We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#3 good, #9 not so much”
Review of La Casa Amarilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa Amarilla
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our 1st night in Tarifa we had a lovely room, so we were surprised when we returned 2 nights later and got a significantly worse room. #3 had stained glass, sufficient counter space and good windows. #9 had none of these, plus a rattley door and two twin beds just pushed together. There's no one there after 9 so you have to deal with issues on your own, but the desk people were very friendly and helpful when they were there. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 118 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

we stayed at la casa amarilla in march 2012. we chose tarifa simply as a base for tangier and gibraltar. We loved this town. Turns out it might be my favorite place i visited in spain. Who knew Spain could have such a spectacular Atlantic coast beach. Everyones raves about Marbella. They can have Marbella. Tarifa is small, quaint, friendly and very old. Absolutely wonderful. We should have not gone to Gibraltar and spend more time in Tarifa. La casa amarilla could not be more accomodating. The town's population in 3 digits so when you arrive just ask your way to the front door. We must have asked 5 different people they all knew where it was. The reception area is empty after 2p on some days or 4pm on others. no problem they'll leave the key at the restaurant across the street just call them. We didnt want to leave our luggage in a parking lot outside Gibraltar the day we checked out. No problem ask and they'll let you leave your luggage in the room (if no one else is coming of course). We checked out at 11am left luggage in room, returned around 6pm, took our luggage and left key on kitchen counter. They're great! FYI forget Gibraltar. Every town in Andalucia, Spain is more interesting than Gibraltar.Tangier was cool. Only 30 minute ferry ride from Tarifa right to the city center port of Tangier.

Room Tip: No elevators and all rooms are upstairs. I stayed in the room right across reception area. Large roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emelyn1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

nice building, great location, rooms with veranda have great view of street.
bed and kitchenette basic. furniture rather worn but fit in with the general look.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a 2 nights stay, and wished that we had planned to stay longer. Definetely a place to make yourselves at home for a week or so. Just step outside the door, and you are meters from the main and cosy street with food, shops and just a short walk to the beach.
Will return if we have the chance.
Cooked our own breakfast, and had a good space to relax when we wanted.
A bit steep price though compared to what we expected from the reviews, ~90 eur per night. But it felt like it was worth it. Good cleaning service and very nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belami42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Everything we wanted or hoped for (except maybe included breakfast) was there for us in Room 4 at the back. The studio apartment was spacious and well-furnished. Included: table and chairs, closets and drawers, TV, AC with remote, and all one would need to cook, including an electric range with hood, microwave, fridge, eating and cooking utensils. The mattress was very good. Quality plumbing, but no upper hook for the hand-held shower head. Tastefully decorated. Shutters on doors to mini-balcony were very effective in keeping out the light (and sound?). Quiet--no guest or street noise. Central location, walking distance to Tangiers ferry. Would be a good choice for an extended stay in Tarifa.

Barbara and Anna were both very helpful with information about the town and in giving advice about our onward journey by bus and train.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights in september 2011 and liked Tarifa and the hotel so much that we booked some extra nights. First we had the little appartment which was at the back of the hotel and the last days we got the bedroom without kitchen at the front. We liked the last room better since it had a view on the street which was really lively in the evening. It was nice to sit on the balcony with some "vino" or a "cerveza". The rooms are wel decorated, large and clean. We didn´t have anything to complain about. Also the Swiss lady at the reception was very nice. The location is perfect, right in the centre of the city. We only had problems at night in the room at the back. There´s a restaurant located on the other side of the alley right under the room and this caused a lot of noise. In the other room we had less problems. Either way we didn´t make a big ¨problem of it since there are no disco´s so the noise stopped most of the times at 1.00 at night. The only downpoint was that the reception is not always occupated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Had two stays sandwiched around a couple of days in tangier. It was our second visit to tarifa after a ten year absence and really enjoyed this great little vacation apartment just down the. Street from the church in the old city. Rooms were clean, spacious and the kitchenette was great for brea,kfast and snacks. The staff were very friendly and more than willing to be helpful with any request, no matter how small. Would definitely stay they again and would recommend it as a somewhat quirky but character fillers getaway.

Room Tip: We found that the rooms on the third floor, particularly the loft rooms 7 and 12 were great. Numer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
364 reviews
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
196 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Blanco
Casa Blanco
#17 of 19 in Tarifa
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amarilla

Address: Calle Sancho IV El Bravo 9, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Amarilla 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Amarilla Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing