We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and unusual”
Review of Hotel Dos Mares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dos Mares
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed with our two children ages 12 and 9 for 2 nights in mid- August. We had the large junior suite in the "tower" part of the main hotel. The room was particularly charming and comfortable (in keeping with the hotel generally), especially with the little triple aspect section with 2 small beds for the kids to sleep in - it was perfect. Generally we found the hotel and the restaurants and their staff very pleasant. Our daughter had several horse riding excursions with the stables which she thoroughly enjoyed. We visited the nearby Hotel Hurricane which appeared to us to have seen much better days and the Dos Mares was in our view markedly superior. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrg2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great hotel. Stayed in a bungalow, very spacious, clean and well-spec'd.
Pool not ideal for small kids, better for friends/ couples as a dip pool rather than a swim pool but that goes with the vibe, just a cool place to hang out.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank RightClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked a bungalow here as the beach portion of a 3-centre tour of Andalucia. The hotel is right on the beach. You can get up from breakfast and in ten paces have sand between the toes and if you're feeling vigorous be in the sea soon after. Its a beautiful beach with other little bars if you fancy some variety. You can walk into Tarifa if you want more food choices but its a bit far for a moonlight stroll - better to take the car.
Its very popular with kite / wind surfers. The wind along the beach is pretty steady but the weather there in September was superb and the breeze just made the sun-bathing more bearable.
The bungalow itself was small but clean & with an excellent shower. It also had a table & chairs outside for chilling and listening to the aviary. The bed was very firm.
Good pool, good food, good gym but most of all - right on the beach!

Room Tip: the only bungalow I saw that I wouldn't book faced on to the carpark but it may have been staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We came down here for a day, to hang out and have massages. The latter was brilliant (ask for Juan, he is amazing!), the setting also, including the cafe, but the service was so unfriendly everywhere. The reception staff are so so unhelpful and unfriendly, and the lady at the cafe has passed me at least half a dozen times and not asked once if I wanted anything to order, silly really, complete disregard for revenue, leave alone customers. I would not stay here as it is more of a kid/family holiday kinda place, so not one for the child-free looking for the quiet, as noise poolside or in the garden rather on the deafening side from time to time. I would, however, come here again for massage or to hang out for a drink at the beachside bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were booked into another hotel but when we arrived there it was not as described, and after calling into here we realised this was exactly what we were looking for...luckily they had a bungalow available, right on the beach :) This hotel has everything you could need and is definitely the best place to stay in the area. We used the surf school for some kiteboarding lessons, chilled out & had lunch & drinks in their chiringuito, ate dinner in the lovely restaurant, and had the best massage ever..all in the same complex. There are also stables for horse-riding along the beach, tennis, swimming pool...etc.etc. We will definitley go back here and take our 2 dogs with us as the whole place is very dog friendly. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandapants73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Exceptionnal situation,lovely beach just in front of the hotel,very simple ambiance,good restaurant,nice swimming pool protected from the wind with a small area for small children, bungalows ok,beach bungalow are very well located,just a cool place

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamiss5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

this hotel is ideal for young families who want to make use of the wide expance of beach and beach sports facilities,how ever, it is not suitable for wheelchair bound or older people with walking difficulties. any ramps that were in place were used ony by the staff for laundry trolleys and evenn then with some difficulty.They advertise that there are extensive gardens but these are only landscaped area between the bungalows,not very well maintained and with narrow paths made from broken,uneven bricks., we lost power the first evening duetofaulty wiring in the shower light, this was repaired
The restuarant is reached at beach level from a very dimly lit internal staircase or from a very steep external steps,we saw quite a few families struggling with pushchairs.
Food wise,this restaurant is not cheap and the first evening,we had a superb 3 course meal with wine total bill was 113€ the second night,I ordered a brochette of various white fish with prawns,it contained seven pieces of tough tuna and three prawns.I sent it back and from then on we were ignored,on signing the bill,they had charged us the full price which we refused to pay for the returned fish.
The whole ambiance of the place felt scruffy and uncared for, lots of derelict areas to the back of the bungalows and building work that had been done some years ago and as cheaply as possible In summarry,this is not a hotel i could recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank matmat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
6.5 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
482 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Punta Sur
Hotel Punta Sur
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
311 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
2.6 mi away
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
#7 of 19 in Tarifa
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Mares

Address: Ctra. N 340 Km 79.5, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tarifa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tarifa
#7 Family Hotel in Tarifa
Price Range: $71 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dos Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dos Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing