We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Honeymoon at La Estrella” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Estrella de Tarifa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Estrella de Tarifa
Ranked #18 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at La Estrella”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to have a seasoned Tarifa tourist organise our honeymoon for us. Neither of us had visited Tarifa and had no idea what to expect.

Centrally located, La Estrella was the perfect base from which to explore. It is impossible to get lost, shops, restaurant and the beach are all within a short walking distance. The hotel also offers free WIFI; a must for the modern traveler.

We arrived late in the evening, after reception hours which was no problem; our host even came to the Port to meet us and walk us to the Hotel.

Our room was up a charming winding stone staircase, illuminated by soft romantic candlelight with a smell of incense and music quietly playing in the background.

Our room had patio doors which opened fully to allow cool air in, with bars across the windows which allowed us to feel safe if we chose to leave the doors open whilst we slept.

The floor was linoleum which kept the room from being overheated. There was plenty of hot water in the shower in the morning and although the hotel does not provide breakfast, there was fresh fruit provided daily.

Magazines and maps about Tarifa were placed in our rooms to help us find our way. There was also an a list of activities that you can book through reception.

I unfortunately became unwell during my time in Tarifa due to an infection (nothing to do with the hotel, just an unfortunate circumstance) and being a first time traveller, I had no idea who to contact but I knew I needed to see a Doctor. My husband spoke to reception who offered to call a Doctor for us and gave us directions to the medical centre when we said we would rather go ourselves than call a Dr out.

Our room was cleaned daily and refreshed with new toiletries and toilet roll; even on the day where I was feeling unwell and chose to return to bed, declining room cleaning, the cleaning staff came to the door to ensure that we had enough toiletries.

When it came to checking out, we had an activity planned for that day and had to leave for that activity prior to reception opening. As the room had already been paid for in advance, reception told us the night before that we could drop our keys in the mailbox to save having to come back during reception hours.

We had a lovely stay here and would happily recommend the hotel as a base to others.

Room Tip: With the winding staircase, I would not recommend the hotel to people with moderate to severe mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -highland0fling-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Although the hotel is closed from 2pm to 6pm, it was worth the wait. We stayed at La Estrella de Tarifa in July 2014. we were located on the top floor- up 5 flights of stairs. Our room had 360 view of the town. The room was tastefully decorated with blues, whites and reds. We had a kitchenette, tv, wifi, and huge bed. Our room would accommodate 6 easily. The breeze off the ocean carried through the room. In the foyer there is a bowl of fresh fruit for the taking and our host was friendly and was able to answer any questions we had. There is no parking but as we were on a motorcycle we were able to stash the bike on a side road without concern.

Room Tip: No air conditioning but a breeze all day and night. We happened to be there during Blanco de Noches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We traveled for in Spain, in Granada, Malaga and Tarifa. At Estrella de Tarifa has sickened the great smells of mold and filth. It was the most expensive and the poorest hotel we stayed at. There wasn't the fresh fruit provided. The room was very small and in the bathroom the sink was so high that I couldn't wash. The bath has not the door, but it is only divided by a wall where, in the opposite, there is the bed. There wasn't airconditioning and the room was damp all the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finferla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is awesome. It has no parking possibilities attached, which is the only disadvantage. The place itself is led by really nice and helpful people. It is situated directly in Tarifa centre (old town), just a foodstep away from shops and restaurants. The rooms are small, but very charming, very clean and nicely decorated. Fresh fruits are served in the floor where at night candles light your way. Perfect place for the price. Recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SwissTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A very quirky hostal, different to a hostel. The ladies are renovating a very old house in the old town. There are twists and turns on the way to many and individual rooms. We had a room that had a private bathroom. It was lovely, small but lovely.Tthe bathroom was extremely small, even turn sideways while sitting on the toilet, but a gorgeous hotel feeling made up for it. We had some downtime after traveling from Cadiz that morning. When we emerged after 9.00pm the spiral staircase and surrounds were filled with beautiful relaxing music and candle light in all sorts of Moroccan lanterns etc. After staying in many 4 star hotels for weeks I loved the ambience. Reception is closed between 1 and 5 but they can be contacted if necessary. They speak English and it's an easy walk from the bus station. Tarifa had a terrific feel to it. Very relaxed and a calm feeling. Stay longer than 2 days!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you reserve a room at the Estrella, avoid the one at the ground floor. For 30 euros per person the double looks uncomfortable, doesn't have the door to the bathroom (...) and it's very little. Breakfast is not included. Instead the rooms upstairs are nice, well furnitured and wide.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank susannaMessina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We travelled for two weeks in Spain, in Malaga, Granada, Sevilla and Tarifa. La Estrella de de Tarifa was the most expensive and the poorest hotel we stayed in. The room was very small and the bathroom was so tiny that you couldn't even sit proberly on the toilet seat. The rooms cleanliness didn't meet the price, eg. when we arrived the room floor was full of dark black hair. There wasn't airconditioning so the room was damp all the time.

We looked around and the other hotels seemed to give better value fot your money. I've stayed in much better and cheaper hostels than La Estrella de Tarifa.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalsaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 18 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#6 of 18 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 18 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#3 of 18 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
0.2 mi away
The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estrella de Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estrella de Tarifa

Property: La Estrella de Tarifa
Address: Calle San Rosendo 2, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Estrella de Tarifa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Estrella de Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing