We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We booked but didn't stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Vagamundos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Vagamundos
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We booked but didn't stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We lost a night's deposit but couldn't stay. The rooms were not air conditioned and very shabby. I could have got past that but the bathroom put me over the edge. We grabbed our bags and walked around town until we found something better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
55
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

If a small hotel can have it all, this little place does it. Located right in the old city, it's close to everything. Just walk there, the alleys are too narrow for cars. The staff is pleasant, breakfast offers a little of everything and the coffee is great! Note - they only have stairs so mobility issues might be difficult for some. Also if you need AC - there's a killer fan, but no AC...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The pleasant and well-intentioned service was mismatched with the two rooms we reserved, one of which smelled strongly of urine (we tracked it down to blankets in a closet), and electrical circuits that were dodgy (flickering light in one bathroom, and one of us got a shock from a power outlet). Internet only inside, in the lobby.

Breakfast is simple, but okay. Coffee is good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishes_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed here for a friend's wedding over the second May Bank Holiday this year. It was exceptionally cleanly. The rooms have subtle Moroccan decor, and western modcons. The shower in the bathroom was excellent, with the large 'rain' shower head. A truly awesome shower!
Situated in the heart of the old town, a really good distance from the Port and centre of the Old Town.
Breakfast was limited - just cereal, toast, croissants/muffins, juices and strong coffee! No 'hot' food on offer.. this wasn't a problem as there were plenty of great eateries nearby for Brunch etc.
Relatively easy to find. I was able to park outside the old town for free and it was a short walk to the hotel.
Would stay there again. The rooms stayed relatively cool, and there were powerful fans to keep you cool at night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We made the escape for 3 days without kids, being a last minute arrnagement finding accomodation in tarifa town was difficult. Posada was the best value and had availiabilty. Before booking you must make a decicion, out of town and risk none availiity of taxis's or town centre sleeping which means you can enjoy a few mojitos and the great nightlife. 'The mojhitos will also help when getting to sleep as the area around the Posada is the heart of the nightlife!!'. Best find was a fish restaurant inside the fish market, will be only be open in the evenings....very local, super value, freshest fish in town.

Posada staff super friendly and very welcoming; breakfast was included, albeit very basic....still great coffee and toast...would definatley return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosLLanitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2010

Cute little hotel right in center of Tarifa. Very clean rooms. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. Only drawback was the noise from the street late into the night. Tarifa is a party town so it was to be expected. Other than that it was terific!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMonaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

We arrived back in Tarifa after catching a late-afternoon ferry from Tangier on a Saturday. We did not have reservations, but both Lonely Planet and Rick Steve's guidebook listed Posada Vagamundos as a recommendation. We were able to secure the last room, which was on the 3rd floor (4th floor was the top) on the street. There was a great balcony, but we were warned by the woman who checked us in that the street had a tendency to get quite loud around 10 or 11 pm. Having spent the previous night in a hotel overlooking the port of Tangier, we were ok with the potential noise.

The room was not large, had a double (in US) bed and a decent bathroom. There was no closet or chest, but an armoir to hang up a few things. There was no A/C, but a ceiling fan was fine for the night we were there. The noise from the fan also helped to drown out some of the noise from the street.

Before going out to get some food, we had a bottle of wine on the roof-top terrace. It was from this terrace that we absolutely fell in love with this little town. Fabulous view of the ocean, lights of Morocco across the strait, great ocean breeze, aromas of fantastic food from the pork restaurant across the little street (the restaurant only serves pork, they have no menu and it was decidedly one of the top five meals either of us had ever had in our lives). Everything was amazing.

We left the hotel fairly early to catch the bus to Algerciras, but spent the remainder of our trip wishing we could go back to Tarifa and spend more time there.

Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Blanco
Casa Blanco
#15 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Vagamundos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Vagamundos

Property: Posada Vagamundos
Address: Calle San Francisco 18, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Vagamundos 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Vagamundos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Vagamundos Tarifa
Posada Vagamundos Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing