We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find a better guide”

Tarifa Birding Tours
Ranked #43 of 83 Tours in Tarifa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer you the opportunity to discover the birds in the Strait of Gibraltar. With our specialized guides you can calmly admire thousands of birds migrating from Europe to Africa, or actively look for the rarest species on the continent. We will share with you the most accurate information regarding the natural history of our environment, and strive to make your visit a most rewarding experience.
Malaga
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You won't find a better guide”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Part of a group of five, we spent 4 days with Javi Elorriaga and each one was spectacular. Javi is an extremely knowledgable and expert avian researcher, as well as being knowledgeable about the area's flora and fauna and history. While we live less than 100kms away and had visited the Tarifa area and surrounds previously, we found we learned so much, not just about the birds we saw, but so much more about this most special region. We were privileged to have been able to see a number of birds, most specially a rare Ruppells Vulture. What an amazing day that was! Even in quite windy conditions on 2 days, we were able to see and photograph birds, other wildlife and some amazing scenery. Javi had tailored our days specially, as we are photographers as a well as bird and wildlife enthusiasts. I thoroughly recommend Javi and Tarifa Birding Tours. We will certainly try to arrange another outing with him.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent guide and great birds in Tarifa region”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

While visiting Spain in early April of 2014, my husband and I had an opportunity to spend a half day birding with Javi Elorriaga of Tarifa Birding Tours. All I can say is I wish we had longer! It was a treat to spend time with a knowledgeable avian researcher and ecologically responsible tour guide.

Javi was an expert birder (I wish I had the skill to recognize birds by song like that!), helpful and gracious. There is no way we would have seen so many birds (and have a chance of knowing what they were!) without his local expertise. We highly recommend his services.

We were able to see a wide range of birds in a short period of time - from kentish plovers and northern wheatears along the coast to the northern bald ibis, spoonbills and a purple gallinule a bit inland to name a few. The Northern Bald ibis colony was a definite highlight!

I hope we get a chance to travel back there one day and spend more time. If you visit the area, don't hesitate to contact him!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mnlamberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bird Watching Tour”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

On April 5, 2014 we took a tour with Javier Elorriaga (Javi) and found him very knowledgeable, not only regarding birds, but also on animals and plants in general. His English is excellent. Despite party cloudy weather we could see plovers and sea birds, various land birds and raptors. This was also the result of Javi taking us to a number of different habitats (sea shore, swamplands, cliffs, mountain slopes). Highlight included observing griffon vultures assemble to eat a carcass, bald ibis nesting in crevices in a cliff, spoon bills and a purple swamp-hen, and in the later afternoon migrating short toed and also booted eagles returning across the Strait of Gibraltar from Africa. In every case Javi found excellent spots to view the birds (and enjoy spectacular views). It was a truly memorable day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birding Vejer de la Frontera - Tarifa”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I were studying Spanish at La Janda Spanish School in Vejer de la Frontera and we wanted to spend a day birding with a guide. Javi Elorriaga of Tarifa Birding Tours was recommended to us by Stephen Daly of Andalucian guides. So on Sat Mar 22/14 Javi picked us up at our hotel in Vejer in his mini-van at 8:30 and off we went. We visited the nesting cliffs of the Bald Ibis near Vejer, a road through farmland and wetland of La Janda, Tarifa, the Roman ruins at Bolonga and the nearby cliffs where Egyptian and Griffon vultures nest. We returned to Vejer at 7 pm. In spite of cool windy weather with a bit of rain, we managed to see 60+ species.

Javi's birding skills are first rate, he speaks excellent English and is willing to tailor your day to your wishes (as with us visiting the Roman ruins at Bologna). He is also in contact with other local birders via cell phone to keep track of any interesting sightings and may recommend changes in itinerary as the day goes on.

We really enjoyed our day birding with Javi and would highly recommend him.

Frank and Lee Chappell

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javi E, Owner at Tarifa Birding Tours, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Frank and Lee, thanks for your kind comment. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our birdwatching day together. It was a real pleasure for me. With warmest regards from Tarifa,

Javi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterend, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“CR Gull TOUR”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Colourring Gull tour with Javi started on thursday and we ended on next monday. We began in Malaga and worked out the coastal side till Portugese border. Javi organised in a superb way all the arrangements regarding nightstays and dinners. It was a great trip with lots of surprises regarding the birds we have seen. Javi knows well all places/ hotspots were to go. I recommend him strongly - he knows the birds a and he is a good travelbirdguide !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarifa Birding Tours also viewed

 
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Tarifa Birding Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing