We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of Tarifa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada La Sacristia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada La Sacristia
Ranked #9 of 32 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the heart of Tarifa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just had a fantastic stay at this hotel in the heart of Tarifa. Despite it being November, we had great weather and were able to sunbath on the beach and go for a (rather chilly!) swim. The hotel is small and charming on a small side street in central Tarifa. What really makes the place special is ALL of the staff, who are helpful beyond bounds. My girlfriend arrived with tonsillitis, the help we received was superb from finding weekend pharmacies, lots of hot milk & honey (& whiskey), meal brought to our room etc. Thank you to you all. Special thanks to Sarafin - we'll catch up with you again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs. Spicer,

Thank you for the glowing review of your time spent at La Posada..

It is wonderful to hear that our staff helped deliver such a memorable stay!

I would like to say that you were a lovely couple that we enjoyed to look after a lot. I was such a pleasure.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Posada La Sacristia.

Warm Regards

Serafín Sánchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    74
    25
    26
    21
See reviews for
15
182
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a room on the top floor, which appeared to be converted attic space.The door into the room was less than 66" high; to get in we had to go up a step and then crouch down to walk through a window-like door. The door to the bathroom from the bedroom was also less than 66" high and was down a step. The room was decorated nicely, but that did not disguise the fact that we were in a very cramped space. The internet did not work on our floor. The reception area is basically part of the bar and we had to flag down a waiter to have somebody check us in. The staff seemed quite put out about having to abandon their bar duties to check in hotel guests. We had to leave a day early due to a family medical issue. The staff told us we would have to pay for the entire rest of our stay because the booking company (booking.com) would charge them. We called booking.com and were told this wasn't the case. After several expensive conversations with booking.com, the hotel grudgingly allowed us to cancel if we paid 50% of our last night's stay. Cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the top floor unless you are under 5'2" because the doors to the rooms and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnchorageDinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear customer,

It saddens me considerably to read a review such as yours, as this is not indicative of our usual service standards.

Our hotel enjoys an excellent reputation founded on a high level product delivered with exceptional customer service, so it was concerning to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver the service for which we are renowned for.

I still maintain that we have some of the best staff at Posada La Sacristia, and do believe that this was an isolated incident.

We have since addressed this issue with the department and staff member concerned, and hope that an incident of this nature does not occur again.

I would like to remind you that most of our reviews are 5 over 5 because of the hotels customer service and staff.

However, and once I talked to the staff involved, I would like to mention that you left the hotel because you didn´t find anything of your intered in the town of Tarifa insted of family reasons you wrote in this site. That´s why the staff acted following our cancelation policy charging 50% instead of 100% according to it. Under other circunstacies I am sure the staff would have acted accordingly.

Also, I would like to mention that, once you make a reservation with booking.com, the rooms size is detailed in the site, so it shouldn´t be any surprise to our customers.

I do apologize for the following comment but customers should choose the hotel according to their expectations otherwise they will be always a bad feedback or review completly unfair and subjetive.

I thank you for taking the time to discuss your experience with me in length, as It is only through the voice of our guests that we are able to improve our product and/or our service culture.

Kind regards,

Serafin Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We just got back from a two-week trip to Spain, and this hotel/inn was by far our favorite of all the places we lodged at, and we didn't stay at any dumps. The room is wonderful and peaceful. The decor and ambience of the room made our stay perfect. It isn't right on the street, which is nice because there is less noise. It's in very close walking distance to the port, which is where the ferries leave for tangier. it was perfect! The staff was very friendly and helpful and accomodating. The in-house restaurant is pricey, and had we looked at the menu first we may have missed out! The food was DELICIOUS!!!! Seriously worth every penny. The zucchini and cream soup was so, so good. My husband got the white fish and I got vegetables. SO SO good. Honestly, the ONLY thing that I can imagine being even slightly annoying is that there is no elevator for bringing suitcases up to your room. We didn't care, but I imagine some might. We were even at the very top, two stories up and carried our stuff up. No big deal. WORTH. IT.

Room Tip: Ask for the top corner room facing the street. It was heaven-sent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mrs. Brooke,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews and I certainly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurant and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn about it.

On behalf of the entire team at Posada La Sacristia Tarifa, we are so pleased that you were able to experience our hotel and enjoy the service.

We look foward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,

Serafin Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The only positive things are location in Old Town and nice old building. Not enough for the price they ask. Rooms are really tiny. Some countries have more spacious prison cells. Breakfast is average. Wifi is very problematic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_JaneRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments with regard your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your noted the beauty of the building where the hotel is alocated, a XVIIth century palace in the midst of Tarifa, a very well known hotel and highly renowned in lots of Hip hotels guides (Hip Hotels by Herbert Ypma, Great Scapes Special Edition by Taschen, Mr & Mrs. Smith, etc...).
It' s a pity you didn't appreciate the simplicity of the rooms and their beauty, but just their dimensions and size, where you felt like a prisioner instead of a client and "real" guest. I belive the Hotels in Russia (scandalously expensive most of them) haven't got rooms as that once of Catherine The Great, but it sounds like all kind of hotels should have them. It is necesary to change the mentality on the process of traveling and choosing the right hotel according to our expectations, is a must.
We thank you once again for sharing your valued opinion with us and look foward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Serafín Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were in Tarifa for a wedding and I wish we had more time in our room it was so beautiful. The hotel is very central in the old town which can be a little noisy but I loved waking up to the sounds of the bells from the church down the street. The breakfast was exactly what we needed and the coffee was the best I had in Tarifa. The staff went out of their way to help us. I had asked for a bottle of wine to be placed in our room upon arrival as it was our wedding anniversary and they made sure it was looked after. The bed was comfortable, the way that the two balconies provided a cross breeze and the helpful staff really made our stay. If we are every back in Tarifa we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and had two balconies which provided a beautiful cross breeze to cool do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountaingirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Fernie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate your doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular found the staff very professional and efficient. I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind words.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for staying with us and I look foward to welcoming you back to Posada La Sacristia in Tarifa in the future.

Kind regards,

Serafin Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Great location, which makes it unfortunately a bit noisy with all the animation in the surrounding streets. The hotel is full of charm, and the town is real fun. The staff at the sacristia was helpful, only problem was shower water not always hot. Still, great overall experience, I recommand this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear client,

many thanks for your review and feedback. We are very pleased you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay at La Posada.
We had some problems with the heater at that time that were sorted out as soon as we could. We do apologize because of that.
I appreciate the time you took to write your review and hope to see you very soon.
All the best.

Serafín Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Sacristia in early July and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. We were there under some special circumstances and they did everything to make our stay comfortable. One night I mentioned to the receptionist that I hadn't slept well because I could hear another guest talking really loudly and she actually spoke to the woman about it. I couldn't believe it, I was almost embarased but to be fair, the woman was above normal loud. The breakfast was fresh and delicious, they rooms were perfect and the hotel was very clean. The location was great because we could walk out in Tarifa to anything and easily hoped in the car for longer trips. I wouldn't bother looking for another hotel, this is it.

Room Tip: They have a great guy who can come and give a variety of massages should you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emskunze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear client,

many thanks for your review and feedback. We are very pleased you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay at La Posada.
We consider our clients the most important thing in our hotel and try to make them happy. That´s our commitment and responsability, also our enjoyment.
I appreciate the time you took to write your review and hope to see you very soon.
Many thanks again.
All the best.

Serafín Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Vagamundos
Posada Vagamundos
#13 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Sacristia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Sacristia

Property: Posada La Sacristia
Address: Calle San Donato 8, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada La Sacristia 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada La Sacristia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Sacristia Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing