We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled little hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Escondite del Viento
Ranked #3 of 32 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chilled little hotel, great location”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here for a week in October with my wife and six year old son and had a great time. We found the owners Jose and Alexandrea very welcoming and Jose even played chess with my son on one of the rainy days. Breakfast is made up of cereal, salamis and excellent cheeses.

The rooms are spacious and modern with everything you need and if they don't have it Jose will try his best to help. Situated in the heart of the old town, it is well placed for easy access to the beach and shops all within a five minutes walk. There are a wealth of Tapas bars and quaint shops scattered around the alleyways all offering reasonable food at reasonable prices. The main beach next to the old town is vast and great for surfing off. Visit the Roman ruins down the coast, its worth the short drive.

Room Tip: Rooftop, you get your own roof terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldudes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    48
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
103
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Welcoming, stylish, clean, central.. Special place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banu_Genc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Oct. The hotel is well situated for a trip to Tangiers, Morocco. You can catch the ferry from the town port.

The inn is situated right in the middle of all the activity in Tarifa. As with many inns in Europe, you have to drag your bags to the door since the entrances are up a very narrow, walking only, pathway.

The inn is decorated in art noveau style. Very modern. everything was clean and we had the room all the way up on the terrace with our own little sitting area.
the room was clean but the drawback was that unless you left the glass sliding door open, you got no breeze since there was no window. Also, the bathroom is enclosed entirely in glass, at least in our room and the other one we saw on the first floor. While that might be fine for most people, if you are traveling with kids, it might pose a bit of a problem!!

Breakfast in the basement foyer was ok-
It is included in the room price. The innkeepers were very helpful, both Jose and his wife.

All in all, I would recommend this inn.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had an extremely clean triple room at this hotel. The room did have a frosted bathroom wall which was no problem - just turned our head when someone was using it. The hotel was in a great location in old Tarifa - walking distance to the port, beaches, shopping, restaurants and the quaint old town and was fairly quite.
Staff was excellent! Wonderful with recommendations, went above and beyond to help set up wind surf lessons, always helpful and pleasant. Also, set out some coffee and rolls for us when we needed to leave early before breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhsmithdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Visiting the south of Spain during the month of November 2010, we planned to stop in Tarifa for one night. Since the weather was so good and the hotel so nice, we decided to stay the whole week. What a nice surprise!! The Hotel was very much like home, Alejandra and jose were so friendly and helpful, the decoration deserves to be published in magizines....In the center of the village but five minutes walk from the beach , the restaurants, the shopping centre...I loved tarifa in winter, so calmed but still amusing. After a day of amazing kite surf, it was great to have a hot bath and enjoy staying in the room with a big DVD selection or go out for a drink without driving.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristinatelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in October for our wedding in Tarifa. From the very beginning Jose and Alejandra were very helpful! We had booked 3 rooms, the 2 in the attic with the nice terraces and 1 in the first floor (bigger than the attic ones) for us and part of the family.

The hotel is very clean, modern and cozy. The bed was comfortable, we had every night a great sleep. We loved the glass walls of the bathroom! There is DVD player in each room, we could borrow some films for free at the reception. The breakfast was good and you could sit outside or have it at the terrace. They offered us free mineral water every night, you just need to ask for it to the security guard.
The location is perfect, in the heart of Tarifa and still quiet. There are plenty of restaurants and bars near the hotel.

We really thank Jose and Alejandra for the bottle of Cava you prepared for us, for helping us finding a good restaurant for dinner for 18 people the day after our wedding (the food was excellent) and for offering always their support. We definitely recommend this hotel. You will feel like home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I've been to Taifa 4 times and always stay in the old town - previously i've stayed at Dar Cilla and Sacristia which are both charming but when it comes to confort this hotel is far superior. The rooms have lovely quality touches - smooth, monogramed sheets and fluffy towels. Most importantly for me it is right in the heart of town to enjoy the atmosphere but you can keep your room very cool, quiet and dark by closing the window shutters and there is an almost silent ceiling fan, together with a very comfortable, sturdy bed- we enjoyed a great night's sleep / siesta. The shower is excellent and all fittings good quality. Modernist style isn't everyone's taste but it's incredibly comfortable. Excellent cleaning service every day and security at night( which we didn't have at Dar Cilla last year). Alejandra and Jose manage to combine a proffessional service with a nice laid back manner, we were made to feel welcome - they were friendly but not over the top. The breakfast provided is excellent - decent coffee!
I am struggling to find any negatives for this place ( a first for me!) - my only comment would be the roof terrace is nothing like as attractive as others in the town - no sea view or charm - just an outside area - but there are so many nice bars to sit outside downstairs who cares!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireHostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.5 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Escondite del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Escondite del Viento

Property: Hotel El Escondite del Viento
Address: Calle Comendador 1, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butique hotel in an old buliding completely restaured.Incredible fourniture, Wood and glass, the perfect covination.8 rooms .Silent and light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Escondite del Viento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing