We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riu palace Lovely hotel but not great for Kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riu palace Lovely hotel but not great for Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Myself my husband and our 7 year old booked this holiday a day before we went, very spur of the moment due to my husbands job. We asked for a child friendly hotel with kids clubs or things for kids to do. And all inclusive. We didnt get either. And didnt know until we arrived. The hotel is beautiful, food was good most evenings and was an each as much as you like buffet at breakfast lunch and dinner. This hotel doesnt do all inclusive though. So you have to pay for all your drinks snacks etc througout your stay. The pools were lovely and clean and fairly warm for April. Staff were friendly and very helpful when I lost my camera. Which I later got back. The evening entertainment is some what hit and miss, and to be honest was okay to go for a glass of wine but not much fun to be had. It was mostly dancers and singers of which sung in spanish pretty much the whole time. This hotel doesnt have ANY clubs for children and although there were children at the hotel 99% of them didnt speak english so our son found it very hard to make friends and this is a boy who could make friends with anyone normally. I think if there had been a kids club he would of made friends alot easier. However their is a sister hotel across the road which is also a Riu hotel. In there they had a little kids disco every evening, it only lastes an hour and was the same every night i.e a member of staff doing little dancd rountins witht he kids etc and that was pretty much it. We were told that we could use this facility as we were in the toher rui hotel. We also went to an evening there that had a magician which was a good evening but other than that it wasnt any better enterainment wise. Dont get me wrong we had a wonderful stay at tthis hotel it was just missing a few important (to us) things. If you have more than one child then its probably perfect as they can play with each other. Rooms were lovely a big, air con was okay and the rest of the hotel was lovely. The area is lovely and lots of nice places you can walk to.
There is also a lovely resturant that you have to book into which is an ala cart resturant, it was a nice change from the buffet. Its still inlcuded into the cost of your eating so no extra charge.Very nice food and great service. They even made our son a pizza! all in all lovely hotel would reccommend just a little bit borning for kids

Room Tip: Rooms were lovely we had a side view which faced the road but it was still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    307
    86
    20
    9
See reviews for
282
869
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a very large hotel with some great facilities. Lovely grounds, well manicured, lots of sunbeds availalble, if a little close together in some areas. Nice lobby bar and decent entertainment if you want it. The location is superb, just off a lovely coastal walk into Las Americas one way or the picturesque fishing village of La Caleta the other. Service is universally good especially at reception and dining choices are numerous and tasty, although it does get very busy in the dining room. You can opt for a la carte dining in their attached restaurant at no extra charge which we did twice. Much quieter atmosphere.Now for downside. Rooms at side of hotel are small with poor views and you should ask for front with full sea view and better still ground floor with terrace. These are very spacious.It seems they put package holidaymakers in the worst rooms and you have to pay substantially more for upgrade. We were there just a week and didn't bother to switch which was our choice. Its a great choice for a relaxed holiday and many guests are repeats which says a lot.

Room Tip: Ground floor with terrace or front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels as I have been visiting tenerife for 30 years but this hotel ticks all the boxes if you are looking for something quiet but within walking distances from main resort .. No music at pool to disturb your reading a definite plus meals are good and staff are very pleasant will definitely return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 036Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at the end of February, All the staff were excellent. The main restaurant, the only one we used, served a good variety of dishes all week. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cactus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here early January with my boyfriend. It was lovely. Staff were friendly, (apart from the large waiter in the restaurant, he was quite rude, grumpy, and was dripping in sweat. Yuk.)
But apart from him, the experience was brilliant.
Food was amazing. Choice was outstanding. Quality was first class.
We did have a funny experience in the sauna, we were told by a naked German man to remove our clothes in the sauna. We had our swim wear on. My partner swiftly obliged as that's just his sense of humour but there was no way I was getting naked in front of a random old man.
Lovely big comfy room with everything u would need.
Would definitely return. Brilliant magic show too. And singers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennylovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful week here in January, cannot fault this hotel, everyone works very hard to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. Food excellent. The Fusion restaurant is worth booking during your stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view....its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Certaily a geat hotel and the staff were helpfull and friendly. The room on the top floor (6th) was average but the lower floor rooms were bigger and better, of course dearer.
The grounds of the hotel at the back are huge, and able to get sunlounger whereever. Plenty of waiters to get you food or drinks again fun staff.
The food was average but a good choice. Drinks are quite dear. The evening entertainment was the best I have seen, great group with plenty of dancing.
There is not much to do outsde the hotel a few shops but along the promenade you can walk for miles and pass hotels, bars, cafe's, shops.
The only problem I had was walking inland, it's quite a lot of steep hills...(I'm Old)
The weather was good, 23 deg.
Certainly a five star hotel

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are the best and certainly go for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adeje hotels
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.0 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#14 of 80 in Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 9 storey building* Located on the seafront* 21,000 garden* 150 m from Playa del Duque beach* 1.5 Km from various shops* 22 km from the airport* 150 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing