We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming apartment in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Cilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Cilla
Ranked #6 of 32 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming apartment in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just came back from a few days in Dar Cilla and we loved our stay. We were welcomed by Maria who provided us with all the details about the apartment, activities in Tarifa and recommendations for restaurants and bars. We stayed in the Palmar apartment, on the first floor with access to the roof terrace, and for the first days we seemed to be the only guests in the whole house, which made it extra special. We enjoyed the welcome bottle of wine on the beautiful terrace overlooking the strait of Gibraltar and Morocco.
Dar Cilla is located at the border of the old town, which is perfect because we could enjoy the lively night life with bars and restaurants by foot but we could also sleep quietly with open windows.
The apartment is very tastefully decorated with Moroccan influences, very clean and has wifi and an ipod docking station. Overall we absolutely enjoyed the stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
65
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

After a bus ride down from Cadiz we were greeted at Dar Cilla by Maria, who showed us to our beautiful apartment and provided us with loads of local information and a nice welcoming bottle of red wine! Dar Cilla is a unique place, its apartments infused with the spirit of Morocco and Spain, courtesy of its owner Zoe who over the years has developed the once dilapidated building into the stunning accommodation it is now.

Within yards of the bustling heart of Tarifa, Dar Cilla is an oasis of calm, its ground floor courtyard offering peace and quiet. The rooftop terrace has great views over to the mountains of Morocco - careful you don't get blown away by the strong winds that routinely blow through the town and its surrounds!

There is a wealth of information available in the apartments, with lots of personal recommendations from Zoe and more detail about restaurants, sights, day trips etc. than you could possibly imagine. And the managers, Maria and Martina, are always on the end of a phone or in the guesthouse's office to offer even more help and advice.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family of 4 rented two apartments that connected in July, 2013. Everything at Dar Cilla is perfect. The email responses before you arrive, the directions... the best part is the apartments themselves. They are lovely. Very beautifully decorated and furnished. All feels very new and immaculately clean. They thought about everything--it was all VERY well stocked. The location in Tarifa was very nice. Walking distance to the stores and restaurants of the old town within the historic city wall, 5 minutes to the beach and Tangier ferry and Moorish fort. Yet it was very quiet at night, so our sleep was very restful. I can not think of anything Dar Cilla could do to improve. The place was perfect and well priced for what we got!

If you are going to Tangier, Dar Cilla can help you book your trip with a professional, excellent guide named Said. Highly recommended!

And, street parking near the hotel was very easy to locate and free.

HIGHLY recommend Dar Cilla.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in Spain and part of the trip was a day tour of Tangier, Morocco. Our point of contact was Dar Cilla Guesthouse in Tarifa, Spain and we relied on our hosts to make our arrangments for passage and guide,the wonderful Said Nacir. We stayed at Dar Cilla for two nights (not long enough as it turned out- this was a lovely, tranquil hotel with restful and high quality decor) Martina, the house manager was wonderful and attended to any needs and concerns, was prompt and professional and very kind. Our visit to Dar Cilla, the incredible Tarifa beach, the lovely Palmar apartment with its access to a splendid rooftop terrace with a view of the African coastline, and our trip to Tangier were certainly highlights of our unforgettable trip to Spain!

Room Tip: Palmar was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2brats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of 5 , 3 of which are teenagers originally booked for 2 nights, but enjoyed it so much we stayed for a 3rd night. Martina met us and spent a lot of time answering our questions about the area and making sure we were settled in. We were in Jimena, Jerez and Zahara. We were the only people at Dar Cilla during our stay so it was extremely private.The apartments are laid out nicely and are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The beds were comfortable and the WIFI worked great. Our apartments were very quiet. The kitchen has lots of cooking basics such as oil, spices, coffee, tea etc. The rooftop terrace is a lovely place to enjoy the stars, sunset, sunrise and views!! My only suggestion would be for room darkening shades in the bedrooms, as courtyard lights did not go off until after 11 and it was hard to sleep with them on.
Dar Cilla is located on the edge of the Old Town. It was easy to walk to restaurants, shops, the market and the ferry. We made a day trips to Gibraltar and Morocco during our stay.
We would definitely recommend Dar Cilla to friends and would stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momstravelingzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed for 3 days in the small apartment at Dar Cilla. The terrace has great views of Morocco across the straits. I was in Tarifa to kitesurf and this was the perfect place to unwind after an active day. Off season Tarifa is very pleasant - cooler temps, lower prices and fewer visitors.
Dar Cilla is well designed - great attention detail and the owner's guides to the area and north africa are very informative. I'm already planning a trip to N Africa via Tarifa for next year.
The staff are very friendly and attentive. I was travelling solo but this is the perfect spot for couples. Will return for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donaldinho035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at the beautiful Dar Cilla twice during July 2012, it was so amazing I went back a second time! As a solo traveller I wanted somewhere i could relax and feel safe and also somewhere affordable. Dar Cilla exceeded all expectations. During my first visit i stayed in Jimena, perfect for one person and beautifully furnished. When I returned with a friend we stayed in Zahara, which was fantastic and also Palmar which was ok for a couple of nights. All rooms are furnished very tastefully in typical Moorish style. Complementary bottle of wine was lovely as was the ipod/dock with a great mix of relaxing music that i wouldn't normally listen to but loved! Dar Cilla has a wonderful energy and I felt very much at home there. Zoe and Martina are the greatest hosts, so welcoming and helpful, nothing is a problem for these chicas! Tarifa is a beautiful part of the world and if you're lucky enough to go there there's no where better to stay than Dar Cilla. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
5.5 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
3.4 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Cilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Cilla

Property: Dar Cilla
Address: Calle Amador de los Rios 16A, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Cilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing