We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great day out”
Review of MAXICAT catamaran

MAXICAT catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maxicat offers you either 3 or 4½ hour excursions, on the most ecological catamaran of its kind, where you will be offered an incomparable service. You will be able to discover the fascinating world of the sea mammals that inhabit the waters of the Canary Islands, enjoy your time along the south coast, relax on the spacious sundecks and swim and a snorkel in Atlantic Ocean's waters. It will be the highlight of your holiday!
Reviewed June 14, 2013

we did the 3 hour trip in the morning and thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were very informative about the animals we saw and it was brilliant watching whales and dolphins in their natural environment. There was also bar and food included in the price. I would definitely recommend it.

1  Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at MAXICAT catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your trip on Maxicat but sorry to hear that your wife suffered during the trip!!

Our main aim is to take our guests to see the whales and dolphins in their natural habitat. The food and drink on board is just an added extra.

We are sorry that you weren't picked up for your original trip but hope that you enjoyed seeing the magnificent Los Gigantes cliffs that just seem to fall into the sea.

Maybe one day you'll pay us another visit.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chicken nuggets"
in 29 reviews
"paella"
in 38 reviews
"hour trip"
in 65 reviews
"pilot whales"
in 78 reviews
"great trip"
in 22 reviews
"see dolphins"
in 20 reviews
"fruit cocktail"
in 3 reviews
"french lady"
in 3 reviews
"free drinks"
in 14 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 12 reviews
"los gigantes"
in 22 reviews
"saw whales"
in 12 reviews
"whale watching"
in 13 reviews
"baby whales"
in 4 reviews
"unlimited beer"
in 3 reviews
"dropped anchor"
in 5 reviews
"included in the price"
in 12 reviews
Filter

245 - 249 of 462 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went on the MaxiCat 5 hour trip. We paid for the 3 hour but were failed to be picked up at our pick up point. Not a major problem as we were offered the 5 hour trip as compensation. The trip itself was informative and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We did not try the food so cannot comment on it. We saw two pilot whales and about 6 Dolphins. The Dolphins came right up to the catamaran and we managed to get some outstanding photos. I would say that the leaflet is quite misleading as there are an awful lot of people on the boat so you have to climb around stuff to see. A few people including my wife spent a lot of the trip throwing up because of the choppy sea state however the staff were very helpful. In summary - Take the 3 hour trip the 5 hour is way too long but the sights are fantastic.

Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at MAXICAT catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip on Maxicat and that you saw some of the amazing creatures that live in our surrounding waters. Our main aim is to provide our guests with information regarding the whales and dolphins that are found in the Atlantic and for you to witness these magnificent animals for yourself.

Just a tip, if you come again, keep your eyes focused on the land, helps prevent sea sickness and sit near the middle of the boat!!

Hope to see you again on board one day!

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Maybe we were just lucky, but we had such an excellent trip out with the MaxiCat and saw so many Pilot Whales and "Common" (= uncommon!) Dolphins that we simply had to re-book the same trip the next day.

Each time we went out on their 3 hour trip. My wife normally thinks that she is not a good sailor - but "no problem" the Cat is very stable and is an excellent viewing platform for the main event of Whales and Dolphins.

The crew were very cheery and happy folks to be with. The Captain had an excellent 'nose' for finding the whales and ensured that we had plenty of viewing time as close to them as possible.

Really a very good trip for adults and kids too. Check around for the best prices as we were able to take advantage of a good special offer.

Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at MAXICAT catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip on Maxicat, so much so that you went a second time. Our crew are very knowledgeable and impart their knowledge with our guests when they encounter the whales and dolphins. Seeing these magnificent creatures in their natural hábitat is quite magical. Our catamarán sits quite low in the wáter keeping sea sickness to a mínimum which you pointed out.

We hope that if you come back to Tenerife again that you will come back on board Maxicat.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were advised to go on a boat trip and opted for the 5 hour trip and was not disappointed. To see whales and dolphins in their natural environment was spectacular. A truly amazing experience. All food and drinks were included.

Thank Amysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at MAXICAT catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip on Maxicat.

Our main aim is to take our guests to see the whales and dolphins in their natural habitat. It really is a magical experience.

We hope that if you come to Tenerife again that you will take another trip on Maxicat.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the maxicat to see the dolphines.. The trip takes u to see the sea life and a drop off to swim. The deal we bought included a free bar and a meal. We did not eat before the boat as we paid for the meal but on arrival of the day out when we received our meal we realised how small the portions are so a tip if you are going on the maxicat, eat first! The views are lovely and the staff on board were nice :) a great day out to catch the rays and see some nice views!

Thank em-lou-slater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at MAXICAT catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We see that you went on Maxicat in 2012. Since then we have improved our food and now offer bigger portions with a vegetarian option (on request) and children's menu.

Our main aim on Maxicat is to take our guests to see whales and dolphins in their natural habitat. There is nothing as breathtaking as seeing these creatures where they love to be in the crystal waters of the Atlantic Ocean.

We hope that you will visit us again one day on Maxicat.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAXICAT catamaran also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Las Galletas, Tenerife
Costa Adeje, Adeje
 

Been to MAXICAT catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing