We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star hotel at a 4 star service”
Review of Hostal Tarifa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Tarifa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2 star hotel at a 4 star service”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Perfect choice for anyone. Not fancy, but VERY, VERY clean! Place is really new. Had everything we wanted, but a hairdryer. Even had an English tv channel. Hotel staff speaks broken English, BUT very helpful. They beyond try to assist you. Don't be fooled by the word Hostal in the name, Definitely not a hostel! Parking and wifi were perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    147
    52
    7
    11
See reviews for
29
190
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Hostal Tarifa was really a good choice in Tarifa.
It is a new building, with nice rooms and the possibility of free parking on the street in front of the hotel.
On the other hand, this hotel is only a few minutes walk from the historic city center and a little more of the port.
For me it was the perfect choice for a ride to Tangier.
A place to return...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

As other reviewers have reported, good location, very clean, good room and bathroom, very good value.

If you are bringing a car to Tarifa staying in the walled town is not recommended. This hotel is only 5 minutes walk from there and we found parking easily.

Room Tip: All rooms looked the same. Don't think one is better than any other?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Ideal location just 2 minutes from the bus stop (Alsa) and 5 minutes from the Medina.

Hostal Tarifa is more of a hotel, all brand new fittings and spotlessly clean. very quiet during April.

For a short stay in Tarifa this was an ideal place. Breakfast was very good as well and included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alhambara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel only opened last year, its clean and shiny and new.
The rooms are a decent size, the heater/ aircon is great and the rooms are soundproofed (although you can still hear traffic going by- if you are a light sleeper, request a room on the side or the back of the hotel).
Well located, you can walk down to the beach in 10 minutes or walk to centre of town in 5.
Reception staff were super friendly and helpful.
Two negative things:
1) The bathroom doors are transparent, so you have no privacy which was not nice as we are a new couple. I don't want to see someone else on the toilet.
2) The breakfast is disappointing; it's a croissant and coffee or orange juice (no other choice) for 4 euros, so I would advise travellers to choose room only and go find breakfast at a café.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaye321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I was booked in here by the organisers of a battle re-enactment in the town. When told that I was staying in a Hostal I was expecting something completely different to what it was shiny clean, ultra modern, comfy beds and lovely staff. Great place thanks.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate41st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After arriving from Morocco it was a delight to find this sparkling clean place, great bathroom, beds, aircon. Everything works! Not far from the old city, bars, etc and close to the bus station, so pretty central. bright and modern and a far cry from thr raids of Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
455 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
183 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tarifa Lances
Hotel Tarifa Lances
#10 of 19 in Tarifa
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tarifa

Property: Hostal Tarifa
Address: Calle Batalla del Salado 40, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing