantine greets you with a big smile taking your bags away which quickly arrive in your room. Staff have a permanent smile and are always ready with a friendly word as they pass they make the stay just perfect.

If you venture out of the grounds of the hotel there is a lovely walk along the promenade to several lovely bars and restaurants and a small but nice sandy beach.
The hotel is not to far to get a taxi to Adeje center or Playa de Las Americas for a change of scenery.
The only slight point was that as this was a Thomson Platinum hotel it was surprising at the lack of presence of the Rep howevr this did not impact on our lovely holiday

This hotel is fantastic and we will definitely visit again

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 549 which had a slight sea view but had the sun late afternoon, large balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beverley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The first impressions werent exciting as I would have expected with it being a Riu. The rooms are rather small and the walls are very thin. I have never slept in a bed so uncomfortable in my life and been woken up at 7:30-8am by cleaners banging around in the next rooms. I found this hotel to be mainly occupied buy 50+ people and as person in my mid twenties didnt enjoy the looks from the 'older generation' as if to say 'what are you doing at this hotel'.
The description states there is Free Wifi, this is true but only if you sit at the bar in the main lobby. Again as a younger person this was dissapointing as it was something we wanted to use in the room. As for the food it was lovely but not quite was I would class as 5*. You are allocated a table for dinner, however no one informed us of this so we sat down at a table like a pair of plonkers to be asked why we were sat there. On the other hand you are offered two sittings which is a great choice and the Krystal Restaurant there that you can go to once a week is outstanding. It makes the buffet restaurant look rubbish after you have been there. There is very little entertainment and no music, so again as a younger couple its not really suitable. Be specific in what drinks you ask for as one night we asked for a german beer and were given the most expensive one there of eight euros per bottle, thats like seven quid! Although it says there is no reservation of sun loungers, the number of days we wondered round looking at towels reserving seats was silly. As other people have mentioned it is mostly German people there. It is very quiet and not much going on, however if that is what you want then it is perfect.

Room Tip: If there is the slightest thing you dont like about you room, complain and ask for one on a lower gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adeje hotels
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.0 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#15 of 81 in Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 9 storey building* Located on the seafront* 21,000 garden* 150 m from Playa del Duque beach* 1.5 Km from various shops* 22 km from the airport* 150 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing