We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Escondite del Viento
Ranked #3 of 32 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I truly enjoyed being in Tarifa, but I must admit that I hated our hotel room at El Escondite del Viento. Horrible, horrible bathrooms. Just because something is trendy, does not mean that it is comfortable or practical. The see - through glass walls of the bathroom were ridiculous. I have seen this type of configuration before and have avoided it - somehow I missed the fact that this sort of bath was in the hotel or I would never have booked - my mistake.
I feel I must warn people of this situation. There was a mold smell coming from the bathroom that was so strong we had to keep the window open. The view out the window was of a destroyed building. It was covered in trash. Even if I did not own the property next door, I would have made an effort to keep it from being an eyesore for my customers.
On the up side, the location was excellent and the staff was thoughtful, fixing us breakfast when we had an early bus - but then again, breakfast did not even begin until 9am.
The bed was very comfortable.
Truly - even if you are the best of friends and/or lovers - there are just some things you don't want to share. Don't get the room with the glass bathroom!

Room Tip: Check the bathroom before you book. Make sure that you do not have the see-through bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fallbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    48
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
103
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at Escondite for 6 nights and couldnt fault it. Friendly staff - helpful but unobtrusive - clean, bright and funky rooms & in a great location. All in all, a great holiday!

Room Tip: Terrace room was great for us - more space & outdoor freedom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLC_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I needed a triple in Tarifa in March 2012. (Two nights in Tarifa was the perfect choice for our one-day Ferry trip from Tarifa to Tangier, Morocco.) The Hotel El Escondite del Viento was a pleasant surprise given the modest cost. Great central location in Tarifa convenient to several restaurants recommended by Rick Steves. The FRS ferry terminal was a short walk from the hotel. Free parking near the hotel. Found an ATM one block away. The interior of the hotel was pleasant and modern. Our room had a king bed for my wife and I, and a separate single bed for our 22 year old daughter. Our host was a nice grandmother who spoke little English but went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of during our stay. The included breakfast was one of the best in Spain with plenty of fresh fruit. I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
231 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Most people visit Tarifa because they are windsurfers, want to see dolphins, crave swimming and sun-bathing, or simply want to take the ferry to near-by Morocco. We went there for none of these reasons. We only wanted a brief break from culturally overwhelming places such as Grenada, Cordoba,and Sevilla, so we did little more than walk on the beach in windy April weather.

But El Escondite del Viento "vaut le detour," as the Michelin Guide would say; the hotel is a fine excuse to venture to Tarifa even if you don't really have any business there.

The hotel, in the old town, has a wonderfully transparent lobby, a roof terrace, and some eight rooms, designed with exquisite good taste, decorated with lamps and furniture by such luminosi as Mies van der Rohe. Our room ("Del Viento"; others are called "Y Profundo" and "Muros de Silencio") combined bright colours (blue and orange) and daringly juxtaposed materials (glass, wood, plastic) to create a very pleasant, gay atmosphere.

It made us feel at home -- a feeling that was completed by the truly heart-warming welcome and the profuse advice for places to eat tapas (we ate fine "atun en mantega" in Las Campanas and excellent "solomillo" in An Ca Corro) and to attend a flamenco performance.

We parked our car for €10 (24 hours) at the near-by "Parking Antiguo Cuartel de Infanteria."

Tour to Tarifa to hide from the wind in El Escondite del Viento!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Modern rooms in great location. We had apartment style room up on the roof. Funky decor and furniture and frosted glass bathroom wall. Only drawback - church bells - louder as we were on roof. Good host who recommended a restaurant where we had our best meal in Spain - La Mandragora - one minute walk away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here for a week in October with my wife and six year old son and had a great time. We found the owners Jose and Alexandrea very welcoming and Jose even played chess with my son on one of the rainy days. Breakfast is made up of cereal, salamis and excellent cheeses.

The rooms are spacious and modern with everything you need and if they don't have it Jose will try his best to help. Situated in the heart of the old town, it is well placed for easy access to the beach and shops all within a five minutes walk. There are a wealth of Tapas bars and quaint shops scattered around the alleyways all offering reasonable food at reasonable prices. The main beach next to the old town is vast and great for surfing off. Visit the Roman ruins down the coast, its worth the short drive.

Room Tip: Rooftop, you get your own roof terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldudes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Welcoming, stylish, clean, central.. Special place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banu_Genc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
5.5 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Escondite del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Escondite del Viento

Property: Hotel El Escondite del Viento
Address: Calle Comendador 1, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butique hotel in an old buliding completely restaured.Incredible fourniture, Wood and glass, the perfect covination.8 rooms .Silent and light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Escondite del Viento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing