We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roy doncaster”
Review of El Mago - CLOSED

El Mago
Price range: $10 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Small restaurant located upstairs on the first floor in centro comercial Krystal in San Eugenio. You are more then welcome to join us, for a drink or a meal on our terrace, located in front of the sea and the beautiful sunset here in Tenerife. Special request please don't hesitate to ask. (Please give us a day notice.) Reservations recommended. Hope to see YOU soon.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Roy doncaster”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My meal was not value for money the chicken was dry my frind had lamb wich was very good had a meal at the reasturant below it was supereb at half the price

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank royboy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    46
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing Mojo Sauces and more.....”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stumbled upon this little gem of a restaurant during one of our regular evening walks around San Eugenio during our recent holiday.

Having been persuaded to venture upstairs by the lovely guy on the door who pointed out a number of suitably different vegetarian mains and starters we were delighted by the quality of the food we ordered.

Our server explained that El Mago is Tenerifian for Peasant. And the food lives up to that expectation of honest, delicious, fresh food, prepared and served with real care. Not that it's simple or basic fare . . . the lady on the table next to us had an amazing whole sea bass.
There are very few places outside of the mountain villages where you can get authentic Tenerifian specialties - this is the only one we've managed to find.

Our vegetarian selection of a tomato and onion salad, goats cheese salad with orange and honey vinaigrette, fresh oven baked garlic mushrooms (no tinned stuff here!), and garlic bread with mozzarella - all accompanied by seriously, the most sensational home made mojo sauces we've ever tasted. To the uninitiated mojo sauce is a canarian sauce either red (red peppers, garlic and chilli) or green (green peppers, coriander and garlic). When mojos are good, like they are at El Mago, they make your mouth sing!

Before we left we asked if we could take some sauce home - it's obviously a request they get a lot so we put our order in and collected it on our last night in 2 x 500ml bottles (packing friendly).

Talking of friendly - the staff were so great that when we told them about the difficulty of finding a variety of veggie food to eat on holiday, they immediately recommended 2 other restaurants to us - when you're confident enough in your own restaurant to recommend others to new customers, it says a lot!

Now we've discovered this little jewel it'll be our regular when we're in Tenerife - do yourself a a favour and give it a try.

You'll find it above a pizza restaurant opposite Jardin Tropical Hotel (if you get to Porto Colon harbour you've gone too far).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jax077j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

During the past two years we have visited this restaurant at least 20 times and each time is as good as the first! Really lovely restaurant, great food and really friendly staff :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good fresh food, lovely service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very good meal out with the family. All fresh ingredients, good range of options for all of our party of children and elders. Tuna and sea bass were very good and the cherry flambé delicious. Very friendly service and good value.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lfretters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellant food & service”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just recently me and my family on holiday in Tenerife were completely rocked to find our usual fist day holiday meal restaurant wash all boarded up " oh no we thought SAD SAD SAD" well just aswell that happened coz we found the fantastic El Mago and thought why had we not eaten here before. The food was simply very very good, we recommend the chicken by far and the just absolutely mouth watering Yum Yum tasty spicey hot burger with the just wonderful side sauces. The service given at the El Mago is allthough relaxed its a real gentle and extremely welcoming experience considering the owner was on hand meeting and greeting, it just leaves us to say to everyone please visit this small but big on everything restaurant and just enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 111Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mago also viewed

 
Costa Adeje, Adeje
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing