We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada La Sacristia
Nearby Hotels
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Meson de Sancho(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Torre(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cortijo las Pinas(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$59
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hostal Alameda(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Blanco(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Tarifa(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
157
80
26
27
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
80
26
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorold buildinglovely boutiqueearly nightboutique stylehotel doorsmall hotelcharming hotelthe main streetbars and restaurantsreception arealovely roomferry portsouthern spaintapasfireplacetangier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 312 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is down a lovely little back street and has lots of character. The reception/dining area are tastefully decorated and we received a lovely welcome when we arrived. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and had a lovely little balcony (not large enough to sit on) but nice to have. The room had a lovely antique bed and a small but adequate bathroom with lovely tiles.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the restaurant. Our room was quiet with large shutters to block out any light so we both slept really well. There is a fan in the room also if it gets too warm.

Breakfast was a little bit on the slow side (getting coffee/tea) and there wasn't a great deal to choose from. It might be a good idea to expand the selection available slightly. The owner Serafin, is fabulous at what he does and made us feel really welcome at his establishment. He personally said goodbye to everyone checking out of the hotel on the morning we left. Lovely touch!!

I would recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay again when I am in Tarifa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfastgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Tarifa. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Serafin Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at La Sacristia following a recommendation from a friend. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and wanted something special and a little different. Upon arrival, we were very warmly greeted by the owner Sandra who offered us a bottle of Cava as an anniversary treat. She showed us to our room which did not disappoint. A huge bed, beautifully furnished with a lovely balcony. The bathroom was very nicely finished, although it would have been nice to have some shower gel, shampoo etc. Having unpacked, we returned to reception where Sandra spent some time recommending the best places to eat and visit. we took her advice and visited a tapas bar which was fab! That evening the staff were incredibly helpful in booking us a table at a nearby restaurant. The only criticism I had was during the night. The floors and walls are clearly very thin and it was rather noisy at times. All in all, we had a fantastic time and will definitely be visiting again. I will highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank all the staff for a lovely stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hello Heidi,

Thank you for choosing Posada La Sacristia for your recent stay in Tarifa. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at La Sacristia.

Kind regards,

Serafin Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really unique and charming. Funky mix of old and new decor, great art. Friendly staff,Always going out there way to help. Really comfortable bed and linen. Central, great location in the heart of the old town, car parking nearby,well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20pence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you for writing. I appreciate your feedback and your perspective about La Sacristia.
These kind of comments encourages us to continue working very hard to move on.
Many, many thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,

Serafin Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A terrific small hotel down a little cobblestone street in the middle of old town Tarifa. The location was perfect as it was only a short walk to the ferry terminal and dozens of restaurants and bars. We had the #9 room on the top floor with a vaulted ceiling, decent size bathroom and great bed. We had a nice window that opened out to a small quiet street. Since it was cooler than expected, there was no need for air conditioning even though we had it. There is not an elevator so if stairs are an issue you may need to take this into consideration.

Internet access was great in the bar/lounge area but we were not able to connect in our room. This was not an issue for us as it was quite enjoyable having a drink in the comfortable lobby area while online. The two nights we were stayed both had eveing events which made it quite noisy until around midnight. While it didn't bother us but it might be something to consider if you are a light sleeper.

They don't have parking but it was easy enough to find free parking just outside the old city wall. It was only a short walk to the hotel. It's not really possible to drive up to the hotel - we certainly did't want to. It was also only 5 minutes walk to the Tangier ferry terminal and just about anywhere else in town.

Not enough great things can be said about the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, especially Serafina (sorry if I spelled his name incorrectly) ! His restaurant recommendations only added to our enjoyable stay in Tarifa. I can't imagine that there is a better hotel in town. They also had a terrific breakfast buffet that was included along with tax in our rate of €137.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZ-LGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear client,

many thanks for your review and feedback. We are very pleased you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay at La Posada.
We consider our clients the most important thing in our hotel and try to make them happy. That´s our commitment and responsability, also our enjoyment.
I appreciate the time you took to write your review and hope to see you very soon.
Many thanks again.
All the best.

Serafin Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The decor makes this place special and the rooms are imaginatively designed, with little balconies, light, white curtains and tiny bath rooms (shower) which make you feel like you are not being extravagant yet takes you far enough away from anything looking like simple living.

La Sacristia is still cool, it has a cool vibe, cool stuff and cool music and as far as what I could gather it remains the most swanky hotel in the Old Town of Tarifa. The decor carries this hotel.

The downsides are 1) It is a bit of a walk from the beach (walking past the harbor) 2) The breakfast is very modest: toast, ham (2 types), cheese (1 type), cereals (2 types) and fruit (2 types) and yogurt (1 type). All of mid-low range quality, which is not what you would expect form looking at the beautiful room in which it is served. 3) Service is fine, but does not take the place to the next level.

Lastly, the hotel threw a flamenco night which begun at 11.30 (officially at 11.) at night and carried on for 2-3 hours, with many people coming in from the street, flooding the lobby and relaxation areas downstairs. On that night we thought it was charming and fun, however as it resonates throughout the thin walls (you can hear everything that goes on in this hotel) it might not be everyone cup of tea to be kept up til very late in the evening and/or not be able to hang out downstairs. I do not now how often they arrange these kind of events.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less noise and have chairs out side where you in relative peace can let your self be drenched in the sun.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSacristia, Owner at Posada La Sacristia, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.

Firstly, I would like to apologise with regards to the problem with the flamenco singer. It is true it was an unfortunate situation in this matter, due to the singer arriving an hour and a half late & I apologise profusely, It was a mistake to consent him to play. It was a very unconfortable situation for the management and, of course, our clients. Given that there were so many people waiting in lobby, I allowed him to sing although it was a big mistake. The management takes responsability for what happened realises that it was a mistake and it won´t happen again.
This problem was a result late arrival by the artist. In hindsight we should have cancel the performance but there were so many people waiting that it was a very dificult decition. Our sincere apologise.
Regarding the breaksfast it is got all kind of stuff you can find in any other hotels: ham, cheese, fresh orange juice, fresh coffee, toasts, cereals, yogourt, fresh fruit, mermelade and jam. I belive this is all you can find in a bigger hotel. If you belive there are more things we can put in it, please let me know and I will thik about it.
Tarifa is a very quiet place in low season. Pleople don´t stay for a long time at the hotel and service is a concequence of that. We belive the hotel is giving a correct service giving the circunstancies.
Thank you very much for your time.
Kind regards,

Serafin Sanchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews