We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Birdwatchers Hotel”
Review of La Codorniz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Codorniz
Ranked #31 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Reviewed September 17, 2013

As I drove in I was apprehensive but our choice was excellent. Staff friendly with little english apart from lovely girl in reception who spoke english well. Food was of a good standard. The rooms were clean and cleaned on a daily basis. The pool was nice and during our weeks stay we were nearly always the only ones using it.

Tarifa is a well known raptor hotspot during migration and there were many birders staying. For birders La Codorniz is ideally situated as the beach across the main road has a nature reserve and hide a little over a kilometres walk. You turn right out of the hotel and within 20 mins drive are at the rice paddies of La Janda or turn left and within five kilometres of some of the best raptor watching spots.

When we left as a family we all said we would love to come back next year surely a good sign.

Room Tip: Ask for room 20 it is closest to the pool. Its also furthest from the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pluvius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for La Codorniz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is a very nice and clean hotel. The bungalows got cleaned daily and towels also changed daily. When I arrived, the bungalow was full of mosquitos due to the rain. I was given a spray for the room and wasn't bitten once. Staff is very friendly, some talk and some don't, but this has nothing to do with being unpolite, i think it's just there culture.
Parking is free and taxi to Tarifa costs EUR10.00. Beach is just over the road , which wasn't busy at that time. All in all a fantastic stay if you don't want to spend that much and not staying in Tarifa itself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandySchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Loved it
and has a nice pool , meals a bit expensive, you need to try the paella the best in my life
very close to the kite beach
was a bit cold but still may
the pool after a nice kite session is wonderfull

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 480JoanneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in a small bungalow with breakfast included in the price which we thought was quite expensive for the basic accommodation but it was high season. We had fresh towels daily, air conditioning but very noisy neighbours coming in late at night.
We used the restaurant twice, food was good, staff not too friendly.

Room Tip: do not take an adjoining room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farnie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We had originally booked elsewhere but as my other half intended to wind surf whenever possible I thought a hotel with pool and rooms with balcony/terrace important for me. On arrival hotel was clearly not full but we were shown to a dark, poky double with small window overlooking bin/laundry area - I had drunk a beer earlier so was brave enough to complain!
We were immediately moved to one of the spacious bungalows at rear, overlooking garden with terrace. Peaceful, spotless and reasonably equipped - they also threw breakfast in for 5 days ( not clear why we had to pay for two?!) useful fridge too as it was v hot. We had to move for our last 2 nights to large twin with really nice balcony with rural views, at no extra cost. Room 104.
Pool area lovely and again v clean and well maintained also deserted most mornings.
Breakfast fine, typical continental cold buffet with excellent coffee. Busy road to front with pine covered picnic area, track through to beach, which is of course fabulous , and trendy relaxed beach bar in front.
Didn't eat at hotel, too expensive and Tarifa more to offer but all in all it was lovely and we would re visit.
However they are really NOT friendly Hola was too much usually and whatever you do don't take a room to the rear - think they are numbers 104-96!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Location great, 200 yards from beach, five minutes drive from Tarifa (lovely town). We stayed three nights in one of the bungalows, clean and basic. The porch is awesome for reading/sunbathing. Nice swimming pool on site too.
We found the staff were not very friendly, struggled to even say Hola. On the afternoon of our second day a huge bouncy castle appeared yards from our bungalow (see photos) Roughly twenty children were then dropped off for a noisy kids party which lasted three hours. Hardly professional behaviour of a hotel, it`s not a playground. We complained when we checked out and after a heated arguement with the horrible manageress we paid two nights instead of three. Be sure a childrens party is`nt booked in front of your bungalow when you go, bar that it was great

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulJ1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A very good small hotel,very close to the beach, & only a few miles from the main town of Tarifa. Well worth a visit to the old part of the town, only problem is parking the car,easier to get a taxi. Would stay there again, lovely part of Spain.

Room Tip: small bungalow rooms behind the main hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrigilianaMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dulce Nombre
Hotel Dulce Nombre
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
350 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostal El Levante
Hostal El Levante
#1 of 34 in Tarifa
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cortijo El Pozuelo
Cortijo El Pozuelo
#3 of 49 in Tarifa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Codorniz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Codorniz

Address: Carretera Cadiz Malaga Km. 79, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Price Range: $65 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Codorniz 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Codorniz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing