We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place next to the beach”
Review of Surla

Surla
Ranked #12 of 248 Restaurants in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Surla is a small coffee-restaurant located close to the sea, out to the old town, in the new, "less-touristic" part of Tarifa. We are open every day from 9.00 am, servig tasty and fresh home-made food: we switch our menu three times in a day, so you can enjoy our place for breakfast, lunch, afternoon break (coffe, fresh juices, selection of theas, drinks and home made cakes) till the Sushi (only available for dinner). We take care about our customers with a friendly service, cozy and relaxed atmosphere. Great vibe to just chill and surf the net or engage in some interesting conversation with the locals.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place next to the beach”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very calm and pleasant place to have a good beakfast in the morning and drink a nice fresh
smoothie in the afternoon.
Went there many times! Nice decoration...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanuska P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    97
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“friendly and relaxed”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Been to Surla for many years - visiting Tarifa since 2001 and a very convenient spot near the beach and our apartment, The coffee and cake/pastry choice in the mornings is great, Cheerful service and comfortable place (now they have upgraded the seating and windows). Had a good lunch there - great chicken caesar with some inventive dressing giving a special Surla touch. Lovely open sandwiches too - tomato/goats cheese and aubergine/tomato.

Free WiFi - but my iphone 2 always refuses to connect there - laptops and ipads seem OK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surla T, Propietario at Surla, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! We are glad to hear you apreciated so many details! Sorry for the Wifi service, our internet provider is Telefonica but in Tarifa the connection is like the wind........hope to see you soon!:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great sushi for Spain”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited as a family and were treated kindly and efficiently by the staff. The restaurant is very much geared to surfer-types but they were more than happy to cheerfully accommodate us.

Sushi is only served at the weekends from 8pm onwards. There is plenty of free on-street parking nearby.

The sushi would be considered pretty average for a major city with a significant Japanese community, but for this part of Spain it is the best you can get. The selection is mainly salmon and tuna rolls and sashimi and all are made fresh and quickly.

The nice staff and chilled out decor really make for a fun visit and if you are craving sushi in tarifa there is no better place to go to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gibmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giethoorn
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“every day”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Every day i came with my friend for visiting and checking the daily emails. Nice food/drinks with good quality. Owners and staff are always wish you a very welcome, and good luck with the new place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RubenGiethoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Duquesa, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Sushi sushi yum yum”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great sushi menu in the evenings, really inventive and large portions too, the Italian owner is lovely and its well worth listening to her recommendations. Lovely welcoming and funky atmosphere too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surla also viewed

Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Surla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing