We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada La Sacristia
Ranked #11 of 34 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2014

It's a beautifully decorated boutique style small hotel. Clean. Nice staff. Good breakfast.
Had a room with balcony, very nice and cozy.
It's also located not far from the docks and ferries. Had a good stay so I highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your recent experience with us here in Posada La Sacristía. We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you very much for your feedback and positive comments.
Kind regards,

Serafín Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Posada La Sacristia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 302 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had the best stay throughout my Morocco + Tarifa trip at Posada La Sacristia. It's a lovely boutique hotel tastefully decorated with modern art pieces. Each room has a different design/theme. The one I got was on the roof top with terrace and two balconies overlooking the street. Surprisingly it's very quiet at night, probably due to the fact that January is a low season for kite surfing -- what Tarifa is best known for.

Some reviews here complaint that the reception area is combined with the bar/cafe downstairs, thus staff could be busy at times and might not be attentive enough for hotel guests. Personally I don't find any problem with that. It just makes the whole experience cozier and friendlier (instead of a cold formal reception at a 5-star hotel)! Posada is also one of the hip spots in town. Thanks to that I've even met a bunch of cool local people at the cafe!

A small piece of advice... while the top floor rooms are more than just lovely, some of them have poor / no wifi reception. If this is an issue to you, opt for a room on lower floor.

Room Tip: Rooftop rooms -- come with a common terrace area and some even with balconies. Wifi connection is po...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacjac0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and kind comment about your recent stay with us at Posada La Sacristia.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable time among us. We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you consider us the best hotel in Tarifa.


We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Serafin Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This experience was unfortunately a catalogue of errors.

After quite a few emailed exchanges and having requested and promised a specific suite with patio we were told, on arrival, that it was taken. Instead a patio-less, hot water-less, damp-rich and noise-infested one was served. It was so bad that we asked to be moved temporarily to a small bedroom in the main building Noise blamed on uneducated locals, the absence of hot water on the extravagant desire to fill a bath tub! The replacement room was tiny, with the smallest bathroom ever seen and had a very bad mattress but at least we knew it was only for one night so we endured it. The manager tried to make amends by offering us a free dinner for two nights, we took the offer the first night. The food was really quite bland and uninspired, do not eat there. And we didn't again

Moved to alternative suite on second day but no luck here neither because of: noise from the street (although admittedly in the centre of Tarifa noise is never far enough), noise from upstairs caused fragmented sleep. The flat upstairs was occupied by a possibly mentally unstable adult and his carer. This poor guy stomped around the flat in the middle of the night, admitted strange guttural sounds, his voice reached us distorted. It sounds like I am making this up but this is actually what it was like, and I am not blaming this ill man upstairs at all, but the people that let this space (there are apartments run by the hotel in various locations).

We were offered a bottle of cava as a further gesture of goodwill.

Also, maybe minor stuff compared to earlier horrors: no liquid soap or water replaced when they ran out in the apartment, no wi fi on day before departure. Breakfast basic to poor, not really what you would expect for these prices and location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such detailed review. Your constructive criticism is valued, and it is one of the best ways for us to understand how we can enhance your guest experience in the future. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We understand your concerns and your comments will be passed on to respective departments.
Aparently all the good willing of the management to make you happy was not enough: changing rooms, bottle of cava, posibility of having dinner (and probably more options that I don´t remember given that, I belive, it happened 9 moths ago)... It sounds like we are very concern about our customers and wish to make them happy.
We are very thankful because, at least, you mention all the effors of the management to make your stay much easier and happier. Obviously it was not enough.
We wish you a Happy New Year.
Kind regards,

Serafín Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night in late November and enjoyed it so much. Upon arrival, after checking in, we went to the lounge and had a drink. Later, after touring and tapas, we got back to the hotel to find a fire set in the fireplace and sat in front of it, enjoying yet another drink! The staff was friendly. We didn't do the breakfast, so cannot comment on that.

Parking - we were fortunate and upon arrival in town, took a left on to the street that leads to a pay parking lot - and found free street parking right next to the old walls of the city and walked into the city - past the cathedral and the hotel was down a small street on the left - easy to miss if not looking for it.

Tarifa is small so you cannot get lost and the docks for the ferry to Tangier are an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review. Please come back soon!!

Sincerely,

Serafín Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just had a fantastic stay at this hotel in the heart of Tarifa. Despite it being November, we had great weather and were able to sunbath on the beach and go for a (rather chilly!) swim. The hotel is small and charming on a small side street in central Tarifa. What really makes the place special is ALL of the staff, who are helpful beyond bounds. My girlfriend arrived with tonsillitis, the help we received was superb from finding weekend pharmacies, lots of hot milk & honey (& whiskey), meal brought to our room etc. Thank you to you all. Special thanks to Sarafin - we'll catch up with you again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs. Spicer,

Thank you for the glowing review of your time spent at La Posada..

It is wonderful to hear that our staff helped deliver such a memorable stay!

I would like to say that you were a lovely couple that we enjoyed to look after a lot. I was such a pleasure.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Posada La Sacristia.

Warm Regards

Serafín Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a room on the top floor, which appeared to be converted attic space.The door into the room was less than 66" high; to get in we had to go up a step and then crouch down to walk through a window-like door. The door to the bathroom from the bedroom was also less than 66" high and was down a step. The room was decorated nicely, but that did not disguise the fact that we were in a very cramped space. The internet did not work on our floor. The reception area is basically part of the bar and we had to flag down a waiter to have somebody check us in. The staff seemed quite put out about having to abandon their bar duties to check in hotel guests. We had to leave a day early due to a family medical issue. The staff told us we would have to pay for the entire rest of our stay because the booking company (booking.com) would charge them. We called booking.com and were told this wasn't the case. After several expensive conversations with booking.com, the hotel grudgingly allowed us to cancel if we paid 50% of our last night's stay. Cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the top floor unless you are under 5'2" because the doors to the rooms and b...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnchorageDinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear customer,

It saddens me considerably to read a review such as yours, as this is not indicative of our usual service standards.

Our hotel enjoys an excellent reputation founded on a high level product delivered with exceptional customer service, so it was concerning to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver the service for which we are renowned for.

I still maintain that we have some of the best staff at Posada La Sacristia, and do believe that this was an isolated incident.

We have since addressed this issue with the department and staff member concerned, and hope that an incident of this nature does not occur again.

I would like to remind you that most of our reviews are 5 over 5 because of the hotels customer service and staff.

However, and once I talked to the staff involved, I would like to mention that you left the hotel because you didn´t find anything of your intered in the town of Tarifa insted of family reasons you wrote in this site. That´s why the staff acted following our cancelation policy charging 50% instead of 100% according to it. Under other circunstacies I am sure the staff would have acted accordingly.

Also, I would like to mention that, once you make a reservation with booking.com, the rooms size is detailed in the site, so it shouldn´t be any surprise to our customers.

I do apologize for the following comment but customers should choose the hotel according to their expectations otherwise they will be always a bad feedback or review completly unfair and subjetive.

I thank you for taking the time to discuss your experience with me in length, as It is only through the voice of our guests that we are able to improve our product and/or our service culture.

Kind regards,

Serafin Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We just got back from a two-week trip to Spain, and this hotel/inn was by far our favorite of all the places we lodged at, and we didn't stay at any dumps. The room is wonderful and peaceful. The decor and ambience of the room made our stay perfect. It isn't right on the street, which is nice because there is less noise. It's in very close walking distance to the port, which is where the ferries leave for tangier. it was perfect! The staff was very friendly and helpful and accomodating. The in-house restaurant is pricey, and had we looked at the menu first we may have missed out! The food was DELICIOUS!!!! Seriously worth every penny. The zucchini and cream soup was so, so good. My husband got the white fish and I got vegetables. SO SO good. Honestly, the ONLY thing that I can imagine being even slightly annoying is that there is no elevator for bringing suitcases up to your room. We didn't care, but I imagine some might. We were even at the very top, two stories up and carried our stuff up. No big deal. WORTH. IT.

Room Tip: Ask for the top corner room facing the street. It was heaven-sent!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Mrs. Brooke,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews and I certainly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurant and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn about it.

On behalf of the entire team at Posada La Sacristia Tarifa, we are so pleased that you were able to experience our hotel and enjoy the service.

We look foward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,

Serafin Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
336 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tarifa Lances
Hotel Tarifa Lances
#7 of 19 in Tarifa
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Vagamundos
Posada Vagamundos
#14 of 19 in Tarifa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
186 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Sacristia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Sacristia

Address: Calle San Donato 8, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range: $105 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada La Sacristia 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Posada La Sacristia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Sacristia Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing