We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massive let down!”

Rafting Bike Tenerife
Ranked #17 of 95 Outdoor Activities in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Safe, relaxed downhill bike rides since 1999, ride with us 22 miles without pedalling from the skirts of Mount Teide, 7300 ft high, to the coast of Los Cristianos. Enjoy the real Tenerife where tourist buses dont reach, sample local "Tapas" and discover the joy of riding without effort. Any age can do it, just try! We also rent bikes with free hotel delivery and will advise you on local points of interest.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Massive let down!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My girlfriend and myself had looked forward to this almost as much as we'd looked forward to the holiday and booked as soon as we arrived in Tenerife, planning the rest of our holiday around this, which proved to be a big mistake!

The only date available when we booked was two days before our flight home, so we didn't book any other excursions to the Teide, thinking we could see it all by bike. When the day came we rushed back to our hotel in plenty time for our 12.45 pick up, but at 13.20 when we asked at hotel reception if there had been any messages from the organisers we were told they had received a fax, addressed 'dear biker' but giving no name or room number. On booking we provided a contact name, mobile phone number, and hotel room number, neither of which had been used to contact us to let us know the trip had been cancelled due to wind, and that they would not be running another trip for six days.

Not only did we miss out on what we thought would be one of the highlights of our holiday, but due to the lateness of the cancellation we missed out on seeing one of the sights we'd most looked forward to seeing.

Very disappointing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    13
    3
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent trip at 40euros each....prompt pick_up,called at cafe on up_hill trip,its the last chance 4 a toilet trip 4 3+ hrs so make the most of it.Really intresting facts and sights through out really advise any1 2 do it....Really cold though at sum points bearing in mind u go as fast as 20/25miles per hour down hill,All friendly,helpful workers defo enjoyable afternoon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank briggsyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very good way to know Teide's slope...
Very well organised, very friendly and interested staff, very enjoyable ride...
If these guys had more routes would certainly do them all. ..
Thank you for the experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank eduardo_msc_gomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience and very Safety Conscious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I had read about this trip on Trip Advisor as we love to trips that are slightly different from the normal tourist trips and booked before via email before we left in September.

What a fantastic experience and very memorable experience. We were collected from our hotel and taken to Mount El Teide and had the opportunity to take some amazing photo's before were given our safety instructions which were extremely clear and easy to understand.

Riding down through the clouds was a Wow feeling and something that will stay with me as it was just so exilarating.

The guys who run this really do make it personal to you and will glady take photo's and check that everything is alright on the regular stop offs on the way down the mountain.

I agree with what someone said on a previous review about grumbles about the lunch and waiting whilst the instructors have their lunch at the half way point going up but like the other said "Get a grip" as it is a good way of chatting to people that you wouldn't normally speak to you and a great way to bond with your fellow cyclists.

The food on the way down was very simple but enjoyable especially with a glass of wine which was a nice gesture.

We can't wait to do it again if we return to Tenerife and would definately recommend it to anyone who wants to do something a bit different on their holiday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsJ1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So safety conscious. Well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of four adults and a child, we took this trip last week while visiting teneriffe for the 6th time. I'd never heard of bike rafting before and was very impressed with their attention to safety, especially where Molly was concerned, she was put in the support van where it was a bit steep and for crossing the mother way and let back out when it was safe for her to cycle. There hand signals and 'beep' signals are very clear, the have the whole trip down to a tee, as to where to pull in safely to cross roads, blocking traffic where needed. We stopped in the middle of nowhere for the picnic half way down, we all ate together , olives Spanish bread, wine, water, and dips. A lovely snack with beautiful views.
They were making a promotional video on our trip and got to see some of it at this stage. One of the guides diago I think his name was was so kind to Molly picking our the cactus needles from her hands when she picked a cactus fruit not knowing what it was. But all if the guides were fab Thomas how had Molly in the van whit him at certain times was very good with children. And Maurice who drove us up the mountain was a wealth of knowledge, Molly has a lot of tall stories for her teacher about the mountain and volcanios. He also showed us the poodle and Labrador rocks( only a local could show you these) I will post photos of them.
All in all a lovely way to see the island, and a great way to see the really spectular views, and you can say you cycled 22 miles in the heat!!!
Thank everyone for a fantastic evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkiosy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting Bike Tenerife also viewed

Adeje, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Costa Adeje, Adeje
 

Been to Rafting Bike Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing