We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Torre(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cortijo las Pinas(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$76
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Meson de Sancho(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Alameda(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$47
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Blanco(Tarifa)
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
206
32
3
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
32
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towneach morninggreat showerself cateringtop floorroof terracemartakoalasapartmentvibe
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 248 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our second visit to Koala, and this time both our children joined us. Bjorn had kindly arranged for us to have one of the larger apartments ALAKO throughout our stay.
Our original booking was for 8 days, but upon discovering the room had become vacant we ended up staying longer for an additional 4 days (a good indication of how much we enjoy ourselves here).
Tarifa is a great little town with lots of atmosphere, and staying at such a beautifully decorated Andalucian hotel such as Koala makes a visit here even more special.
Bjorn and Marta are two charming people who once again made every effort to ensure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Offering lots of good advice about Tarifa’s attractions served up with plenty of good humour.

Strongly recommended!

Regards
Anthony and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony-Hutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Manager at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you family for your words ,we laugh all the time with them and always enjoy our little hotel and our town.We need to continue with our spanish classes ja,ja,ja..........next year more we hope.Have a nice winter time!!! and all our best wishes!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Koala in mid July, EVERYTHING about our experience was great..
We had some trouble getting there for the 1st night and had to do a bit of emailing to and fro with the staff, who made it very easy and were so helpful. Once we arrived the welcome was warm, the staff/owners super freindly and helpfull, the hotel was gorgeous and the Town was awsome! The hotel is situated right in the heart of Tarifa old Town which has the most laid back, freindly vibe ever. We thought it was kind of like a Spanish Brighton!
Marta and Bjorn were two of the loveliest folk we have ever met and we cant wait to return, we highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Tarifa, especially if you like brighton!
Phil and Saoirse

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philipgilsonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We are really happy for your review about our little hotel,thank you very much for your words and we hope you come back next season or in the future,all the best for you and kind regards,Marta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We only stayed for 1 night but would agree with other reviewers, the hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our room was one of the small ones, and although it was neat and compact, it had everything we needed, was very clean, modern and tastefully decorated, and in keeping with its surroundings. The shower was excellent! Breakfast is provided by way of self service, all readily available in your room with fresh bread delivered each morning - in our little room this seemed a little tight so I would opt for a bigger room on our next visit, particularly for longer stays. The Koala is perfectly located too, on a pretty back street in the old town, 2 mins walk to some lovely tapas bars or 2 mins the other way for a mojito. Faultless, really.

Room Tip: If you can afford a larger room, go for it
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenInSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and for us will be a placer to see you again in Koala in the future,kind regards,Marta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We are big fans of Rick Steves, but we found this on trip advisor (ranked #1 and we now we know why). It is a little hard to find in the old city, but well worth it: just get direction before you go. The room was great. Way big, food and drink in fridge ( part of the breakfast but available anytime). The staff was beyond amazing! They were helpful with everything. It is just a couple blocks away from restaurants, and a 5 minute walk from the port (I would recommend a day trip to Tangier, Morocco). Maybe one of the best things was a huge basket of laundry for only 15 Euro (as the middle of our trip, this was priceless). And if you were not sure about going to Tarifa, go. It was as good as or better than Madrid and Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goneinaheartbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Director General at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks a lot for your words,we hope to see you again !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a lovely stay. Everyone made us feel ever so welcome and made a real fuss of our 2yr old daughter. They put a high chair and large baby bath in our room without requesting it. Our daughter was particularly pleased with her baby bath. It was impossible to get her out of it! Really enjoyed Tarifa but struggled a little with the wind (not normally so bad) and lack of shade at the beaches for little ones. Should mention there are quite a lot of big stairs to some of the rooms but our daughter seemed to manage ok as long as we held her hand. Would definitely recommend this highly. Worth the cost.

Room Tip: We had a room that had a shared terrace which was lovely as on a really windy day we went back and had drinks as sheltered. It was also large enough to accommodate a family of 4 comfortably. (Room - Laoka)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Director General at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks a lot for your words,we hope to see you again !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews