We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spainish Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spainish Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great location, great rooms / aprtments staff are friendly and helpful, apartment appointed with kitchen, lounge dinning table and tbe best shower i have had since ariving in Spain. We drove into Tarifa had some difficulty finding from sat nav however once parked easy walk to hotel and receptionist came back to car and helped carry luggage back suggested best place for parking and recommended great place for Tapas, which turned out to be great!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks a lot for your words and we hope you come back again next season,all the best and thank you again,Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    30
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
148
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madrid
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice place! Nice attention! Very well located in The heart of tarifa. Close to The restaurants and bars but in a quiet street. We had a great stay. The price includes fresh bread For breakfast, and they leave it at your door every morning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmadMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your words and we hope you come back next season,all the best !!!! and kind regards,Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

my boyfriend took me to Tarifa as a surprise for our anniversary a few weeks ago, and he chose Koala apartments for our stay, knowing i like casual, funky yet stylish locations.
We stayed en Kalao apartment for a weekend and loved the interior design and special design objects in the flat.
the white wodden beans on the roof reminded me of Greece, the toilet sink recess reminded me of Africa, while the funky kitchen chairs made it all very contemporary!
the owners are very kind and discreet, they are happy to help if you need otherwise you really have the feeling of being in your own seaside house.
the location is just great, you can walk to the sea or to a lovely little restaurant in just minutes.
I hope i will be able to go again in summertime!
thank you for a great sta!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivalofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks a lot for your words and we hope you come back to Koala next season,really kind regards,Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Booked this as a result of Tripadvisor rave reviews. There's somehing odd here. For a start this is not a Hotel. It's just 5 apartments - 3 good, 1 very average, 1 poor - with no bar or dining facilities and an occasional concierge who is there a few hours a day. Notwithstanding 5 rooms, there are 117 reviews, mostly outstanding.- 6 of them June 2012, 7 in July 2012. Next favourite hotel in Tarifa has 41 rooms and 57 reviews. - Do the math, as they say...

We phoned them en route a couple of times from 4pm onwards to ask directions; no reply. Arrived at hotel 7.30pm found it locked and dark. - Thought it had shut down. Tried phone and could hear it ringing from the street, no anwer, Tried cell number on hotel sign - de-listed.

Went to cafe and phoned agent - booking.com. - Brilliant response. Paula had another cell number and contacted manager. Gave him a blast and he came to hotel with a friend. We had paid 110 euros for an apartment and he gave us the 75 euro room meauring 10ft 6" x 12ft INCLUDING BATHROOM - which had a screen wall that didn't go up to the roof. Double bed hard up into a corner, dry-cleaning clothes-hangers on an open aluminium frame. Then manager couild not find keys. Last seen phoning cleaners - 50 minutes later he returned, still no keys. It was approaching 9pm and we had not eaten but couldn't leave stuff in unlocked room. Paula rang to see if OK - Told her problems and she rang him and he got another blast. He upgraded us to a better room - the 90 euro Kalao, but still not what we had booked (these were occupied). He also offered a 50% room reduction and got someone to take us to a restuarant where we had a modest meal: they paid for food, I paid for drink.
The room we now had was better but quuirky - good shower, but only a single tap / faucet with cold water in the bathrom basin - note it wasn't that the water was not hot, there was only a cold feed to the basin. We were there in the winter, so no problem, but there was no aircon and this room costs 165 euros / $215 in the summer.

The manager apologised and said problem was due to his child being in hospital. Didn't buy this as I knew more Spanish than he realised and picked up on some rude comments he made to his colleage. Moreover, whist the discount / free meal was a very generous response, it was motivated by the threat of a blog and he asked me to write to booking.com. to say we were now happy.

Bottom line, they had lost my booking and had let the room to someone else. I spoke to the occupier of one of the good apartments and he was perfectly satisfied - though, like us, no-one was about when they arrived, ("At Lunch")

On the plus side, the housekeeping is outstanding but no sign of fresh bread reported - long-life milk and cellophne warpped buns.

Overall, this is overpriced and under-quality. - $215 for a room in summer with no aircon, no breakfast and no hot water to the bathroom basin is daft. If we had not booked it through booking.com, we would have had no accomodation and no way of contacting manager. 2 stars reflects the apologies and compensation, otherwise it would have been one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank elteleltel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Koala Tarifa was such a comfortable and relaxing place to stay, in a great location and a lovely town. The apartments are decorated in a modern and interesting style and everything is well appointed and spotless. Close to restaurants, cafes and other local shops. Quiet and relaxing, we were very happy there! Would highly recommend it and would go back if in Tarifa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpls-melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your words and we hope to see you again in Koala next season,all the best and kind regards,Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoornaar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We've stayed one week in hotel Koala this summer and really enjoyed it.

We got a warm welcome from Marta when we arrived. So that was a really good start. The room was not very big, but really nice (design-ish, clean and very bright). And the owners are great! Very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is located in the middle of the old town in a small alley. So it's quiet but very central. Just perfect!

We love Tarifa and hotel Koala!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thera85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your words and if you think about to come back to Tarifa next season we will very happy to receive you again,all the best couple and kind regards,Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent just a few days at this superb hotel in the very heart of Old Tarifa. The hotel is a conversion of a family home so it is completely unique and full of character. The accommodation is superb, beautiful bathroom, kitchen and living space with everything you could possibly need. The proprietors are brilliantly friendly and helpful - really can't praise this hotel enough, if it wasn't for Tarifa being such a lovely town to wander around we wouldn't have left our apartment!

Room Tip: There are three apartments of different sizes, I think they will all be the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your words and we hope to see you again next season,kind regards and all the best,Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa

Property: Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
Address: Calle Castelar 11, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a little hotel with 3 apartments and two rooms with mini-kitchen,with reception,a little garden for only two apartments and a little solarium in the terrace for all the guests.We have diary -cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing