We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric and fab”
Review of Hotel Punta Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Punta Sur
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de ja
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eccentric and fab”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

As the hurricane was full we stayed in the hotel punta sur. Every room is different and we chose a suite with sitting room and private garden. There is a tennis court, huge pool, peacocks, lake and friendly staff, the deco is sixties retro and the gardens are great and the nudist beach across the road.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    56
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This lovely resort in Tarifa, Spain overlooks the Gibraltar Straits, and African shores are visible in the distance. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, well appointed, with Air Conditioner, Refrigerator, Shower, and Bidet in bath.

The staff is eager to please, the prices are good. The pool is lovely, clean, and the place is QUIET. I stayed with my wife for 3 nights, and it was wonderful. We based explorations of Roman Ruins in nearby Bolonia, as well as a day trip to Gibraltar. Remember Gibraltar is another country, and you need British Pounds or a credit card for purchases.

Room Tip: Back from the road is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MedicinemanPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

While you are in Tarifa because of the tropical garden it feels as if you are in Costa Rica. The rooms are very basic and not to well taken care of which is realy a pity because the ambiance is great. The restaurant serves good food. Nice people. And great yoga class at the Hurricane hotel which belongs to the same owner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirjamreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Punta. As our last stay there was seven years ago we were pleasantly surprised to find most of the friendly staff still there. We were well looked after, had a very nice room and enjoyed the amenities and the restaurant. If you have a car its a nice place to stay near Tarifa.

Room Tip: If you like a bit of privacy rooms 1-11 have a nice hedged garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the punta sur in August, and like ourselves, the hotel was taken up mainly by families with children.
I have to say, it was a bit pricey, but it was fully booked - with many returning guests - so I suppose if the market's willing to pay, and I do understand that it's only in peak season that hotels are most likely to make their money.
Having mentioned price, we did pay extra for a junior suite!!!! It really was lovely and definitely not mediocre as other reviewers have described the rooms. Possibly the best thing was the view from the room - the mountains one side, and the sea the other. I didn't know which way to face my rather comfy sun lounger! And the kids loved the cows would wander down from higher up the mountains and stare over the fence. My husband went for a walk up there and confirmed the views were stunning.
The pool area and gardens were superb. Comfy sun loungers and bean bags by the pool - which had a good shallow end for kids. And the garden had peacocks and chickens which kept my little one entertained.
The breakfast was lovely. Typically European in that it was not cooked, but lots of variety and fresh fruit, bread and cake (yes, cake!) to choose from. It lasted till 11 during peak season, so reAlly possible to take your time and get through lots of yummy helpings.
The restaurant was lovely, really beautiful setting in the gardens - again I think the seats are only outside in peak season. Staff were very professional and the food was good. Some things were amazing (like the chiperones) and some just good. Evening sitting didn't start till 8, but lunch was served till 4. So we were able to feed our kids tea earlier in the day, and one portion def fed two under 5s.
The other nice thing about the restaurant was that you could order food to take up to your room. You had to carry it up yourself, but they don't charge extortionate service charges. So we got to have a candle lit meal in privacy once the kids were asleep. But if you prefer it was certainly possible to have kids in the restaurant until late.
As others have said the beach opposite the hotel (across the main road) was difficult to access - impossible with a buggy. It's only only a 10 min drive to tarifa. But the point is, if you're only staying a few days, there's enough to keep one relaxed at the hotel.
For us, 3 nights was about all we
Could afford. But it broke up a holiday where on one side of it we were camping, and on the other side of it we were staying in self catering. So def a professional, well run hotel, with lovely food and places to chill and a well earned treat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raji n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I just spent a week at Punta Sur with 2 friends. The hotel was perfect, very friendly and helpful staff, large rooms and nice garden. We did not have a chance to test the restaurant for dinner but the breakfast was always very good.

The hotel is not directly at the beach, so you need a car or bike to reach Valdevaqueros or other beaches. On less windy days, it is also an excellent starting point for mountain biking.

Only possible improvement: wifi access was quite unstable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On the main road from Tarifa to Cadiz, there is Punta Sur. Restaurant is very good, pool ditto, staff is very professional, helpful and nice. Rooms are so so - big, air-conditioned, but lacking in feel, atmosphere. It is quiet, close to great beaches (you need the car to get to nice beaches, but can get to a beach on foot).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikBraun808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#10 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#7 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Sur

Property: Hotel Punta Sur
Address: Ctra.N-340, km 76, Tarifa, Spain (Formerly Balcon de Espana)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Punta Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing