We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, slept 3 comfortably”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostal Las Margaritas
Ranked #10 of 34 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, slept 3 comfortably”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our challenge was finding rooms in Europe that could sleep my husband, our daughter and me. This place did it quite comfortably. It is very, very basic, but we found it to be a pleasant surprise. Were a little concerned with the name "hostal," but it is more like a hotel. Had our own bathroom w/ shower. Walking distance to places to eat, plus to the ferry terminal. Yes, we recommend a day trip to Morocco. (We bought our ferry tickets the day before departure.) Had our own car and found free parking on the street near hotel. Easy, quick drive to the beach. Large grocery store near beach - convenient to grab some bottled water, fruit and snacks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    67
    37
    11
    1
See reviews for
15
71
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hostel is about five minutes’ walk from the old town of Tarifa, and seven or eight minutes’ walk from the ferry terminal to get to Morocco.

Our bedroom was on the first floor and much like a good, budget hotel room – large, big comfortable bed, plenty of places to put things, large bathroom and a nice shower with good pressure, soap and shampoo supplied. Wifi was free, with a strong connection, and there was also a TV but we didn’t turn it on.

The girl who checked us in was friendly and professional.

For the price we paid it was extremely good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esthercharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This is a guesthouse.

At the rate we paid, we were pleased with the cleanliness, the size of our double-private ensuite room, free WIFI in the room, good shower and bath. We had no problem with communication in simple English.

From Las Margaritas, it is an easy 5 - 10 minute walk to the old city centre, and the fabulous Cafe Azul (for lovely fresh breakfasts).

Las Margaritas is highly recommended if you're looking for budget place with more privacy than a hostel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I tend to mostly concur with the previous two reviews, although Tarifa is somewhat expensive, so the value might of this hostal might be OK. However, we try to stay in 2.5 -3.5 star hotels, and this one is definitely a 2. The staff was extremely nice and tried to be helpful, but spioke virtually NO English -- esp. the night person. If you are on the bottom floor, then the lack of elevators is not a problem, but noise of people/trashmen RIGHT outside your window definitely can be.

The AC was good, which was very important during the summer, and the walk to the least crowded part of Old Town was only 5 minutes -- about 10 minutes down to the ferry terminal and beach. We walked to and from the bus "station" with our roller suitcases, and that was about 10 minutes as well. From the bus, it's a pretty straightforward walk to the hotel (two streets?), as long as you know where you're going.

One small problem: We had to leave at 7:30 to catch a bus, and there was no one there at the hotel that "early" capable of processing our Visa card -- and no one to talk to in English about the problem. Sooo, we just left a note with our Visa card number, and apparently it all worked out -- but that's a little bit risky That, to us, was a good summation of the hotel: nice, good, honest people, but minimal services.

All in all, an OK place, but much more spartan than we were expecting. If I were to go again, I'd probably pay a little more to get something a little nicer, if necessary.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJTCHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I only stayed here for somewhere to sleep after a nght out on the town. The front desk service was fine but the rooms are very dated and old and I was pleased I was not going to spend long there. The Location is ok, 5 mins to the town centre so that was a plus but I have stayed in much better budget accomodation in Tarifa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at the hostal for one night in July, passing through Tarifa. The location is good, just outside the old city, just off a street with many cafes and shops.

We got a room on the ground floor, which was dark (one small window out to the street), smelled like a basement and was rather small. The room was next to the stairs, so during the night we were constantly woken up by other guest walking to or from their rooms.

I cannot recommend this hostal based on my experience, even though the rooms on the other floors might be better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed at the Hostal Las Margaritas for two nights. The hotel is clean and a fantastic bargain. Call ahead for directions because there are no street signs anywhere. Once you find it, street parking is convenient and free. The hotel is a short, five minute walk to the city center. The staff is incredibly friendly. Be aware that there is no elevator. We were there in March, which is clearly the off-season. At night, when walking back to our hotel, the streets were virtually empty. While we never felt unsafe, it is a little eerie. I suspect that in the summer months, this would be a non-issue. Overall, the hotel is a great value and was a convenient place to stay for our side visits to Gibraltar and the White Hill Towns.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBSt_Louis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
5.5 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
336 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
0.3 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Vagamundos
Posada Vagamundos
#14 of 19 in Tarifa
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Margaritas

Property: Hostal Las Margaritas
Address: Calle Antonio Maura 13, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Las Margaritas 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Las Margaritas offers budged rooms in the center of Tarifa. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, tv, ac/heater, telephone and free WIFI access. Next to the main shopping street, the hostel is only a few minutes walking distance to all points of interest like the old town/center, beaches, bus station and the port of Tarifa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Las Margaritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Margaritas Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing