We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Punta Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Punta Sur
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Excellent rooms, we had a junior suite that was huge with a free standing bath, very comfy bed and total peace and quiet. Grounds are lovely, stunning pool and good breakfast. The decor is modern but with rustic charm, the grounds are well kept and there are lovely tropical gardens with waterfeatures. I would return here if coming to Tarifa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMDD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We recently held our wedding at the hotel Punta Sur and we can't praise the team there highly enough. From our first visit we were welcomed with open arms and they couldn't do enough for us. We went there a month ago for the tasting and they treated us like kings! We had 71 people at the wedding and half of them were staying in the hotel and everyone fell in love with the place. The food was amazing, not just for the wedding which was very special, but every night that we stayed there.

From the rooms to the pool and the peacocks we had a fantastic time and will definitely be returning.

Many thanks to all the team there and we will see you soon!

Ritchie & Mandy Cartwright

Room Tip: All the rooms are bungalow style so it doesn't feel like a normal hotel so you can stay in any r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritchie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

First visit for a wedding. Room based on Asian theme, quite dark, kept bumping into the teak/mahogany bed surround which protruded from beneath the mattress. Shower not fully enclosed which resulted in a daily bathroom/shower room floor flood. Large area for bedroom with sofa and TV. Separated light semi-outdoor bath area, separate wash basin area, separate walk-in shower with wash basin, toilet and bidet - Overall a large washing area. We asked for and were provided with extra coat hangers. Powerful but noisy remote controlled air conditioning. Cold buffet breakfast quite varied with fruit juices, cheeses, meats, eggs, cereals, jam etc breads, fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea. The wedding meal was absolutely excellent (steak, fish etc) and well presented and served. Swimming Pool area very good. Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

As soon as we got out of the car and into the hotel, we felt ourselves relax and our holiday truly start. We were a bit concerned about the hotel being on the road however you don't notice it when in the back garden which has a gorgeous canopied outdoor dining area, big pool, tennis court and wildlife. Our young kids loved the peacocks and the ducks and were well looked after by the staff. All of the staff were unfailingly polite and served us in the restaurant despite turning up ridiculously early (in Spanish terms) for dinner.

In terms of activities, we walked over the road to the nearby rocky beach and drove five minutes up the road to the better beach at the mistral club. We drove to a Jerez and checked out a nearby mountain village - Archos I think. We also went into Tarifa itself which is ok but is not particularly pretty. The hotel also has a great tennis coach.

People tend to come to this area for the windsurfing and kitesurfing but we loved the fact that it was undeveloped and a million miles from the Concrete Costas. It made for a relaxing and varied trip. This hotel is a gem!

Room Tip: Garden suites at the back of the property offer more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have been here a few times with our kids and is a good base to stay in the area of Tarifa. I just wish the car exit/entrance to the hotel on to the highway wasn't so suicidal: with a car full of kids you need to drive slowly in and out of the car park . Need a few warning signs: Ie.punta sur 500 Mtrs. Friendly laid back staff don't go out of their way, but do help when asked. .
Pool area is nice and protected from Tarifa wnd... You hear the highway from the pool and Restaurant, but the rooms are quiet .Tennis court and pool table for kids... peacocks running around ...bkfst fine.... suites for family are perfect .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is the sister to the Hurricane Hotel, where we have also stayed. Although the Hurricane has a beach setting, the Punta Sur beats it hands down on every other aspect. Set in beautiful green gardens and very spaciious all around, the staff are really friendly and helpful without being constantly in your face. It is really genuinely "laid back" but with all mod cons. The rooms are great, lots of space, nicely decorated, interesting art - and all in a sort of villa complex around the gardens. The food is pretty good - as long as you don't eat here all the time. The nearest beach is across the road and although rocky is very beautiful and you can just about get into the water. A short walk in either direction takes you to better bathing beaches. Only criticisms are: the showers are not great, very little pressure and hard to adjust the temperature; and you have to stay a minimum of a week in the high season. Otherwise really great, one of the best hotels of Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny_jay_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Having read the previous reviews before going I was quite looking forward to staying here. We were travelling with a number of Spanish friends who had stayed here previous and spoke well about it but what a disappointment.

From arrival, where the receptionist was sitting at the bar drinking to the damp room and bed sheets this place is not worth visiting at all. We had a bungalow room in the grounds which was clean but smelling very very strongly of damp. It was not possible to change rooms as the hotel was full for Semana Santa. Why? you must ask.... yourself.

With the exception of the evening meal and restaurant this place is sub-standard in every respect. Breakfast is very basic and the coffee shocking but the evening meal was quite exceptional for some bizarre reason.

Overall we wouldn't even consider returning here.

Room Tip: Keep driving - dont stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bigboy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.6 mi away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
317 reviews
7.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
80 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Sur

Address: Ctra. N-340, km 77, 11380 Tarifa, Spain (Formerly Balcon de Espana)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range: $122 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three-minute walk from the beach, this laid-back hotel with a relaxed atmosphere is perfect for your holiday. ​ Hotel Punta Sur is set in three acres of stunning tropical gardens complete with tennis court and swimming pool. Each room opens onto an individual garden area, giving all of our guests their own place to unwind. Punta Sur has a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by palm trees; the perfect place to relax with a book or soak up some sun. In the evenings the garden transforms into a candlelit restaurant which is renowned for its unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Punta Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing