We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay ... again!!! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Escondite del Viento

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarifa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Escondite del Viento
Ranked #2 of 32 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Starmatthewuk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent stay ... again!!! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. It's at the centre of the old town but not directly on top of the noisy clubs. The owner, Alejandra is very helpful, kind and most importantly genuine.

The rooms are clean, charming and the beds very comfortable (memory foam).

Only had breakfast once, but was nice coffee and a fruit salad.

I don't always give great reviews but this is a nice little Hotel in Tarifa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starmatthewuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    48
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
103
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I reached the hotel late on Saturday night, there was a huge traffic jam along the coast, as people were leaving the large beaches. In the old Tarifa it is not easy to find a parking space but I managed to get one near the harbor. I was a little worried about my late arrival time but the owner was still waiting for me and she has been absolutely friendly.

The building faces a nice and animated alley, 1 minutes far from the ones full of bars and restaurants. You are in the heart of the crowded pedestrian center but not so close to not sleep if you want to, ideal location.

The common spaces are tiny and finely decorated, you can also have the very good breakfast outside in the alley if you like. The ambient is cool and relaxed.

I expected nice rooms but they were even better: simply but finely decorated, clean and wide. I loved the bathroom too, very well designed.

I can't think a better place to stay in the center of Tarifa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed one night here and would have happily added another few.
Comfortable room and pleasant continental breakfast.
Very helpful service.
Be aware - Glass bathrooms in the bedrooms - shower completely transparent and thin muslin to cover toilet area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abigail_flutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

we stayed here for the last 2 days of our hols.

a short move from our previous hotel. very stylistic and oozes charm and splendour.
breakfast included and outdoor space on the roof.
superb shower, room tick most boxes if you want one thing it would be mini fridge for obvs reasons.
all in all do stay here, I dont think you will disappointed.

thanks again to the team.

Room Tip: any that are at the back or roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family (ranging in age from 21 to 71) enjoyed a great stay at the Hotel El Escondite in June, 2012. Alejandra was there to greet us and she just could not of been nicer. She was so helpful, giving us lots of tips on the town, food, drink, etc. In addition, she gave us some "must sees" in the towns that surrounded Tarifa. We referred back to her information many times during our trip and she definately steered us in the right direction. The hotel was perfect. The location was great, the room was clean and plenty big. As mentioned in other reviews, the bathroom situation was a little "odd", as it's completely open which is hard when there were 3 of us in the room and really allowed for no privacy. Oh well, it made us closer.....

I would go back to Tarifa and the Hotel El Escondite in a heartbeat. I have raved about the hotel since we've been back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I truly enjoyed being in Tarifa, but I must admit that I hated our hotel room at El Escondite del Viento. Horrible, horrible bathrooms. Just because something is trendy, does not mean that it is comfortable or practical. The see - through glass walls of the bathroom were ridiculous. I have seen this type of configuration before and have avoided it - somehow I missed the fact that this sort of bath was in the hotel or I would never have booked - my mistake.
I feel I must warn people of this situation. There was a mold smell coming from the bathroom that was so strong we had to keep the window open. The view out the window was of a destroyed building. It was covered in trash. Even if I did not own the property next door, I would have made an effort to keep it from being an eyesore for my customers.
On the up side, the location was excellent and the staff was thoughtful, fixing us breakfast when we had an early bus - but then again, breakfast did not even begin until 9am.
The bed was very comfortable.
Truly - even if you are the best of friends and/or lovers - there are just some things you don't want to share. Don't get the room with the glass bathroom!

Room Tip: Check the bathroom before you book. Make sure that you do not have the see-through bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fallbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at Escondite for 6 nights and couldnt fault it. Friendly staff - helpful but unobtrusive - clean, bright and funky rooms & in a great location. All in all, a great holiday!

Room Tip: Terrace room was great for us - more space & outdoor freedom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLC_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Escondite del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Escondite del Viento

Property: Hotel El Escondite del Viento
Address: Calle Comendador 1, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butique hotel in an old buliding completely restaured.Incredible fourniture, Wood and glass, the perfect covination.8 rooms .Silent and light. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing